Chapter 1-10

04/01/2012 23:43

Chapter 1

I woke up to the sun shining brightly through my window. “Today’s the day!,” I said out loud to myself as I sat on the edge of my bed. Today was the day my new life would begin. College; One word, two syllables, something that a lot people only dream about. But, for me it’s everything, everything I think, I breathe, and have lived for up to this point. My brother walked past my room, but when he saw that I had woke up, he backed up.

“Good Morning Diamond!” he said with excitement. “Morning buddy,” I said as a smiled to him. “Your leaving today, right?” “Yes I am.” “YESSS!” he said as he jumped for joy. Asshole. “Go away loser, I need to get dressed.” And with that he skipped off. Our conversation was really loud so I was guessing everyone else in the house was woke. I got up went to the restroom and then stood and looked at myself in the mirror. Look at me, all grown-up, so proud of myself. I’ve been through so much. Going off to college, my life’s dream. “It’s time to make a change for the better,” I said to myself while I rubbed my face.

I spent the next hour getting dressed and checking off my list to make sure I had everything.  I looked at my phone; 8:43 A.M. Almost time to get out of here. I sit down on my bed to take everything in, and look at my room for the last time. I randomly start looking through my phone at pictures of family and friends that I will miss dearly. Then I stumbled upon my orientation picture. Awww, look at all of us. I can’t wait to see these people.

Then my eye caught something, that guy. The guy with the eyes that I never forgot about…

 

Chapter 2

I sat on the bed and stared at the picture for I don’t know how long. That guy, I can’t remember his name. I remembered how goofy he was, making a funny face while everyone else simply smiled. On how he made me laugh. How amazing his eyes were. I had always had a thing for eyes, as long as I could remember. But, his they just.. blew me away. He would always catch me staring at him, and he would smile, and my heart would smile too.

“Diamond, are you ready?!” my mom yelled. I jumped; she scared the shit out of me. “Uh, yeah sure mom, I’ll be right down.” I picked up all that I could and walked down the stairs. “How’s my little Bruin, doing this morning!” she said with her arms stretched out. “Mom, please don’t use that word, it’s so weird”, I said with a smirk on my face. “But, you have to embrace what you now are!” She said as she hugged me. “Okay I guess.” “You got everything?” My dad asked from another room. “Yes daddy, I’m all set.” We’ll let’s get you out of my house,” he said with a smile. We loaded up the car I turned to look at my house again while I stood in the middle of the yard. “Diamond, you sure you ready?” she said while sitting in the car. She could tell I was taking it all in. She knew me better then I knew myself. She always knows what to say or do, I love my mom so much. “Yes ma’am.” I got in the car put my seatbelt on, and waved at my house goodbye like it could actually wave back. I felt like I was in a sad love movie. “Off to UCLA!” my dad announced as we drove down the street.

 

Chapter 3

“You know you can come right home if you need too,” my mom said as she looked at me in the rear-view mirror.  I heard her, but I was too busy looking out the window, thinking about that guy. The nameless one with the eyes out of this world. “Diamond, your only 20 minutes away,” she added before I could respond.  “I’m sorry, I know mom, I’ll come home often, I’ll miss you punks too much!” I said as I lightly punched my dad. They both giggled.

 I go back to looking out the window. It was such a beautiful day, my perfect temperature. I couldn’t help but to keep thinking back to that guy. I wanted to know what his name was so bad. His laugh, it was so memorizing. Wow, I really need to stop this. Not cute, and I’m sure he’s not thinking about me. Shit, he doesn’t even know me. What am I thinking, ok, I’m done. I looked at my phone. Oh, one new text message. (Hey Dymez, mornin’, can’t wait to see you bitch, so many cute guys up here, it’s time to party!) I smiled. Oh, Michelle; my beautiful, talented, and always fashionably late best friend. However, today she was on time, WHATTT, I’ll have to remember to pat her on the back when I get here. (I’m almost there; meet me in the lobby in like 7 minutes) (K).

We pull up in front of my hall and we start unloading my things on the sidewalk. I run in the lobby to sign papers and get my keys. As I lean up from signing papers I see Michelle coming. “Hey hey girly!” she says as she hugs me. “Hey, I’m so glad to be here, help me take my things up?” “Sure.” We walk outside and she greets my parents. “Hey Michelle, how’s my second daughter doing?” My dad said as he shook her hand. “I’m doing great Mr. Richardson thanks, how about you?” “I’m okay, just dropping off this little gremlin.” He said as he looks at me in the corner of his eye. “Oh yes I heard that,” I said as I unloaded a really heavy bag. “Here let me help you with that.” “ Thanks … “

 

Chapter 4

“Trent!” Michelle yelled. “Hey girls, how’s life?” he said while he picked up the bag with ease. “Everything’s good, thanks again for the help it was pretty heavy,” I said as I rubbed my forearm. “No problem at all.” I watched him walk into the hall and looked back to my parents. They stood in silence and stared at me. I walked toward them slowly. “Well, I guess this is like goodbye?” I said while looking at the ground. My dad hugged me, “You’re not that far, and even if you think I am, I’ll always be here,” he said as he pointed to my heart. I hugged him tighter, and held back tears. “Now Diamond, I hope you don’t think I’m going get all emotional about you and your only 20 minutes away!” my mom said with her hand on her hip. “Now mom, stop acting all tough, you know you going to miss me.” “Yeah, your right..” she said as she hugged me. She passed me some money and they both got in the car. I hit the top of the car, “Have a safe trip home troopers!” “Be safe sweetie,” my dad said. “I will dad, love you both so much.” “Love you more.” They said in unison.

Me and Michelle waved as the car turned the corner and then disappeared. We both looked at each other. “Well, what do you want to do first?” she asked. “I have no idea, let’s just go back inside for now.” We walked inside and everything was really busy. I looked around for Trent and saw him sitting on the couch with Heather. “Hey kids, how’s the sex life?” I asked with a smirk on my face. Heather rolled her eyes. “It’s going very well thank you, how about yours wait, you don’t have one!” Trent said. Everyone busted out into laugher, expect for me. Michelle rubbed my back, “It’s okay one day. “Whatever,” I said as I moved away.

“Well we’ll see you losers later, we got shit to unpack.” I said turning to leave. “Okay see you girls later, we hooking up right?” Heather asked. “You know it,” I said giving her the finger. She just shook her head and laughed.

“So exactly where are we going?” Michelle asked. “Uhh, I just said we got shit to unpack..” “Who feels like actually doing that, let’s go talk to people, we got all weekend to do that.” “I guess…” I said as I walked in the other direction with her. We stood there looking like deer in the middle of the room. “Man, where is everyone, nobody has texted me or anything,” I said looking at my phone. “I have no idea, but I’m pretty sure we’ll run into everyone.” 

Then just when I was going to walk out the door, I got a tap on my shoulder …

 

Chapter 5

I turned around frantically looking both ways, nobody there. “What the helllllllll?” I say out loud. ““What? What happened?” Michelle said looking concerned. “I could’ve swore someone tapped me on the shoulder..”  

“It was me!” Brandy yelled out as she jumped from around the corner. I pushed her, “Stop playing games, my radar is up today..” “And why is that?” Michelle asked. “Long story, don’t have time, or the energy to say it..” I said rubbing my hands together. I was thinking about that guy again, my heart skipped a beat, I was hoping it was him and nobody else tapping me on the shoulder. I was wrong.. wait what the hell am I thinking. I seriously need to stop this. This campus is huge, so many people, I’ll probably never see him. “Is there something you need to tell me?” Michelle asked looking me straight in the eyes. “Yeah Dymez, were here for you, you got to know that.” Brandy added. “Oh no guys, stop it, I’m fine, stop blowing it up.” “Whatever you say..” Michelle said shrugging her shoulders.

“So what you girls up to tonight, I heard everyone was supposed to be down at the volleyball courts tonight… maybe we can meet new people?” Brandy said opening the door. “Sounds great to me.” I said walking out into the sun. I pulled my shades down. Bright lights really bothered me, I always keep sunglasses on me, even when there is not one lick on sun in the sky. We all walked down the path where we seen groups of people standing. We sat down on an empty bench we were lucky to find. “So Brandy, how’s everything going with you and your boyfriend?” I asked. “Everything’s good, getting better and better every day.” She said nodding her head up and down. “That’s good, you know I love to hear that.” I said smiling. I opened my purse and pulled out a box of cigars. They both stared me down. “What? You guys act like you didn’t know I smoked or something. Life gets stressful!” I said not looking them in the eyes. “I mean I have no problem with it, it just surprised me, you never did it much when I’ve been around you.” Michelle said. “I know I know, it’s just that I’m glad to be here… can’t a bitch have her celebration cigar?” They both busted out laughing. “Sure whatever you say..” Brandy said while still laughing hard.

After smoking my cigar and talking more with Michelle and Brandy I decided I could at least start unpacking something. I got up to my room and started going through box after box, bag after bag. I have to say the time got away from me. I looked at my phone, 6:23 P.M. Wow, I looked around my room. I’m actually almost done. Wonder where Michelle is. (Hey trick, where are you?) (I’m in the lobby talking to some old friends, you need me?) (Nah, just making sure you weren’t dead. :)) (You know I’m a thug, I got this.) (Okay, “thug” be safe, text me later.) (K.)

*Knock, Knock* …

 

Chapter 6

I turned my head to the door really fast. Now who could this be. Him? No way, he doesn’t know where I stay. There I go again. I hit myself on the head.

“Diamond, I know you’re in there, open the door.” I go look through the peep hole. I see my friend Karmen standing there looking upset. I open the door. “Hey, what’s up with you? Everyone been looking for you and everything.” She said coming in. “I’m fine, I’ve been here the whole time.” I said laughing and defending myself. “Oh whatever, you ready to go play some volleyball?” She asked. “Oh you know I’m not good, I just want to go and watch the guys and stuff I guess.” I said putting my last shirt in the drawer. “I don’t know how to play either, just go, don’t be lazy!” She said opening the door again. “Okay, okay, I was going anyway.” We both walked down the stairs and out the door to a beautiful breeze. I could hear a lot of people. “Wait for me, bitches.” Michelle yelled from behind us. “It’s cool; just walk past me like you don’t know me.” She said as she caught up to us. “I did not see you.” I said shaking my head and laughing. “Were going to volleyball, want to play?” Karmen asked her. “Sure thing.” She responded.

We walked down to the courts and met up with Brandy and Heather. “Where’s Trent I asked?” looking around. “He’s down there playing volleyball already.” She said pointing down to where guys were playing. I looked.

Just then, I saw him. That guy, is this real? Could it really be him? I start walking off down closer to the court to get a better look. They all looked at me like I was crazy, but I didn’t care. “Where are you going dummy?” Michelle asked. I ignored everything. It really was him. I couldn’t believe it. It was like I was in a dream. Look at him running around, laughing and shouting like he has no home training. What a kid.. I smiled to myself. I stood there watching his every move the next minute. It was only just a minute to everyone else, but to me, it felt like an hour. I wish I could call him, but I don’t know his name. That’s so irritating.

Then we made eye contact, and he smiled and started coming towards me. Oh my god, he saw me. I started having a panic attack on the inside…

 

Chapter 7

“Hey I remember you!” He said touching my shoulder. “Oh yeah?” I said not knowing what to say or do. “Yeah, I’m trying to remember your name… Hmm.. It was something special, I don’t know many people with your name..” He said looking off trying to remember. “Crystal!” he said after his silence making me giggle. “No, but you’re close.” I said shaking my head and laughing. “Fuck it, I give up.. What’s your name?” he asked in a humble tone. “It’s Diamond.” I said blushing. There was a silence. I looked at him confused. “Oh, so you don’t know my name? Sad man.. that hurts my feelings.” He said shaking his head. “No, no I remember…. kind of.” “I’m waiting.” He said as he crossed his arms and smiled. “Okay, I don’t know, I’m sorry!” I finally said.

“Hey Bruno, who’s this?” a guy came up and said. “Oh that’s it…? Your name is Bruno?” I said confused. “Nah, that’s not my real name, it’s Peter, but I do not give you permission to call me that,” he said pointing at me with a serious face. “Bruno it is sir,” I said sarcastically. “Diamond, this is Phil, my brother from another mother.” He said pointing to him. “Nice to meet you girlllll.” He said in a funny voice. “Nice to meet you too,” I said shaking his hand.

“So what you up to, playing some volleyball with us or what?!” Bruno said all hyped. “Uhh, I’m not really that good, I’m actually a lot better just watching.” I said kicking some sand. “Awww, who is good at volleyball man, it’s all about having fun!” Phil said. “I understand, but I’m here with my friends,” I said as I pointed up to all of them. Michelle pointed to herself and looked at me stupid. “Come down here,” I yelled. They walked down the hill slowly. Michelle was the slowest, making sure not to mess up her shoes. I just shook my head. “This is…” I said but Bruno cut me off. “Nah, I got this,” he said putting his arm in front of me. “Give me a beat Phil.” Phil started beat-boxing. “We are the Smeezingtons, and we came to rock, if you don’t like you can suck our ….. ! Wait that’s too much, I’m sorry.” Phil stop beat-boxing and we all burst out into laughter. “What the hell is a smeez-ing-ton or whatever you call it?” Brandy asked. “Yeah,” we all said in unison. “We’re a band.” Bruno said. “But, there are only two of you?” Michelle said pointing to the both of them. “A band is more then one person in my opinion,” Phil said looking at Bruno for confirmation. He laughed, “Yeah we got this, but, I’m Bruno.” “And I’m Phil.” Everyone shook hands and laughed.

“Bruno your real name? I just had to ask.” Michelle said. “Nah, a nickname, had it all my life,” he said shrugging his shoulders. “Sounds legit,” she said. “So you said you guys are a band, you have to explain.” Heather said looking serious. “I sing and play guitar, and Phil backs me up with his awesome background vocals.” “Don’t forget I’m a background dancer too,” he says as he starts to dance. We all laughed at him.

“You can sing? Sing us something, right now.” I said crossing my arms. “Okay let me think… Alright, I got something for you real quick..” And he starts to sing…..

 

Chapter 8

“To the window, to the wall!!” Phil started dancing soon as he started singing as if they planned it. We all busted out into laughter and I was damn near in tears. I was expecting something so serious because of his face. After Bruno stopped laughing he said, “Okay, okay I’m sorry that was wrong, I’ll sing for real now.” “Yeah because I was about to not take you both serious forever!’” Michelle said, her voice still shaky from laughter.

You remind me of a girl that I once knew..

See her face whenever I, I look at you…

Couldn’t believe all of the things she put me threw…..

This is why I just can’t get with you…

We all stood in silence. “Wow… you really… have a voice.” Brandy said in awe. We all didn’t know what to say. I didn’t know what to say or do. When someone says they can sing, you don’t assume your going to hear a voice like his. It was just something.. I had never heard before. “Why aren’t you famous yet?” Michelle said. “Awww don’t flatter me guys, but thanks anyway.” He said shrugging his shoulders “No dude, you can really sing.. “ Karmen said still in shock. “You should hear him when he plays guitar with it, amazing!” Phil said patting him on the back. “Well, are we going to play volleyball or what?” he asked breaking the awkward silence. “Yeah, let’s get this shit started!” Phil yelled.

We all began taking off our shoes and us girls putting our hair in ponytails. I didn’t want to do anything stupid in front of him, I started to get nervous. I was really about to just go back in my room and be a loner. I stood there arms crossed unsure if I should step out into the sand. Just before I was going to put my foot in, I was pushed. “Hey what the fuck!” I yelled after I flipped over onto my back. I looked around at everyone. Everyone’s faces were either shocked or surprised, expect for Bruno’s. He was actually holding in a laugh. “Are you kidding me, what for?!” I yelled again as I got up whipping sand off my shorts. “I’m sorry I didn’t think you would really fall…. that hard,” he said scratching the back of his head. I could tell he was sorry, his facial expression completely changed. But, I didn’t believe it.

I blinked in disbelif. “You have to admit that was funny though right?” he said looking at everyone for confirmation. “Oh yes it was just so funny,” I said sarcastically. Everyone began inching away. “Okay, I’m sorry was making a joke ——” he said as he reached for my shoulder. “Please, don’t touch me, just go play volleyball or whatever..” I said moving away from him. He took his arm back fast with a look of hurt on his face. How could he be hurt, he didn’t get pushed face down into sand!

I went over and sat on the bleachers. I sat there for three minutes listening to the music in the background and watching everyone play volleyball, dance, be socialable.. Everyone but, me. Why am I acting like this. I don’t know why, but I felt lonely. I didn’t know I was lonely considering it had to be over fifty people around me. A song that I loved began to play. I started tapping my foot, and then both. Before I knew it I was basically dancing sitting down.

I get what you get in ten years, in two days..

Ladies love me; I’m on my cool J,

If you get what I get what would you say?

She wax it all off, Mr.Miyagi..

 Then I heard a people singing along and getting louder and louder. I knew this mean someone was dancing. I looked to my right and I saw people crowded around someone. I ran over still singing along with them. I squeezed through people to have a look see. “Oh my god, I knew it you fool,” I yelled as I threw my hands in the air dancing. It was a good friend of mine from high school, Deondrea.

I turned for a second to see everyone running over, including Bruno. He’s not gonna dance too… is he?

 

Chapter 9

Bruno ran up to the crowd.  I hoped that since he could sing, he could dance. I was right he started dancing, and really good I have to say. They both danced their asses off, but I just watched everyone have fun and did my own little dance off to the side. I didn’t want to embarrass myself early off into college.

The song went off and everyone went back to doing what they were doing. I took that time to catch up with Deondrea. “Hey! How come you haven’t texted anyone, we been looking for you!” I said. “I just got here, you didn’t me any time to.” He chuckled. “I guess man, but look at you showing off your dancing skills.” I said mocking him in dance. He put his hand out, “Whoa there, I know I don’t dance like that!” We both started laughing.

We walked over to everyone, and we all greeted each other. As I turned around I see Bruno walking towards me slowly. “Sooo, do you forgive me yet?” He said flashing his beautiful smile. It melted my heart but, me being the girl I am, I acted mad still. I crossed my arms, “I don’t know it was pretty childish.” He got closwer to me and I didn’t know what to expect I froze up. He whispered in my ear, “I’ll make it up to you one day.” I nearly pissed myself. “Uhhhmmm, okay.” I said looking away from him. “You going to finish playing volleyball?” I asked quickly changing the subject. He laughed and shook his head, “Sure.” He ran off like a little kid, and I shook my head at how goofy he was. And then I flashed back to what just happened. What does he mean make it up. I stood there for a moment before Michelle came towards me. “Hey bitch, I seen that,” she said with a smirk. “See what, what?” I said confused. “What did he tell you?” She said raising an eyebrow. “Nothing…” I said laughing. “Okay, I’m not going to pressure you but…” she paused. “But??” I said breaking the awkward silence. “I’m going to give him your number!” she said walking away. “What, wait, no your not! I don’t even know him!” I said walking after her. “Righhhttt!” she said waving me off. “But—-” she cut me off, “Hey Bruno!” Oh my god, she is not really going to do that. I know her, she wouldn’t do that to me. I turned quickly and walked towards everyone else. I felt butterflies in my stomach. I turned to look at them talking.

“What’s up?” he said smiling. “You got a phone, I mean, I know you do, but can I see it?” Bruno looked right up at me with a sly look. I turned around quickly.

 

Chapter 10

“You got a phone, I mean I know you do, but can I see it?” she said putting her hand out. He shifted his attention to her. “Uh sure.” He said looking at her weird. She stood there with his phone, for I don’t know seconds, to me it felt like an eternity. She gave him back his phone, and he looked back up at me, right into my eyes. Then he flashed a smile, and I damn near died. Michelle walked past me and bumped me. I turned towards her with a angry face. “Whyyyyy?” I whispered. She hugged me unexpectedly. “I think he might be good for you.” She said looking me straight in the eyes. I could tell she was serious about this. And before I could respond she walked away. I sighed to myself. I looked at my phone 9:33, wow it’s still so early. I don’t know why time is going so fucking slow. My stomach growled and I clinched it. “Ew.” I said to outloud, I walked over to Karmen, Heather, and Trent. “Hey my beautiful children, anyone want to grab something to eat? My stomach just growled like a tiger!” Karmen giggled. “Yeah I got an idea of what to get… MCDONALDS!” she yelled as she fist pumped in the air.

“Hell yeah, let’s do it!” I said dancing. “Excuse me, I don’t mean to be getting all into y’all business but, I believe I heard McDonald’s in this conversation.” Deondrea said poking his head in. We all bust out into laughter. Deondrea loves food, no like he really loves it. If it’s free food involved you better believe he’s going to be there. “Yes, were going I’m driving!” Karmen said pulling out her car keys. “Thank you!” I yelled running towards the parking lot. Heather, Trent, Karmen, and Deondrea walked to Karmen’s car, while I ran like a little kid. We got in, and before I knew it we were in the drive-thru. My phone started ringing. I looked it was Michelle. “Hello.” “Where are you hoe? I been looking for you.” “Uh, I’m 18, I got this, I’m at McDonald’s.” She laughed untill she realized I said McDonald’s. “Omg, why didn’t you tell me, now you have to buy me food, that’s how it works. What kind of friend are you!” “I’m sorry, I was so hungry!” “Not an excuse, I’m human too!” “Okay, whore what do you want?” I said sighing. “Uhmmm…” The phone got silent. “Come on girl, we are next!” “Just get me a cheseburger, and some fries.” “Gotcha.” “Thanks, I owe you!” “Okay!” We got up to the intercom and we all ordered our food. But, Deondrea being him took the longest because his food had to be specially made. He cracked me up. We drove off and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on my burger. We got to campus, split up, and all went our different ways. I looked down to the volleyball field, too many people to tell if he was even down there. I shouldn’t be thinking of him anyway. I got up to my room and sat on my bed and kicked my shoes off. “Please give me my burger, my stomach is eating it’s self.” Michelle said going through the bag.

After she got her food, I got my burger out and went to bite it. As I did my phone vibrated. “Oh perfect timing” I said with a mouthful of food. I struggled to get my phone out of my shorts while juggling my burger. Michelle shook her head at me. “Let’s see it’s probably just Deondrea telling me how good his food is…” (Where are you?) from some random number….