Chapter 1-10 (before you start reading, first read A Rocket To Mars in the "Already finished..." section)

10/01/2012 00:00

The Prelude

Dear Mom,

                I know it’s been awhile since I’ve been home, and I firstly want to tell you that after 7 years of struggling it’s all paying off. I’m set to release my debut album in 5 months. After being feautered on those two songs things really started making sense for me. We actually won a couple of awards and you know I’m sending them right to you.

Before you even ask, yes me and Diamond are doing great. 7 years strong and she loves everything about me and I feel the same way. I’m glad I’m settling down. No, I don’t know when I’m going to propose to her, I just want the time to be right. It’s been a long road for us but, our love is keeping us strong. She’s been there for me all this time, and I really needed that. And yes mom, you’re going to meet her very very soon.

Phil and Ari told me to tell you hello and that they hope all is well. I promise I will write you more, and as soon as I get a chance to get to Hawaii, I’m on the first flight there. Tell my uncles I miss and love them, and tell my sisters to stay out of trouble. I love you all with all my heart and I can’t wait to see ya’ll again.

                                                                                               Love, Bruno

 

 

Chapter 1

“Let’s go Bruno, we’re going to be late.” I said fixing my hair in the mirror. “Alright, I’m almost done.” he responded. I went the living room and sat on the couch. “Is Phil going to meet us there?” I asked. “He said he was.” “Okay.” Bruno is sometimes such a procrastinator. He was supposed to write his letter weeks ago. I helped him out as much as I could because everyday he was starting to get busier and busier. Most of our days we’re straight studio, not that I’m complaining or anything.

I wasn’t looking forward to work tomorrow either. I don’t hate my job or anything, but I just like having some money in my pocket. Bruno keeps telling me to quit and that he would take care of me, but I still wanted to be doing something. I didn’t go to college for nothing. However, ever since he was featured on a song called Billionaire, the money has started flowing in. I was so proud of him, he never gave up on his dream, and he never gave up on me.

I folded up the letter and put it the in drawer. I would send that off first thing tomorrow morning. I walked out into the living room, “Alright babe I’m ready.” “About time!” she smirked. I went over and hugged her, “Don’t you get on me about time..” I whispered in her ear. “I know you’re not talking.” she whispered back. Her whispers always sounded so sensual to me, it got me going. I started lightly kissing her neck. She pulled away, “No Bruno, we have to go! You always do that!” I fake stomped, “Damn.. I thought it would work.” She laughed at me and started for the door.

We both threw on our Ray Bans on, Bruno rocked his better then me though. We jumped in the car and we we’re on our way. I turned on the radio. Billionaire was on and we both looked at each other and smiled. “Don’t it just feel good babe?” “It feels damn good.” “I can’t wait till you’re own songs are playing on here.” He looked at me for a second, “That’s going to be such a unexplainable feeling.” I smiled, “I know babe, I know.” I felt like Bruno was the most deserving person I knew. He worked hard day in and day night and was so humble to everyone he met. He was special, and I was just glad I was the one who he shared that with. I wanted to spend the rest of my life with him, but at the same time I didn’t want to push him into anything yet.

I snapped my fingers, “Fuck, I forgot about dinner tonight.” “Wait, what dinner?” We we’re both so busy sometimes that we forgot about everything. “Everyone is supposed to be coming over tonight for dinner.” “Damn, I forgot too. What you cooking?” he asked with a smirk. “Oh you must have forgot the other part too, you’re cooking.” He looked at me in mock horror, “Babe, I tell you over and over, I can’t cook!” “Well, you’re going to learn today.” I wasn’t really going to make him cook. I just liked messing with him because he’s so cute when he’s upset.

“I swear, if you leave it up to me, we’ll all be eating boxes of pop tarts..” I laughed, “Or cereal you forgot to add.” “Or we could just skip dinner all together, and I could just have you for dessert.” I looked at him in mock horror, “You can be really nasty sometimes..” “That’s just what I does.” I giggled. My Bruno, hasn’t changed not one bit….

 

 

Chapter 2

We pulled up to the studio. Ahh, another day in the studio. I love hanging with the guys and watching them work their magic. It’s actually became one of my hobbies. And now that Bruno is going to release an album, the magic was going to get a whole lot better. I had my trust in them.

Bruno grabbed my hand and we walked in, “Yo yo smeezingtons ya’ll daddy is home!” he yelled. I laughed, “You’re such a fool.” He looked back at me, “But, I’m your fool.” I just shook my head. “What’s up Mrs. Mars… or is it Mrs. Hernandez?” Phil said hugging me. I looked at Bruno, “Hmm.. I don’t know you should ask him which one.” He shot me a look, “We had this talk.” “Okay… new subject! What we doing today?” I said. Me and Bruno keep having that talk. The one about marriage and starting a family. It would always lead to an argument, so we both always tried avoiding it. If we both loved each other then what was the problem?

We had been dating for 7 years, that’s a long ass time to be together without tying the knot. But, his music, his first love. It was important to him, and it was here before me, so who am I to get in between them. Lately, we haven’t been having deep conversations because they all lead to arguments. We acted like nothing was wrong in front of everyone else. The busier he got, the more stressed out he got.

I went straight for my lyric book. I had some ideas that had been right in the back of my mind for the longest. I went into my own little world and damn near wrote my hand off. I had no idea how long it had been but, I felt Diamond come over and massage my shoulders. “You okay babe?” she whispered in my ear. I sighed, “Yeah I’m okay.” She kissed me on the cheek and walked away. Her touch and voice took me off of everything I was thinking. She had that kind of spell on me. I got up and went over to the keyboard. I had these four chords that I made up in my mind, I wanted to see how they sounded.

I sat down and looked over to Diamond. She was balled up on the couch signing papers. I wished she would quit that stupid job. I could take care of her, but for some reason she wouldn’t. I guess it’s some of those things about her that I’ll never understand. I started playing the four chords. It was a soft little melody. She looked up at me. “Babe, I like that.” I nodded, “Me too..” “You got lyrics for it?” Phil asked. “I got lyrics for everything. I just need the melodies for them.” “Understandable.” Phil said turning on the mixer. “You trying to get in the booth today Brunz?” I cleared my throat and sang for a second. “Ehh.. I guess I can.”

I loved when I got to see Bruno in the booth, it was like I was here to witness something amazing. He had one of those voices. As soon as he got in and put his headphones on his phone rang. He looked at it frowned and ignored it. That’s odd….

 

 

Chapter 3

A part of me wanted to know who it was, and another part didn’t. Maybe it was just simply someone he didn’t want to talk too. I mean I had those type of people. I knew that if I said something to him about it, it would be another arguement. I hated that for the last couple months me and him aruged like crazy. The funny thing is, we act like nothing is wrong around people. Most of the time the arugements end in sex, and or him spending the night in the studio. Sometimes I wish we could go back to those days when we we’re young and wild. Where we had sex just because we we’re horny. But, I wouldn’t change being with him now for nothing. Don’t get me wrong, Bruno had never stopped being an amazing boyfriend. But, it just seemed like life caught up with us.

I started singing Talking To The Moon. Sometimes I hated singing this song because it took me back to the day where Diamond was in the hospital. It was the reason why I wrote it, but those few days we’re some of the worst in my life. Nowadays, I try not to think of that time. But, in a way it helped me be who I am today. “Stop, turn it off.” I said taking the headphones off. Phil stopped the music, “What’s wrong?” “I’m just not feeling it..”

I looked up. “You okay?” He walked out of the studio and slammed the door behind him. What the hell. “What’s wrong with him?” I asked Phil. He shrugged, “I don’t know what’s been up with the Brunz lately. One minute he’s up and making jokes, and the next minute he’s doing shit like that.” I got up and walked outside. He was leaning against the wall smoking a cigarette. I went and stood next to him. “Bruno…” “I don’t know Diamond.” “You don’t even know what I was going to say..” He kept smoking. “Bruno, you’re going to have to stop this. I’m serious.” “What am I doing? I didn’t even say anything.”

I shook my head, “I just don’t know anymore.” He looked at me, “What do you mean by that?” “I just… don’t know you anymore.” Why did I just say that. “I’m done talking.” “Just like that, you’re done talking, that fast?” He flicked his cigarette and started walking off. I grabbed his arm, “No Bruno. No. I can’t keep letting you just walk away.” “Just let me go please.” he said without looking at me. I looked down and just let him go. He walked back in the studio.

I stormed in and went to the kitchen. I went in the fridge and poured myself a shot. “Don’t you think it’s a little to early to drink?” Phil said walking in. I just shook my head. “Brunz, what’s going through you’re mind right now.” I honestly didn’t know the answer to that question. So many things were, I tried my best to be happy but sometimes it never worked. He put his hand on my shoulder, “You can’t keep drinking your problems away.” He was right but, it did took my mind off of everything, it helped me relax. I took the shot anyway. What the hell is wrong with me.

I didn’t know what the say. I just wanted to know what was on his mind. He was always so secretive. I walked into the studio and found them standing in the kitchen. Bruno had a shot glass in his hand. He poured himself another shot and didn’t even look at me. Phil gave me a worried look. Bruno put his head down on the counter. “Phil… can me and Bruno talk?” He nodded and left the room…

 

 

Chapter 4

I went and stood next to him. “Bruno. I need you to talk to me.” “What do you want me to say?” “What’s been bothering you lately?” He lifted his head up and looked at me directly in my eyes. “Do you really want the answer to that?” “Of course I do, I like when you’re happy baby. When you smile, I smile.” He smiled. “Aw Bru, I haven’t seen you smile like that in a long time.” I put my arm around him, “Maybe you need to take a break from music. After today, we going to take a small break.” “What’s a small break to you?” “A week tops.” He nodded, “Okay, I can work with that.” He hugged me and I rubbed his back. “I think this week will really help you.” He took a deep breath and went to pour him another shot. “Bruno….” Even though we we’re old enough to drink now, I still hated when he drank, lately he did it when he was upset. “I know babe, this is it.” I’ve heard that so many times. “Okay.. well remember we’re having people over so don’t get too drunk..” I said walking away. “Diamond.” I turned around, “Yes?” “I love you.” I smiled, “I love you too Bruno.”

I watched her walk out and I downed my last shot. I was on a good feeling now. I felt a lot better now that we had talked. No matter what, Diamond always tried to work things out. Maybe a break is what I needed, a well deserved break. I’m sure Phil and Ari can hold it down for me while I’m resting anyway. They’ll understand.

I was scheduled to do a couple interviews in the next 2 weeks anyway. Sometimes I hated interviews, and those damn paparazzis. They never gave me a break, that was part of my stress. I looked at my shot glass again. Another shot? Na, I’m good. I walked into the studio and looked at my watch, 4:15 P.M. “What time we’re we suppoused to be having dinner?” I asked Diamond. “8:30.” I nodded. “I hope you cooking a lot Diamond, cause’ I got a big ass appetite!” Phil announced. I smirked and went back to the keyboard.

“Actualy Phil, what do you want? Becuase I haven’t decided.” He put his hand on his chin like he was really thinking hard. “Damn, you may have caught me on a bad da…. Nevermind! You should make chicken wings..” “And fries!” Bruno added. “You boys got it.”

After 2 more hours in the studio I felt pretty accomplished. I got a lot of paper work done. Bruno and Phil on the other hand, goofed around most of the time. I was just glad I finally cheered up Bruno. Or maybe it was just the alcohol. He was happy, so that’s all that matters.

“Alright Phil see you in a couple hours.” I said waving to him. He nodded and drove off. When me and Bruno got home he instantly went for the TV. I went and to start dinner. As I started cooking, I listened to him laugh. I smiled a little bit harder after each giggle he let out. I heard his phone ring. I listened to see if he would answer it or not. “Hello? Uh, hold up for a second.” I listened to him slide the side door open and walk out onto the patio.

I didn’t care I was going to listen this time. I creeped over towards the door and stood by the wall where he couldn’t see me. I put my head next to the door and listened. “No. I told you I can’t. I’m busy tonight.” Busy tonight? Oh my fucking god. I took a deep breath and kept listening. “Look we’ll get a chance alright. Okay. I gotta go now. I’ll text you.” I ran back to the stove. He came in and came behind me and wrapped his arms around me. No words explained how I felt right now, I needed to know what was going on. This was going to lead to an arguement, but I didn’t care. But, if I hadn’t of went to the door then I wouldn’t have known anything. He started kissing me on my neck. I turned around towards him, “Bruno..” He looked me up and down.. “Yes..” “Would you ever lie to me?”…….

 

 

Chapter 5

He frowned, “What do you mean?” I didn’t want to jump to any conclusions because I’m sure it would lead to an arguement. “I just want to know..” I lied. “Baby, I have no reasons to lie to you okay?” I smiled, “Okay.” He kissed me, “You need any help with anything?” “You, wanting to help in the kitchen?” I touched his forehead, “You’re not running a fever are you?!” He grabbed my hand and smirked, “Real funny.” He went back in the living room. Once again, I pushed the situation to the back of my head. Arguing right now was pointless, everyone was coming over and I wanted to have a good time.

I clicked the TV off and decided to go and change hats or clothes. I took my baseball cap off and hung it on the hat rack. Diamond had got me one for Christmas around 2 years ago, she said she was tired of seeing them everywhere. I grabbed my black and grey fedora and put it on in the mirror. Eh, I guess I can wear these clothes, we’re not going anywhere. I walked back in the living room and I could instantly smell the chicken. I went in the kitchen and sat at the bar and watched Diamond. I put my hands under my chin like a little kid. She peeked over to me, “So you have nothing else better to do?” “Nope.” “You sure?” “Nope.” I did this to her almost every time she cooked, and she always said the same thing. I loved little things like that. Those mean’t the most.

Bruno helped me get out plates and and cups. While I was putting the last plate down the doorbell rang. Phil and Jasmine walked in with the all too familiar brown paper bag. I hugged them both. “Them chicken wings smelling nice!” Phil said hanging up his coat. “You know I had to throw down.” I said taking more fries out of the deep fryer. They all went and sat on the couch in the living room. I was almost done cooking, thank god. It seemed like I was over the stove a lot longer then I was. The doorbell rang again. Bruno ran to the door like a little kid, “I got it!” I looked over and seen Michelle and Cary walk in. I went and hugged Michelle, “How goes everything?” “Beautiful.” “How’s my god son?” “Bad as hell!” I laughed, “He’s a sweetheart.” I never thought I would see the day that Michelle got married before me, but she ended up doing all the right things. Her son was almost 4 now, time is just flying past me. I honestly wanted to have kids, but it just wasn’t the time for it. I hugged Cary, “How you been?” “Staying alive.” I nodded, “I feel you.” I really liked Cary, he was perfect for Michelle in every way.

I went over and took the rest of the fries out and put them in bowl and put them on the table. Michelle came in with all the chicken, “You threw down girl! This is more chicken then I think Phil can eat in one day!” I laughed. “Hey don’t be saying my name!” he said coming into the dining room. “Don’t worry chicken was in the same sentence.” I said said. “Alright, then you in the clear.” We started laughing. I missed having everyone together. It had been a good couple months. I saw Bruno reaching his hand out for a chicken wing. “Bruno…” He grabbed it really fast and put it behind his back. He looked around like something really fast, “Huh? What’s going on?” I kissed him, “Get a plate.” He smiled. The door bell rang again. I got the chance to open it this time.

It was Heather and Trent. I hugged them both, “You won’t believe who I found…” Heather said. “Who?” I said stepping over to let them in. I saw someone walking to up the path but I couldn’t see their face. “Diamond!” “Oh my god, Karmen! Where have you been?!” I hadn’t seen her in years. After college she moved to New York to work with different music artists. I was so happy to see her. “Come in, come in.” She looked around, “Beautiful home.” “Thanks, I try.” I looked at her, “You must be at the wrong party!” She wore a black fitted dress, heels, and bright red lipstick. Her curly brown hair flowed down her back. “Yeah I’m going out tonight.” “I don’t blame you!” She looked around, “Where’s Bruno?” I looked around, “I don’t know he was just in the kitchen.”

I looked at myself in the mirror. I grabbed a paper towel and wiped my forehead. Why is this happening? I bet she did this on purpose, she’s testing me. I started pacing back in forth in the small bathroom. I took a deep breath. “You got this Bruno.” I whispered to myself. Before I walked out I looked at myself one more time in the mirror and nodded…

 

 

Chapter 6

We all didn’t feel like waiting for the others so started digging in. As I want back to the table to get more fries, I saw Bruno sit down. I looked at him, he seemed nervous. That’s odd. “Bru, you alright?” I said rubbing his back. He frowned at me, “Yeah I’m alright.” “You want me to make your plate?” “Nah babe, you don’t have to I’ll get it.” he said getting up. I watched him and walk into the kitchen. The food wasn’t even in there. That’s how I knew he was on some type of bullshit. The doorbell rang once again clearing my thoughts. Jasmine went and opened the door this time. In walked the others, Ari, Eric, Kam, Carla, Phred, and Tori. I had a house full now, but I didn’t mind not one bit.

I loved all of these people, they had become my second family. I greeted all of them one by one. After all that happened when we were younger Kam and Carla ended up dating, but they had always been off and on throughout the years. But, everytime I seen one of them they we’re always with the other. Phred was Bruno’s musical director and it always a pleasure having him over. I had actually met his wife Tori during my senior year at UCLA. It seemed that everyone was married expect for me and Bruno, the ones who we’re the first to date each other.

After talking some with E I decided to walk out on the patio to have a smoke. I really did need to quit, Diamond even quitted for me. But, it seemed that I could never fall through on my addictions for her. I sat back in a lawn chair and listened to the sounds of the night. It all sounded so good that I had forgot about smoking. “I bet you didn’t expect me to show up did you?” a voice said out of the darkness it scared the shit out of me, but I knew exactly who it was. I sat all the way up in the edge of the chair, “No, and you’re wrong for not telling me.” She put her hands on my shoulders, “Don’t act like you aren’t happy to see me though.” I sighed, “I don’t know if I am.” “I just wanted to surprise you.”

I started putting some of the dirty dishes into the sink, I didn’t want to have a load to do after everyone left tonight. “Here’s a couple more.” Michelle said bringing in some more plates. “Thanks.” I said running some water on them. “You taking a few shots tonight?” “Eh, yeah just a couple. I got work tomorrow afternoon.” She nodded. “Wheres Bruno little ass at? I haven’t got to make fun of him yet.” I laughed, “I don’t know he’s been acting a little… I don’t know… funny lately.” She leaned back on the counter, “What you mean?” I told her about the ignored phone call at the studio and the conversation I listened to earlier.

She shook her head, “Bruno Bruno..” I sighed, “I know Michelle, but I just don’t like jumping to conclusions. I have to be able to trust him.” “Exactly. So just keep it cool.” I smiled to her, “Thanks, your my girl for life.” “Anytime.”

We walked by the bar and I poured me a shot and made Bruno one of his dancing juices. I carried it into the living room, but he wasn’t in there. “Phil where is Bruno?” “I think outside.” he said out of laughter. I slid the patio door open, “Bruno babe, I made you your drink.” He looked up at me quickly. Karmen was standing next to him her arms crossed. I felt the awkwardness. “I guess you found him?” I smirked…

 

 

Chapter 7

“Yeah I did.” she smiled. I handed Bruno his drink. I looked up to the stars, “It’s a beautiful night.” Karmen looked up with me, “You still counting stars girl?” “Whenever I get a chance.” I looked back down to Bruno, he was quietly sipping his drink. Why was he so quiet? Karmen’s phone started ringing, “Don’t even start yelling, I’m on my way.” She hung up. “Diamond, Bruno I’m sorry I didn’t get to stay that long, but I will def be back over soon.” “Okay, don’t let it be years before I ever see you again!” “I won’t, I’ll actually be in town for another two weeks or so, maybe we can go out or grab lunch?” “Yeah, I’ll get your number from Heather.” She hugged me and waved to Bruno. “See ya.” he said in a low voice.

I went and sat on the arm of his chair. “Bruno..” “Yeah babe.” “We got a good group of friends.” He looked at me. The moonlight bounced off his brown eyes. “I don’t know what I would do without some of them.” I nodded. “I’m going in.” “Why?” “I had poured myself a shot.” “Please don’t drink.” “Bruno, I ask you not to drink every single day, and what do you do anyway?” He looked down. “Exactly.”

I sat my drink down on the table and rubbed my face. I couldn’t just stop drinking. It wasn’t as hard as it sounded. I thought back to Karmen. I wonder what made her come to L.A. for two weeks. I felt like I was always getting myself into trouble. Whenever I was away from Diamond on business trips I would always get drunk and wake up with another girl in my bed. But, Diamond was the only one I loved. The fame was starting to get to my head. I didn’t want to settle down with her because being a husband means a lot. I needed to make more changes if I wanted to ever think about that. And being married mean’t that you didn’t keep secrets from each other. Damn damn damn, I need some help.

I toasted 3 shots with Michelle and Carla. These we’re my girls. Whenever we went out we had a ball. They helped me get away from my problems and we all took care of each other.

After everyone had a few drinks in their systems they all started leaving one by one. I started on the dishes. I played music in my head and danced while I did them. I heard Bruno saying goodbye to everyone. It was finally silent after about 5 hours. I didn’t miss the silence one bit. Bruno came and sat at the bar. “What’s on your schedule tomorrow?” I asked him whiping the counter. “You know studio.. papers, radio talkshows.” “Remember your suppoused to be taking a break?” He sighed, “What am I suppoused to do when you’re gone to work then?” “Sleep, watch TV, I don’t know do what guys do.” I said walking into the dining room.

He followed me, “I’ll get bored so easily.” “Bruno, you will be fine, you’re not a little kid,” I laughed. I straightened everything back up on the table. I wasn’t going to feel like doing this tomorrow evening after work. “I got like one question though.” I put my hands on my hips and smirked, “What?” He came close to me and put his hands on my hands, “I know we didn’t skip dinner, but does that mean I can’t have you for desset anymore?” I rolled my eyes. I knew where he was going with this one..

 

 

Chapter 8

This chapter is dirty. o.O You have been warned. Enjoy!

“Bruno I am not staying up all night with you! I got to work.” “Sorry babe, your not using that one tonight.” he said moving closer to me. Bruno still drove me crazy the same exact way he did 7 years ago. In all honestly he only got better. And by better I mean thinking of ways to end up in my pants. We started french kissing and boy did that always get us started. I stopped for air, “Not in the dining room Bru.” He took my hand I followed him into our bedroom. He closed the door and stripped down to his boxers I guess he was about business tonight.

I took off everything, and I mean everything. Bruno finally got me out of being shy around him. He seemed to enjoy everything more when I wasn’t shy or nervous. I went and laid in the bed and we started kissing again. He got on top of me and held my arms at my side. “You already know what I got to do first.” I bit my lip, “I’m not stopping you.” He started at my collarbone and kissed me all the way down to my thighs. Hes always such a tease. It never failed to send chills down my spine. He lingered right in my inner thigh longer then I wanted him too. “Brunoo.. get on with it.” I moaned. He looked up at me, smiled and put my legs on his shoulders. He licked his lips and went to work. I instinctivly closed my eyes. He really knew how to use that tongue. I felt every little lick he made. I ran my fingers threw his curly hair. I moaned his name countless times as usual. I could never be quiet with him.

Right as I was about to be done I pushed his head up. “I don’t want to be done yet.” “What you got in mind?” he said crawling back on top of me. I felt him through his boxers poking me in my stomach. I scooted from underneath him, “Lay down.” He smirked and did as he was told. I crawled on top of him. I watched his face as he slid his boxers off. I grabbed him and guided him inside before our bodies started sliding back and forth against each other. I put my head next to his ear and whispered to him. “I bet you like this don’t you.” He was too focused on what he was feeling to even respond. He lifted a eyebrow and closed his eyes. I lifted up and put my hands on his chest.

He stared at me raised his eyebrows. I loved the wrinkles in his forehead. I moaned constantly and I felt his breathing increase. He heart was beating madly fast. He put his hands on my hips and watched as me closely. I closed my eyes and thursted on him as hard as I could without actually hurting him. He liked it rough. Just as he was about to be done his hands slid down to my ass. We both let out screams of pleasure as we went to cloud 9. I slid down and laid on his chest. He was still breathing hard.

“Diamond.” “Hmm.” I don’t know why he always wanted me to talk right after sex. “Why were you being so wild?” I leaned up and looked at him in the eyes, “Don’t you like it?” “Yeah of course I do but, it’s like you had something extra behind it tonight.” Maybe I’m trying to show you that you won’t get it better then this anywhere else. “I don’t know what you’re talking about.” “Yeah, okay.” I ran my finger around on his chest while he stroked my hair. Eventually we both fell asleep just like that. We didn’t even bother turning the light off…

 

 

Chapter 9

I woke up around 10:30 and went and got in the shower. Mid-way through it I heard the door close. “Bruno..” “Yup. ” “Why don’t you ever like, announce yourself when you do that?” “Why I gotta announce myself in my own house?” I laughed, “Whatever.” He jumped in the shower with me. He started washing and massaging my back and every minute his hands would wonder places they shouldn’t be. Each time I would say his name and he would say what. He knew exactly what he was doing. Most days we would end up having sex in there, but today I just wasn’t feeling it. I got out before him and went in the room to get dressed. He came out naked. He was starting to do that too often. I fake covered my eyes, even though I knew I was looking, “Get a towel Bruno.” “Towels are for pussies.” I laughed, “Your too much.” He smirked and got dressed.

I ran around the house gathering papers together that I needed to take in today. I was running slightly late, and I didn’t like it. “Bruno, where are the keys?!” “I don’t knowww.” he said clicking TV channels. I sighed, “Can you help me look?” “Did you look on the key rack?” he said without looking. I looked at the key rack right next to my face. “Cute.” He laughed.

I leaned over the couch and gave him a goodbye kiss. “See ya later Bru, be good.” “I’ll try.” he said smiling. And with that I was out the door. I threw on my shades got in the car. I turned on the radio, LL Cool J’s Going Back To Cali was playing. I smiled and backed out of the driveway.

Around another hour of TV I was starting to get hungry. I went in the kitchen and threw myself some pop tarts in the toaster. Always the best. I sat at the bar and ate them. What hell am I going to do with myself for the next 5 hours without the studio. I guess I got my guitar here and I can write. What damage could that do. I went in the room and looked around. I grabbed my ukelele instead. I went on the patio and sat in the lawn chair. I started strumming. I had a little song I had wrote that made me think of friendship. I was planning to put it on my album. I started to sing..

You can count on me like 1, 2, 3 and I’ll be there..

And I know when I need it,

I can count on you like 4, 3, 2

And you’ll be there…

Cause thats what friends are suppoused to do..

Ah yeah…

I couldn’t help but smile the whole time I sang that song. I started to sing the next verse when the doorbell rang. I frowned to myself, I wasn’t expecting anything. I went and opened the door. “Well hello Bruno.” Karmen said. “What are you doing here?” She pushed her way past me, “You know we got work to do.” I closed the door and watched her hang her jacket on a chair. “I mean yeah but..” I stopped talking I have no idea why. “Exactly, now stop acting brand new.” I walked into the living room and sat in the chair. “What do you want to work on?” I said lightly strumming my uklele.

She came in the room and sat on the couch across from me. “Well we can START with that song I heard you singing.” “Count On Me.” I said strumming the melody. “You want it on your album?” I nodded. It sounds good.” “I know but it just needs a little more of something.” She got up and came and sat on my lap, “Hmm.. like what?” she said leaning in towards me. I could see all of her cleavage, I swallowed hard. “Uhh.. like..” she quieted me with a kiss..

 

 

Chapter 10

“You know you missed me.” she smiled. “I guess I did.” Did I really? I was so confused with my own actions and thoughts. “Now I think we got a couple hours till Diamond gets off of work, so we can do this first and then music second… your decision..” she said unbuttoning my shirt. “I mean.. it’s about what you want.” She slid her hand in my shorts, “You always do that, you know what I pick.” I smiled and kissed her.

Me and Karmen had been messing around for almost 2 years now. Whenever I went to Brooklyn, I was basically with her. I didn’t love her in anyway like I loved Diamond but, it was just something about her. We met through Diamond in college and actually didn’t see each other again after that until I went to Brooklyn to start working with other celebrities. She was a music producer and was damn good at what she did. And damn good at other things, if you know what I mean.

I sat down at my desk and started faxing papers off. “Diamond, you want a coffee.” I looked up to Deondrea for a quick second and continued what I was doing. “Sure.. and don’t fuck it up this time!” I joked. He laughed, “Right right.” He was only one of the reasons I loved my job. He was so helpful at the times I needed the most. And he made me laugh when I needed it. He actually made me laugh at times where I needed to be serious and we would always get in trouble for it. He walked back in the room with two coffees. “Okay, one hazelnut coffee with one extra sugar.” He had it down packed. “Thanks so much.” I said sipping it. It was delicious.

He sat on the couch next to the window, “No problem. How’s Bruno?” “He’s alright. I’m making him take a break.” He looked at me in mock horror, “From what?” I gave him the-stop-being-so-nasty-look. “Not that boy..” “Oh right right.” “From the studio, interviews, all of that. He needs to take a break from music.” He nodded, “I agree. Too much of good thing equal bad thing?” “Did you get that from a movie?” He smirked, “Maybe.”

Before I knew we were doing the wrong thing. What was the point of doing something when you felt bad the entire time you did it. But, this never stopped me. To make things even worst, we were in my house. The house that I shared with Diamond. I stopped thinking about all of that and leaned in towards her, “Now, you missed me didn’t you?” “Hell yeah.” she moaned.

“How many more people you got coming in today?” Deondrea said looking threw the window blinds. “I don’t know like 4 or 5?” I said rubbing my face. “Late night?” he said turning towards me. “Yeah. Everyone came over for dinner remember?” “Oh yeah, sorry I couldn’t make it again.” I waved him off, “It’s alright.” “You know if you’re really tired, I could take care of it all for you?” I looked up at him, “Would you really do that?” He smiled, “Yeah, I’ll make it up to you for not coming to dinner last night.” I got up and hugged him, “Thank you so much!” He waved me off this time, “No problem.”

I told him where everything was and who was coming in. I trusted him, he was on person who never let me down. I finally got down to the parking lot and got in the car. Usually I would call Bruno and tell him that I was off. But, today I wanted to surprise him. He would be happy that he didn’t have to spend more hours by himself. After the 15 minute ride I got to the house and pulled in the driveway. What the hell who’s car.

I let it go to the back of my head because people were always constantly at our house and I knew he had people come over to work on music even though I told him he was on a break. Even when he was supposed to be doing nothing, he always had to actually be working. As I walked up the pathway the front door opened. I smiled expecting Bruno, but Karmen walked out. I instantly frowned, “Karmen?..”