Chapter 1

11/05/2011 22:35

And there I was. Auditioning as a back-up singer for Bruno Mars.

I couldn't believe it. After months I finally found a new chance to prove myself. I had crossed everywhere around the country to audition, but I wasn't 'good' enough. Now I hoped I would make a new start here, in Atlanta.

I wasn't the only one auditioning. Like hundreds of girls, I bet most of them are fangirls, gathered around in this small studio. Some were laughing with eachother, while others were rehearsing hard. I just sat there, alone in the corner, trying to focus on how I could express myself the best in my performance. I wasn't that excited. I felt small and useless between all those good looking women. I felt embaressed and insecure. These girls could sing so good and I knew that I wouldn't make a chance beside them. What am I doing here? No way that they will choose me. I'm such a fool...

Just when I was about to stand up and leave a woman spoke: ''It's time. Everyone follow me.'' Too late. I thought to myself. I slowly picked up my bag and followed the many girls.

We came in a hallway with lots of chairs. ''Oke everyone. You will all each one by one enter the next room and do your audition. I wish you all the luck. Oke, Auburn Twayne. You're first.'' the woman said and a girl behind me stepped forward and followed the woman. My heart pounded in my chest. I sat down in one of the chairs and looked at my phone. Almost 3 o'clock. This is going to be a long day... After 5 minutes Auburn and the woman came back. I looked at the girl's face. She looked very scared and quietly sat down on the chair behind me. Then the next girl got called in. I was the last one to be called in. My legs were shaking as I stood up. There I go...


*****************************************************************************

''Man, we had like a hundred of girls and none of them really are good enough,'' Bruno said. He was laying in his chair. Tired and bored. ''I can't take it anymore.'' ''Yeah. Wait, we still have one girl left. We may have good luck.'' Phil said. ''Fingers crossed.'' Bruno took off his hat, brushed his curly hair and put is hat back on.

*****************************************************************************

Finally I walked in. I saw Bruno and Phil sit there and my heart pounded faster. I walked to the center of the stage and looked up. ''Hey, welcome. What's your name and what are you going to sing miss?'' Phil said amused. ''I'm. Ehum. I'm Bre Lake and I 'm going to sing 'Ain't no sunshine'.'' ''Interesting song choice. Give all you've got.'' Phil said and smiled. Bruno looked curious. There was something different about this girl. She gave him a feeling that he didn't feel with the other girls. Maybe because she didn't scream when she saw him, while the others did.

I stepped closer to the mic stand and opened my mouth. Surprisingly I began to sing: ''Ain't no sunshine when she's gone. It's not warm when she's away. Ain't no sunshine when she's gone and she's always gone too long, anytime she goes away.'' Bruno was sitting at the edge of his chair, just staring at her, while Phil flashed an amused smile. ''...when she's gone.'' I closed my mouth. There was a awkward silent for a minute. Then Phil said: ''Thank you.'' I smiled and then walked out of the room. Well, it wasn't that bad. I picked up my bag and walked out of the studio. When I got home I took a quick shower, dressed and went downstairs to eat. Then I walked out of the door as fast a I could, heading to my office. I was almost late.

As I got there I felt relieved. I have worked here for almost 2 years. It was busy. i quickly said hi to the secretary and went straight to my desk. There I found a pink note. It said: Call- 0800-3-4-2 back. person said to be very important. I took the note and walked to the secretary's desk. ''Hi Ronda. I saw this note on my desk?'' I showed her the note. ''Oh yeah. Some guy called just before you arrived. He asked if you could call back as soon as possible.'' she said with a smile. ''Alright then. Thanks.'' I said and walked back to my desk. I took the phone and dealed the numbers that were on the note. After three times ringing someone picked up the phone. '' Hello, Phil Lawrence over here.'' I couldn't believe it. There was a long pause. ''Hello? Who's this?'' Phil said. '' Oh sorry. I'm Bre Lake. I've got a call and was said to call you back?'' I said unsure. ''Oh hi. Finally. I've got some good news for you. You got the job. Congrats.' 'Phil said excited. ''Really?! OMG! Thank you so much.'' ''Your welcome. Your welcome. Anyways. Today we rehearsal at 8. Do you think you can make it?'' ''Hmmm, yes.'' I said. I couldn't stop sitting myself down. ''Oke. Let me give you the adress. Do you have pen and paper?'' he asked. '' Yes, yes.'' Fast enough I took the pink note, turned it over and picked a pen out of the case on my desk. ''Oke then. Here it is. 700 Baconstreet. It's the little building called State of Shock. You got that?'' ''Yes.'' 

I wrote it down as fast as I could. ''Oke then. We''ll meet you there. Have a nice day at work. See ya.'' ''Oke, thanks. Bye.'' I said and hung up. This is amazing. I did it, I did it. I jumped up and down. Almost running I walked to Lea's desk. she has been my closest friend for like three years. '' I'm hired!'' I screamed. ''Really?!'' Lea was shocked. '' Yes. I've got a call from Phil Lawrence. Today we rehearsing!'' ''OMG! That's great. I'm so happy for you'' We jumped up and down. ''Call me tonight. I wanna hear all the details.'' she said. ''Sure. I''ll talk to you soon. Bye.'' I said and walked back to my desk.

 

The time seemed to fly so fast. I took my bag and ran out of office to my home. I went upstairs to my room and quickly put on some other clothes. Then I walked downstairs, filled my bag with two bottles of water, a sandwich and an apple, took my keys and walked out. I took a cab, showed the driver the adress and we took off. We stopped in front of a little street. I payed the man and stepped out of the car. I was standing infront of a little building. State Of Shock.

 

I took a deep breath and opened the door.