Chapter 13+14

01/02/2012 01:23

Chapter 13

We both rushed out of the shower. “Is it your phone?” I asked Bruno while he handed me a towel. “I hope it’s not my mom.” Bruno helped dried my body while I pressed my ear against the bathroom door. I noticed the ringtone wasn’t mine, thank God. We went to his bedroom to change. Bruno checked his phone and smiled. He called back whoever called him and walked into the hallway. I smiled and shook my head when I realized Bruno was still a bit wet and a whole lot naked. After I put my clothes on, I checked my phone. My mom had texted me. I held my breath when I opened the text. Can you come home Sunday night? I guess that’s okay, as long as she doesn’t know what I am up to. Bruno walked back into his bedroom. “Babe, would you like to meet my brother, Eric?”
The drive to the park was making me nervous. Eric had called Bruno to ask if he and the guys wanted to barbeque at the park. Bruno said he was with me and, very enthusiastically Bruno said, Eric asked if I can come too; he wanted to finally meet his little brother’s new girlfriend. Before we got to the park, I offered to buy some chips. I thought I should do something nice and make myself look good. We stopped at the grocery store and I bought the chips and Bruno bought hamburger patties and buns. I was so nervous, I was basically spacing out at the checkout line. Bruno had to nudge me to get my attention. He held my hand tight when he said “He’s gonna love you no matter what.”
We got to the park and I saw Phil, Brody and Ari at a bench. There was a tall, husky guy at the grill. He wore sunglasses, jean shorts and a black shirt. Bruno got out of the car and came over to my side to open my door. He held my hand and kissed it. We walked hand-in-hand towards the guys. “Eric, this is my girlfriend.” I smiled while I held my hand out to shake his hand. Eric took off his sunglasses and returned the handshake. He had no impression on his face. I’m so screwed. “You are that music student who seduced my brother?” I looked at Bruno to help me but he just had a goofy smile on his face. I’m sweating buckets when I answered “Y-yes” Eric’s no expression turned into excitement. He basically hugged me tight and lifted me off the ground. “Oh man you are such a Godsend! I totally approve!” I was so confused. “W-why?” I asked the guys busted out laughing. “Did she just ask why?!” Eric said to Bruno, as he placed me back down. “Well, because Bruno hasn’t shut up about you since the school year started.” I smiled and sat next to Phil. “You sound like you have a good head on your shoulders. You know, from what Bruno has told me about you.” Bruno helped Eric at the grill while Eric continued. “I mean, you made As and Bs and you graduated from high school, something Bruno almost didn’t do!” We all laughed. 
We sat together and Eric continued being the protective big brother and continued asking about myself. “So where are you going to school at? What’s your major?” Bruno had a proud smile on his face. “I’m going to go to UCLA. I’m not sure if I want to be a teacher or a librarian.” Bruno put his arm around my shoulder. “My girl becoming a teacher like me would be awesome.” Eric grinned. I continued to eat while Eric and Bruno continued to talk. I almost choked on a potato chip when Eric said “Well now I can tell mom about you guys and that I approve of your relationship when we go home in July.” I took a sip of my soda. “You haven’t told your mom about me?” Bruno looked disappointed. “Well, I was going to wait to tell her in person when I go to Hawaii. She may not take it well, since you were a student of mine and of the age gap.” I felt disappointed. What if their mom doesn’t approve? Would we have to break up? “Hey!” Phil exclaimed. “How about you come with us and you can meet Bruno’s whole family?” Everyone was agreeing but both Bruno and I had a sad look on our faces. “I can’t go because my parents have yet to know about us. I can’t just go to Hawaii without telling my parents who I’m going with and why.” I was so bummed. Going to Hawaii would be such an adventure and being with Bruno would be such a romantic vacation before I start school. Everyone got quiet. It was just so awkward that our friends approve of us but yet our parents may not approve. Eric cleared his throat to break the silence. “It’s just going to take time.” Eric looked at me while he was giving the advice. “No matter what happens, we will support you guys.” Bruno held me close while the guys nodded in agreement. “And bro,” Eric said to Bruno “I’ll help you deal with mom and the sisters. You know they may be strange about you guys being together.” I looked nervous. “Sisters?” I asked. “Just how many sisters?” “Four” The guys said in unison. I’m doomed.

 

Chapter 14

After the picnic, Bruno dropped me off at Katie’s house. She invited him over for a while, so we sat in her backyard. “So what did you guys do this weekend?” Katie asked us. Bruno and I just smiled at each other, remembering how we spent Saturday evening. “No comment.” I said. Katie laughed and rolled her eyes. “Well, I’ll leave you girls to your gossip.” Bruno said. He leaned in and kissed me with his perfect lips. When our lips parted, we both whispered our “I love yous” and he left us girls. 
It was just Katie and me. We sat and chatted about the picnic. I told her about Eric and how their parents don’t know about me. “But do you think she would get mad?” Katie asked, crossing her legs on her chair. “I don’t know.” I responded. “But of course she would be concern because I was a student and our age gap is 8 years.” I sighed and looked down. “Phil even suggested I go with them back to Hawaii and meet the family in person but I can’t because of my parents.” Katie frowned. “Sweetie, if you want this to work, you gotta tell your parents soon.” I couldn’t help it, but I felt tears forming in my eyes. “Katie, they won’t understand. My parents will freak out and will probably ban me from seeing Bruno.” I then started full on crying. Katie sat next to me and wrapped her arms around me to comfort me. “Girl, don’t worry! Bruno loves you and I know he will take care of you forever.” Katie patted my back. “And oh gosh don’t forget, we are moving in together when school starts or-“ Katie gasped. “You can move in with Bruno!” I looked up at her and wiped my eyes. “Yes! That would be so cool and I honestly won’t mind and you will be much closer to the school and Bruno can support you since he’s a teacher and-“ “Katie what about my parents?” Katie stood up. “You are going to UCLA! You are 18! So what if they don’t approve?! Bruno will support you in any and in every way! Me and the girls will stay behind you! The guys said they will support you too! You have no worries!”
That night, my parents kept questioning me about Bruno. “So did you see him this weekend?” my mom asked me while serving me pasta. “Yes.” I said really quickly. “Where and when?” My dad asked, raising an eyebrow. “We had a cook out with his brother and friends.” “So you met his brother and friends but yet we haven’t even met him.” And like clockwork, my phone went off. I forgot to leave it in my bedroom to avoid this type of situation. I checked it under the table and of course it was Bruno. “Who is it?” My dad asked very sternly. I can tell from his tone that he knew it was Bruno. “No one.” I quickly responded. My dad sighed. “Answer it.” I looked up at him, my phone still ringing. “Oh yes answer and invite him to come over for dinner on Friday.” My mom said while waiting for me. My pulse was beating rapidly. It was quiet except for the ringing. I held my breath and answered. “H-hey Bruno.” “Hey is everything okay?” I felt a lump in my throat. “Oh I’m at the dinner table. My parents wanted me to answer the phone at the table.” My voice is shaking. My parents had big smiles while I was dying inside. “Oh no they found out or-“ “No no, they want to invite you over for dinner on Friday. They say it’s time to finally meet you.” Silence. After what seemed like forever, Bruno responded with “Are you ready for this?” I looked up through my glasses at my parents, beaming with pride. “It’s now or never.”