Chapter 17

18/02/2012 13:51
Bruno’s POV

I just couldn’t take seeing her cry like this. She kept defending me with tears in her eyes. “Dad please stop!” she said shaking. Her dad yelled at both her mother and me. “Sir, please stop this!” I couldn’t bear to watch her parents argue over us. It reminded me of how my parents fought before they divorced. I felt someone pull me away from the chaos. She held me close and I returned her comfort. Then suddenly: “You probably slept with him, huh you little slut! Sneaking away, sleeping with a fucking teacher! Who are you?!” My eyes widen. Who in their right mind would call their own daughter that! I have four sisters, if ANYONE said that to them, I would rip them to shreds. My fists clinched into a ball. Father or not, no one calls the love of my life A SLUT! But before I could react, she let go of my grip and ran up the stairs in tears. I called out her name but she doesn’t turn back. I turned to her father. “Look what you did. LOOK AT WHAT YOU DID!” I was full of rage. My fists were ready to meet his jaw. “How could you call your own daughter that?!” Her mother, crying, touched my shoulder. “Come on Bruno-,” “No look what he did!” I was now starting to tear up. “She is not your concern!” Her father said, pointing up to her room. “I love her so she is my concern!” I said, raising my voice. Her father and I were basically nose to nose about to beat the shit out of each other. But before anyone took a shot, her mother tried to intervene again. “Bruno go to the kitchen.” She pulled me away gently from her husband. “Not until I-,” “Oh I know what you want to do because so do I!” She sniffled and still was holding onto my shoulder. I looked at her father. “Bruno go to the kitchen!” Her mother demanded. 
As I walked towards the kitchen, her parents went into shouting mode. I slowly closed the door so I wouldn’t have to hear them. I sat at the kitchen table and put my hands on my head. I can’t believe this just happened. I didn’t know what to do! Even with the door close, I could still hear them. Then the door slammed and I heard her mother sob. I ran to the living room where her mother was crying on the sofa. “Oh God did he hit you?” She shook her head. “Oh no Bruno he didn’t. Don’t worry.” She stood up and wiped her eyes. I gave her a tissue and she smiled. “Oh Bruno I’m so sorry you had to witness this. I knew you guys were looking forward to tonight.” I didn’t know what to do except think of what I would do if she was my mother. I slowly gave her a hug while she sobbed silently. “Let’s go check on her.” She suggested. 
We walked up the stairs towards her room. I was a few steps behind her mother. I guess I was scared. When we got to her bedroom door, I stood behind her mother while she knocked. Then I heard the worse noise I could ever hear. “GO AWAY!!!” she screamed behind the door. She sobbed uncontrollably. Her mother stepped back and gasped. “She’s just upset still.” My heart was aching. I just wanted to break down that door, hold her in my arms, and kiss the sadness away. We both went downstairs, still in shock.”I’ll make you a plate to go.” Her mother said walking towards the kitchen. I nodded and thanked her. 
After, her mother walked with me to my car. “Bruno just give it time. She hasn’t experienced this before. Her father never had a temper like this.” I nodded. “Please Bruno,” She continued. “My husband is a good man. He is just shocked about this relationship.” “I do love her. Your husband is wrong about me.” I said, opening my car door. She smiled. “I can tell you love her. I am really happy she has you in her life.” After she walked into the house, I sat in my car for a while. I looked up at the house, trying to figure out which one was her bedroom window. I took out my phone and called Phil. “Dude! What happened man?” He said excitedly. I sniffled. “Phil, it was so bad. Can you call Ari and Eric? Tell them to meet me at my place. I don’t know what to do.”

I opened my eyes and looked around. I was still on my bedroom floor. My mother gently patted my back and held my hand. I guess her gentle touch woke me. From the sound of her voice, she sounds like she hasn’t stop crying. “Are you okay sweetie? Please say something.” I didn’t respond. My whole face was wet from my tears and my throat was burning from the screaming. I looked up at my clock. It was 5 minutes until 9. I’ve been sleeping for about 2 hours. “I’m so very sorry what happened tonight.” I sighed. I guess I should just ease her a bit. She had a hard night too. I turned my body towards her. “Mom I love him.” I whispered since my voice was almost gone. “I’m sorry I lied but I-,” She held me close. “Shh, I know. I know.” We held each other and cried. 
After a few minutes, my mom got up from the floor. She smiled at me and said goodnight. I got up too and went to wash my face. I looked in the bathroom mirror and to my surprise, my eyes were so puffy from crying so much. I also brushed my teeth and I looked in the mirror again. I couldn’t be here tomorrow if dad is coming back. If mom takes him back, then I don’t want to see him. I don’t even know if I can forgive him. I dashed out of my bathroom and packed my backpack. I slowly opened my bedroom door to check on my mom. She was crying silently in her bedroom on the other side of the hallway. I closed my door quietly and called Katie. 
As soon as she answered, my mouth went racing with the details of the night. I didn’t let Katie speak until the end. But then when she said “I already know.” “Huh?” I said. “Girl, your dad called my parents and told them everything! How you spent the night at Bruno’s when you said you were staying here and now I’m kind of in trouble for hiding your relationship with him.” “Oh Katie I’m so sorry!” But she just laughed. “It’s okay. I just can’t call you when I’m home, but I can still meet you for lunch when we are working.” “So why did you answer your phone when I called you?” I asked. “Oh!” Katie exclaimed. “Because my parents wanted me to tell you I can’t call you.” We both laughed. Since Katie couldn’t give me a ride to Bruno’s I decided to take the bus. I opened my bedroom door again and since my mom wasn’t crying, I took it as a sign that she fell asleep.

As I was walking down the street, I kept hearing thunder in the distance. Damn then I remembered it was supposed to rain. I quickly checked my backpack to see if I remembered my umbrella. I didn’t have it. I was too far from the house to go back, so I ran to the bus stop. I wasn’t so lucky. As soon as I got to the bus stop, it started pouring. I used my hoodie as shelter but it was working. I stood under the bus stop shelter but I was still soaked. The rain was coming from everywhere. Where was the damn bus?! I looked to the distance and saw headlights. I recognized it as car headlights so I stood far from the curb as possible to keep myself from getting splashed. I noticed the car slowing down and I started to panic. Oh God I’m gonna get kidnapped! As the car got closer and closer, I moved myself further back. Then I heard someone call my name from the car. I looked closely and saw it was…
“Phil?!” I smiled. “Get in!” he yelled. I made my way through the rain and got inside the car. He handed me a towel he had in the backseat and I dried myself off. “What are you doing over here?” I asked. Phil shrugged. “Bruno asked me if I can drive by your house to see if your dad came home. He’s really worried about you and your mom.” I looked down at my knees. “I’m sorry.” I said. Phil patted my shoulder. “You have nothing to be sorry about. So I’m guessing you are on your way to Bruno’s” I nodded. “I knew it!” Phil said, pumping his fist in the air.

We got to Bruno’s apartment building. “Do you need me to go with you?” Phil asked, pulling up to the curb. I shook my head. “I’ll be fine. Thanks for the ride.” I got out of the car. It finally stopped raining but my clothes were still wet and cold. I ran up the steps and into the lobby. Once I got to the elevator, time was running slower and slower to get to Bruno. I ran down the hallway and got to his door. I knocked and it seemed like forever for him to answer. 
He opened the door. His eyes were red and he was holding a bottle of scotch. He was still wearing his suit but just had his white button up shirt and his gray slacks. The shirt was unbuttoned just enough to show some of his tan chest and his chains he always wears. He looked at me like he couldn’t believe I was standing before him. He sighed and put the bottle on the table by the door. He pulled me close and kissed me. His kiss was so deep; I tasted the scotch from his tongue. I threw my backpack on the floor and wrapped my arms around his body. I unbuttoned his shirt and he closed the door.