Chapter 18

06/02/2012 11:19

3 days later and all three of us were heading back to the hospital for the results of the DNA test. I couldn’t believe that the results were back so quickly. Oh my god my heart was pounding and my head had been in the clouds all morning. I looked over at Jasper awkwardly sat in the backseat of Bruno’s car and all I could think of was what if it was Jasper’s baby? What would Bruno do?

NO DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT MELANIE. I said to myself. I looked over at Bruno who was driving and I gently laid my hand on his on the gearstick. He looked up at me and smiled and my insides melted. How he can still make me feel like that is beyond me.

Moments later we pulled up outside of the hospital and Jasper was out of the car within seconds. I seen him walk hastily into the hospital before either me or Bruno had even undone our seat-belts. I looked over towards Bruno and took his hand in mine looking into his eyes.

“So this is it?” I said, my hands trembling.

“Yeah it is,” Bruno replied, “Just so you know Mellie, whatever happens in here whether the baby is mine or not I will still love you. I will still want to treat this child like it is mine and I still want to be with you.”

I didn’t even realize that my eyes were watering until Bruno pressed his thumb to my cheek and rubbed away the moisture that had formed underneath my eye.

“Baby, I know it’s going to be okay either way.” He said to me now stroking my cheek with his thumb.

“No. It’s not that. It’s just what you said is exactly what I wanted to hear from you right now. I was worried about what would happen with us if the baby turned out to be Jasper’s. But knowing that you will stay with me either way has put my mind at rest. And even more made me impossibly love you even more Brunito.” I said. Once I had finished speaking I pulled his head closer to me and kissed him quickly on the lips. I pulled away and said, “I love you Bruno. You are the most amazing thing in my life right now. You’re like a drug to me.”

“I love you too baby. In fact I think I love you more!” He replied joking with me

I touched my finger to his nose and said, “I don’t think that’s possible Petey,” with that I moved away from him and started to get out of the car.

Before I knew it Bruno was taking my hand and pulling me towards the hospital. Just seeing the place made me shiver. Bruno put his arm over my shoulder and he started to rub my bare arm as he must have seen the goosebumps that had risen there.

***

A little while later and me, Bruno and Jasper were all sat in the doctors waiting room.

“So what are we going to do if this is mine?” Jasper randomly asked

“I’m not sure. I’m not sure that I want it if it is going to be just like you. That’s what I’m trying to get away from. You” I replied and pointed right at him when I said you.

“Oh thanks a lot Melanie. After a year and six months and this is how you treat me? After all you are possibly carrying my child! It’s not like I want it anyway.” He said, he seemed to mumble the end to himself.

“Oh Jasper. Grow up. It’s not like you would make a good dad anyway. Fucking anything that moves. If it’s yours im considering abortion.” I said to him, injectin some venom into my voice.

“No Mel! You can’t just kill a baby! And what your not going to do it if it’s that assholes?” He replied, using his thumb to gesture towards Bruno when he said the word asshole.

“No i’m not. Now shut up you ars-” We we’re interrupted by someone clearing their throat. I looked away from Jasper and I saw that it was Doctor Callaghan himself.

“Miss Franklin. If you and the possible fathers would like to come with me please” He said simply as he turned and walked towards his office.

Jasper didn’t hesitate as he stood up straight away and almost stormed after the doctor.

Once he had left I turned to Bruno.

“Oh my god I am so scared Bru. What am I…. who…. maybe….. oh shit.” I really couldn’t get my words out.

Bruno just took my hand and we started to walk after Jasper and Doc.

“Don’t worry my baby. It’s all going to be fine.” He threw his arm around me and squeezed me once. Then we walked into the doctors office and took a seat.

This was it. This was the moment of truth.