Chapter 19

10/02/2012 17:35

5 minutes later and I was literally on the edge of my seat. Why was Doc taking so long? This was killing me. Oh my god I don’t think I have ever felt my heart beat this fast. I started drumming my fingers against my leg. Bruno most have noticed my impatience as he took my hand in his and started rubbing the back of my hand with his thumb. He knew this calmed me down and so I smiled at him. Suddenly the door flew open and doctor Callaghan entered the room, all three of us jumped and whipped our heads around to the door. I noticed that Doc carried a file in his hand. Oh no, this is it. Jasper’s the father I know it. I can tell by the look on Doc’s face. Oh no. Oh no. No it can’t be, NO!

“Well as you know we’ve got the tests back.” Doctor Callaghan said addressing us all.

I looked away from his face and down into my lap squeezing Bruno’s hand. He squeezed it back instantly.

“This almost never happens. I swear.” Doc was saying I looked up when he said ‘mistake’.

“What?” I almost shouted at him.

“The scan was wrong your not 3 and a half months pregnant. You’re 2 months. It’s a rare occasion when this happens bu-” Doctor Callaghan tried replying but he was unsuccessful.

I just sat and looked at Bruno, he had the biggest smile on his face. He then looked away from me to speak to Doc, “Does this mean…”

“Yes Bruno. You are the father of the unborn child.” Doc replied.

Bruno stood up and triumphantly fist pumped the air. “IM GONNA BE A DADDY!” he started to dance. He stopped and picked me up from my chair and span me around in his arms. He planted me on my feet and took my face in his hands and pecked me on the lips. He then leant his forehead on mine and breathlessly whispered to me,

“I can’t believe we’re having a baby. Melanie I love you so fucking much, you would never understand.”

“I love you too Peter, for you I’d wait for life. You are the most amazing thing that has ever happened to m-” He stopped me talking by kissing me on the lips again. A little longer this time and we we’re interrupted by somebody clearing their throat. I looked over and it was Doctor Callaghan. He had his gaze fixed on Jasper who had his head in his hands. I shook Bruno off me and sat in the chair next to Jasper’s.

“Jasper, I’m sorry. I thought you said you didn’t want it to be yours. If I knew I wouldn’t have do-” I said to him apologetically.

“It’s not that Mel. I didn’t want to have a child. It’s just now that I have nothing to tie myself to you with. I guess it really is over.” With that he stood up and stormed out of the room.

I slowly walked back towards Bruno and he opened his arms to me and I went into them without hesitation. I looked up at him and his eyes were already on me he still had the biggest smile plastered onto his face. I left his gaze for a moment to speak to Doc.

“Thank you. You have no idea how much this means Doctor Callaghan. You are a real life saver! We’d better be going now. Again thank you.” I put a lot of emotion into the second thank you.

“It’s my pleasure Miss Franklin. I wish you and Peter all the best. And congratulations. I’ll want to see you once every month for regular check ups. We want no complications like the last time. Ring up and make an appointment please.”

“No prob-” I started to reply, but I was interrupted by Bruno,

“No problem doc. I’ll make sure my girl is here for all the appointments and I’ll take care of her outside of the hospital,” at that point he looked at me and winked. He then started to pull me towards the exit, “See you later doc.” He said over his shoulder as we left the room.

As soon as we were back to the car all I did was scream. Bruno was practically bouncing in his seat. This was the happiest that I had ever seen him. I loved it. He looked like the old him before he became so busy with his music.

We both paused our celebrations for a moment. Bruno leant over to me and kissed me, it was passionate straight away and his tongue traced my lower lip making me tremble. I bit his lip as I knew that this turned him on. I then pulled away and then just smiled at him. He was doing the same and I could feel myself melting just looking at his beautiful face.

“I love you Mellie.” He said.

“I love you Petey” I replied.

He kissed me once more and then he pulled away from the Hospital. As we pulled away I felt a little sorry for Jasper. He seemed so upset.

Why was I feeling so guilty?