Chapter 20-22

18/02/2012 12:56
Chapter 20

1 Month later and right about now my stomach was a pretty sizable bulge now. It was starting to show that I was pregnant and people were beginning to ask questions. It can only go so far when you say you’re gaining a little weight.

I hadn’t seen or spoken to Jasper since that day at the hospital and I was starting to feel really guilty about what happened. My mood was also getting worse because I was starting to think about telling my folks but I hadn’t really spoken to them since I moved to L.A so I was not looking forward to that conversation.

I was interrupted in my thoughts by Bruno bounding into the room with his hands behind his back and a huge grin playing on his lips.

“Why are you smiling at me and what are you hiding?” I questioned him and jumped up trying to grab whatever he was hiding from behind his back. But he was too quick and dodged me with ease.

“A-A-AH!” He said wagging his finger at me as if I was a naughty child, “You’re going to ruin it! I have a big speech prepared and everything babe!” He replied.

I sat down on our bed and crossed my arms pulling a sulky face as if to indicate that I was in a mood with him. Bruno sat down on the bed next to me and took my hand in one of his keeping his other hand behind his back.

“Look, I know that you’re really nervous about telling your folks. Well to be honest I’m shitting myself as well.” He paused and licked his lips, “Well I’ve planned something, you might not like it but it’s something that needs to be done. And just so you know I’ll be there to support you the whole time.”

“Bruno what have you done?” I asked him.

He didn’t reply. He simply took his hand from behind his back and placed whatever he was hiding in my hands. I looked down and turned turned the two pieces of paper in my hands. These were plane tickets. To Hawaii. For tomorrow.

“Bruno you didn’t!” I screamed.

“Good or bad screaming?” He asked me as he seemed confused by my reaction.

“GOOD! MY GOD BRUNO! WE’RE GOING HOME!” I screamed jumping up and down.

I wrapped my arms around his neck and kissed him deeply. A few minutes later I broke the kiss.

“Thank you so much Petey. This is too much. But we’re going home!” I thought for a moment, “Wait you said something that needs to be done. I’ll need supporting?” I asked him

“That’s the catch, we’re going to tell our parents. They need to know baby they’re going to be grandparents.” He replied.

“Oh who cares I’m going home!” I screamed again.

***

24 hours later and the plane was just about to land in Hawaii. I looked over at Bruno and he was asleep with his head against the window. He was so cute. His fedora was on his lap as it had fell off whilst he was sleeping and his hair was a little ruffled from sleeping.

3 minutes later and the plane touched down and Bruno woke with a jolt and he immediately seen me looking at him.

“Quit looking at me babe. You know I’m not sexy when I sleep.” He said laughing to himself.

“Oh Bru.” I said playfully punching his arm, “Look we’re here so get your ass up. Lets go!”

I was getting so excited. Getting through security and baggage claim went so quickly. I was so nervous and so excited. Our plan was to go and see my folks first as they lived closer to the airport. Then to go and see Bruno’s family tomorrow.

When we were in the taxi I started to get really shaky and my palms felt extremely sweaty. Bruno must have noticed as he started stroking my hair and rubbing my arm. This calmed me down a little.
“Don’t worry baby. It’s going to be fine. You’re parents are going to be amazing. They’ll be so happy to see you! And I’m going to be by your side the whole time.”

I didn’t know how to reply so we sat in silence for the rest of the journey.

A couple of minutes later and we pulled up outside of my childhood home. It seemed strangely haunting of the memories from my childhood and my stomach churned at the thought. I just stood there staring as Bruno took our suitcases out of the trunk of the taxi.

“Come on babe let’s just get this over with.” He said to me.

I didn’t even realize that he was already at the front door. I walked over to him and put my arm around his waist. I was so nervous now. I haven’t seen either of my parents for years and we didn’t really end on good terms. My stomach was full of butterflies.

“You ready?” Bruno asked me.

I nodded my head. With that Bruno reached out and rung the doorbell.

I prayed that they weren’t in so we could just go stay in a hotel instead.

I had no such look as I heard the door unlock and seen the door swung open.

 

Chapter 21

“Melanie!” My mom screamed as soon as she noticed it was me. She ran forward knocking Bruno out of the way and throwing herself into my arms.

She stayed there for a while but eventually she pulled away. I looked at her and she had tears in her eyes. “Where have you been for the last 5 years! I’ve missed you so much! Why haven’t you called? Why have you changed your number?” She never even stopped for breath.

“Um can I come inside mom?” I asked her as I started to feel uncomfortable stood outside.
“Yeah sure, sure.” She looked away from me and towards Bruno. “And what is Bruno doing here? Shouldn’t you be doing famous things dear?” She asked him.

“Well not really. This visit is really important and there’s something you need to know.” He replied.

“Oh dear. What is it that could be so important?” She asked him.

But instead I replied.

“Mom can you go and get dad please and we can talk about this.”

“Sure Mel.” She said and she walked away leaving me and Bruno alone.

He immediately came and stood next to me. “So far so good. Your mom seemed really happy to see you. That’s a good sign.” He put his arm around my waist and pulled me closer to him just as my mom reentered the room. Followed by my dad.

As soon as he seen me his mouth turned into a frown. When he seen Bruno next to me his eyes zoned into Bruno’s arm around my waist. I remembered. Dad never liked Bruno from the moment he met him and he especially had a thing against famous people. He thought they were all too self involved and always ended up cheating. 
“What are you doing here Melanie?” My dad demanded of me.

“There’s something important we need to talk about dad.” I replied.

“We both do.” Bruno said, squeezing me as he said this.

“I though you two broke up?” My dad asked directing the question to the both of us.

“We did. But we ran into each other again in L.A. Coincidence huh? And now we are back together.” Bruno answered but he was looking at my Mom and she had a huge smile on her face. She always did have a soft spot for Bruno.

“Hmmph.” Was all my Dad said. I thought I heard him mutter under his breath.“Can never rely on the fucking rich.”

The room was silent for two minutes. You could literally feel the tension in the air.

“So what is it you wanted to talk about?” My mom interjected as she could feel the tension in the air herself.

“Mom, Dad. Sit down please.” I said, and I waited in silence until they were sat down on the sofa.

“Well. Since me and Bruno have been back to-” I stuttered and I looked down at my hands and intertwined my fingers, “together. Things have been pretty heavy.” I paused thinking of what to say next.

“FUCKING GET ON WITH IT MELANIE!” My Dad boomed.

“I’m….. Dad…. I’m pregnant.” I managed to get out.

I heard my Mom draw in a breathe and I looked at my dad and his entire face had gone red.

“Who is the father?” My dad asked with barely moving his lips. “Please say it’s Jasper’s. He was always a gentleman.”

“No dad it’s not Jasper’s. It’s Bruno’s.” As I said it I went back to Bruno’s side and put my arm around his waist this time.

“YOU LITTLE SHIT.” My dad exploded. Fully shouting at Bruno now. “HOW DARE YOU KNOCK UP MY FUCKING DAUGHTER! YOU’RE PROBABLY OUT PARTYING ALL THE TIME BANGING ANY GIRL YOU CAN! HOW DARE YO-” Suddenly my dad broke off and horror crossed everyone’s face in the room.

I couldn’t believe my eyes as I heard his body crack and I seen his eyes flash open.

Everything seemed to move in slow motion as I seen my Dad’s unconscious body fall towards the floor.

 

Chapter 22

“QUICK CALL AN AMBULANCE!” I shouted at my mom.

“No take your dad’s car. It will be quicker.” She replied, already by my dad’s side lifting him up off the floor. Bruno was also by his side and had his arm under him ready to carry him to the car.

“Mom get the keys!” I shouted at her as me and Bruno carried my dad to the car. My mom arrived back moments later with the keys and we all piled into the car. I got into the front seat and drove full speed to the hospital, luckily we didn’t hit any stop signs along the way.

“DRIVE FASTER MELANIE! HE’S STOPPED BREATHING!!!” My Mom shouted from the back seat. As soon as the words left her mouth my stomach hit the floor.

“Mel, baby. Don’t drive too fast, it’s not safe.” I heard Bruno mumble from the backseat. I looked at him in the rear view mirror and he looked so awkward sat there with my dad stretched out over the back seat. He seen me looking at him and attempted a smile. It wasn’t right. It didn’t touch his eyes.

Moments later and we pulled up outside the hospital. Bruno and my mom carried my dad inside. I ran up to the receptionist and practically shouted, “We need help. It’s my dad he’s…. he’s stopped breathing!” At this point I broke down in tears and couldn’t say anymore. What if my dad died? It was all my fault. Stupid pregnancy.

“Miss. If you bring him this way and we’ll get him seen to right away.” The receptionist replied.

Bruno was already practically running through the door with my dad in his arms. He was so strong. Shit focus Melanie. When we reached the room a load of doctors were already there. As soon as Bruno laid him down they were all by his side. They started pressing on his chest doing CPR.

A doctor was by my side as soon as we entered with a clipboard in his hands he started asking me questions, “Miss, can you tell me the patients name? How old is he?”

“His name is David Franklin and he’s 54. Please do whatever you can to save him.” I replied.

“We’re trying our best miss. If you could….” I was no longer listening to the doctor as I heard a quiet beeping noise coming from where my dad was laid. 
Another doctor was talking to my mom“It’s okay. He’s stable for now. He had a heart attack.”

I gave my own father a heart attack. Stupid pregnancy. Why?

I felt Bruno come up behind me and he put his arms around my waist and he kissed me in the neck.

“It’s okay Mel. He’s going to be fine I promise you. The doctors know what they’re doing. It’s not your fault.” He was whispering in my ear.

My mom rejoined us. She looked heartbroken. I hated to see her like this. First of all I was pregnant and now my dad has had a heart attack.

“You two kids go back to the house. Congratulations to the both of you as well. You’re going to be great parents.” My mom said to us. When she had finished speaking she tried her best to smile at me. So I went over to her and gave her a huge hug and then rejoined Bruno and pulled him out of the room.

On the way back to the car I kept thinking about how it felt like my dads heart attach was all my fault. If I could only have told him in a better way. Maybe if I had just came back in 9 months and just introduced him. Oh I don’t know. The look on his face when he found out. He looked devastated. I know he never really liked Bruno but he was damn rude about it.

I looked at Bruno as we were walking back to the car.

“I really love you, you know.” I said to him taking his hand in mine.

“I know you do Mel. I love you too. SO much.” He replied really emphasizing the so. “I couldn’t get through another day without you. I couldn’t get through this without you right now.”

“I know Bru. It’s hard. With each other we’re going to get through. We’re going to have a baby and we’re going to be happy.” I said.

“I know we are baby.” Bruno replied with a huge smile on his face.

At this point we had reached the car and I started to walk to the drivers side.

“Um what do you think you are doing?” Bruno asked from behind me.

“What does it look like I’m doing? I’m going to drive us home.” I snapped.

“No you’re not, not after the day you’ve just had. Here let me drive.” He said walking to the drivers side and getting in.

With a huff I walked round to the passengers side and hesitantly got in. As soon as my seat belt was fastened Bruno started the car and we were speeding through the streets once again.

“Where the fuck are you going Peter?” I asked as I noticed he wasn’t going the way that led back to my house.

“Trust me.” He said simply as he reached over and squeezed my hand and winked at me.

I sighed and sat back in my seat and looked out of the window as the streets of Hawaii blurred around us.