Chapter 20

19/05/2011 17:10

As I fly down the stairs, I run into somebody. "Whoa! Lena, what's wrong?" I blink my tears away to see who's talking to me. Phred. I sputter out words that are not comprehendable and try to keep running but he grabs me. "Lena, you can't just leave." Why not? I've done it plenty of times before. "I have to.." I say. His eyes turn dark and he clenches his jaw. "I'm sorry, I should've never come here at all, Things were better the way they were." "Maybe for you.." he says. I stare at him, a little startled. He sounds angry. I've never heard Phred like that before. "Why do you care about Bruno so much anyway? As far as I'm concerned, you were friends with Brendan before him." Phred lets go of my arm. "Things change, people change." he says. "If you're gonna leave than go. But just remember who ran out on you, and who didn't when you needed someone the most." My heart feels like it's being squeezed. I give him one last look and run down the stairs. I sit on the sidewalk and call Adrian. "Hey Lena!" "I'm on my way to the airport, I should be home soon." I tell him. "Actually that's what I was gonna talk to you about. Um...Ahmity wants you to stay." I make a face. What?! "What are you talking about?" I ask him. I hear him cover the phone than, "She doesn't want to ruin your trip" I cover my face. I feel like a yo-yo. Being pulled in so many different directions. "Well I'm still coming! I'm not gonna be all the way over here when she's walking and improving. I want to be with her." I tell him. I hear him talking again. "It was only a few steps, she hasn't been able to do it again." He sounds like a robot and I can tell Ahmity's the one behind everything he's telling me. What is going on? "Lena, just stay where you are, enjoy you're trip and come home as originally planned." He's almost begging me. I shake my head, never being so confused before in my life. "Alright." I finally say. "Talk to you later." Click. I stare at my phone as the line goes dead. After a minute, I get up and make my way upstairs. I stop in front of Bruno's door and I can hear him and Phred talking. I knock lightly. They get quiet and I hear footsteps coming to the door. It opens and it's Phred. His eyes widen a little. "I thought you were going home?" he asks. Bruno pops up from behind him and opens the door wider. "Lena..." "I changed my mind." I say. Bruno smiles from ear to ear, showing off his dimples. Phred nods. "You made the right choice." he says. I have this feeling that everybody knows something I don't and that's why they want me to stay. I shrug it off and walk into the apartment. Bruno pulls me into his arms and hugs me tight. He looks at me with those brown eyes and nothing else matters. "I'm so glad you changed your mind.." he says softly. My face gets red and I pull away. Bruno looks a little hurt, but changes the subject. "I showed Phred the hook and he loved it!" He says with a smile. Phred's face lights up. "It's sick bro! I'm telling you, get a rapper on this, you'll be signed so fast your underwear will fly off, and it's guaranteed to be #1 everywhere!!" I laugh at Phred's excitement and Bruno's face when he told him his underwear will fly off. They start going over the song, talking with their faces glowing. I smile, watching them. A blind person could tell music is their true passion. I sit down on the couch and turn on the tv. They both snap their heads up and glare at me. I roll my eyes and turn it off. I go to the kitchen and open the fridge. I guess I'm going to starve. All he has is milk that's about to go bad, one egg, and some butter. I close it and shake my head. I walk to the sink and start to do his dishes, since I can't do anything else in this place while they're 'working'. As I wash them, I try to think of a reason why Ahmity wouldn't want me to come home, especially when she's making wonderful progress. I rack my brain but I can't come up with anything. Does it have to do with Brendan? Brendan. My heart drops. I'm such a bitch. I hurt him and he's the last person that deserves to be hurt. I sigh. A mess is waiting for my in Miami, but there's nothing I can do here. I just have to wait until I get home in order to sort it all out. "Babe, you didn't have to wash my dishes. I could've done that." I hear behind me. I give him a look. "When? After your grandchildren are born? They look live they've been sitting here for a year." I tell him. He leans over and laughs. "I would've gotten to it.....eventually." he says. I roll my eyes, smirking. "Whatever makes you feel better Bruno." Phred walks into the kitchen. "You? Doing dishes?" He says, making a face at him. Bruno pushes him. "You guys think I can't do dishes?!" "You do dishes like you cook." Phred says, and I bust out laughing. Bruno can make a bowl of cereal and that's about it. "I..Can cook!" Bruno says, putting his hand over his chest. I pat him on the back. "It's okay, at least you can sing." Phred slaps his leg laughing. He walks away. "Awe Bruno don't get mad!" I say. Me and Phred laugh again. He flips us off and walks to the balcony. I look at Phred. "Since when did he get so sensitive?" He raises his eyebrows. "Since you've been out of his life." He walks after Bruno. I sigh. Way to make me feel like crap Phredley. I head to the balcony to join the party. "Let's get you out man, you been too cooped up in this apartment every day. It's time you go out in the real world." I know the feeling. Bruno nods his head. "Yeah, I guess you're right." he says. They look at each other. "You thinking what I'm thinking?" he says to Phred. Phred smiles and they both say "Bar!" I raise an eyebrow. "You're only 18, and you're only 19." I tell them. They laugh. "Lena, I can get into any bar in L.A. I got it like that." he says and pops his collar. I make a face. "Oh god.." and walk away. "I guaruntee you'll have fun tonight." He tells me. "I'm not going." I say. "What do you mean!? Why not?" He says. I sit on the couch. "I don't do bars." He comes up behind the couch and pulls my head back. I'm staring at an upside down Bruno. "You don't have to drink just cause it's a bar." he says, running his fingers through my hair. "That's not why I'm not going." I say. "Come on Lena, we'll all just dance and have a good time." Phred tells me. "I don't dance." I say. Bruno laughs. I turn and smack his belly. "You're going whether you like it or not, so look pretty." He says, walking to his bedroom. "And if I refuse?" I say, my arms crossed. He stops and turns his head a little. "Phred, handle that for me." he says. Before I have a chance to say anything back, I feel myself being lifted in the air. "Phred put me down!" I scream. He tosses me in the air and catches me, than he throws me like I'm a damn basketball, at Bruno and he throws me over his shoulder. I kick my legs and punch him. He spins in a circle and I feel like I'm going to fall. I hate when he does this. "Okay! I'll go! Just put me down before you drop me you asshole!" He laughs and puts me down. I glare at him as he walks to his room with a satisfied smile on his face. Phred walks to the door. "Alright, I'm out. Call me when ya'll ready" he says and leaves. I hear the shower. I really don't want to go but, if it's gonna help him not be a hermit and make him feel better, I'll suck it up and go. After forever he gets out. "Geez, thought you were gonna drown." I tell him. He smiles. "You probably used all the hot water too." I say, smirking. He runs his fingers through his wet curls. "You should've gone in with me." He looks me up and down, biting his lip. I walk up to him. It takes everything in me to control myself from jumping on him. Why does he have to look at me like that, when he just has a towel around his waist. "I wasn't invited." I say, standing so close to him, our noses are touching. He leans forward and as hard as I try not to, I kiss him back. When I feel his tongue, I push him off, otherwise we won't be going anywhere. He licks his lips. "I hate you." I say. "I love you too." he says and kisses the top of my head. I take a quick shower and try and figure out what I'm gonna wear. Do I have anything cute enough to go out? I go in the other bedroom and dump my whole suitcase out. I look for an hour, and I have nothing. Bruno walks in. I look up and almost faint. He's not even that dressed up, just a white v-neck and gray skinny jeans, a gray fedora and his glasses. But something about him, just makes me go crazy. "You look..nice." I say. He tilts his hat. "I know." he says. I roll my eyes and push him. "Get out so I can get dressed." I say. "Why can't I stay?" He says, coming closer. "Absolutely not." I say and push him out the door. I close it and lean against it. Oh god. After what seems like years, I decide on a red off the shoulder top with dark skinny jeans and my good ol red Nike high tops. Great now my hair. Bruno pounds on the door. "Lena, are you done yet?" He yells. "Almost!" I say. I stare at my hair for awhile. I straighten it, but it looks too plain. I have it like that every day. I curl it, let my bangs hang down and put a bump in it. I throw on some eyeliner and lip gloss. Something's missing. I look back at my clothes and grab my leather jacket. I put it on and walk out the door. "Finally dang I thou--" His jaw drops as he stares at me. My face gets red. I don't really dress up a lot. "Bruno, stop staring at me." I tell him, glad that my bangs are hiding my face. He walks up to me and tucks them behind my ear. "You look beautiful." He says, staring in my eyes. My legs turn to jelly. He starts to lean forward but I walk towards the door. He looks down for a second and follows me. We go down the stairs in silence. Phred pulls up just as we walk outside. He has his long dreads tied up with just a couple hanging down in front of his face. "Are you ready bro?!" he yells, bobbing his head and dancing. Bruno looks at him funny. "You start without me?" He asks. Phred keeps dancing. "Maybe." he says. "Oh hell! Get out I'm driving." Bruno says. Phred gets out of the car and starts dancing in the street. I bust out laughing. Bruno shakes his head. I lead Phred to the car. "Lena!.. You look beautiful." he says, rubbing his hand across my face. "Thank you Phredley." I say, pushing him in the back seat. I get in and Bruno burns rubber as he pulls off. The whole way there, Phred is talking nonsense and dancing. I can't help but laugh, especially since Bruno looks so serious. "Bro, what the fuck is up?!" Phred says. Bruno raises his eyebrows and looks at him through the mirror. We finally get to the bar. It's actually more of a club. My stomach is in knots. I've never been to a club before. And I don't dance. The walk to the doors seems endless. I stay behind Bruno, his hand gripping mine tightly. He talks to a couple guys who keep eyeing me. Bruno goes behind me and puts his hands on my waist and walks in the doors. The club is packed, and hot. Bruno doesn't let my hand go and heads to the bar. Phred already has a drink and is on the dance floor. I feel very out of place and uncomfortable. I keep shifting my weight and I don't know what to do with my arms. Bruno comes to my rescue when he sits on the bar stool and puts me on his lap. As guilty as I feel doing it, I feel relieved at the same time. I watch as the bartender brings Bruno drink after drink and he downs them like a glasses of water. It kinda makes me sick to my stomach. Bruno never really drank. Maybe once or twice when we were in high school, and when he would go out to parties, but not like he depended on it. The way he looks now. Before I know it, he starts bobbing his head and moving his shoulders, like Phred. His eyes look droopy and glassy. Great. "Lena.." He says, swaying from side to side. "What?" I say. He leans forward and almost falls. I hold him up and he starts giggling. "Lena.." he says again. I make a face cause I can smell the alcohol on his breath. "What Bruno?" He giggles again. "I love..you." He says. "Okay Bruno." I say. "NO! You're not lissstening to meee Lenaa." He slurs, grabbing my face. I pull his hands down. He stumbles off into the sea of people. I look around, wanting to cry. I sit down and try not to look too lame. A really old, bald guy sits next to me. "Hey beautiful." he says, looking me up and down. "Hi" I say, not wanting to look at him. "Can I get you a drink?" He asks, smiling. Some of his teeth are missing and the ones he has are black. "No thank you." I say, looking the other way. He laughs. "Come on! It's just one drink, don't be rude." He says, grabbing my arm. "Don't touch me!" I yell, trying to get out of his grasp. He tightens his grip and I cry out a little in pain. "Get off of me!" All of a sudden, he's on the floor and all I see is fists and curly hair. "Don't ever fuckin touch her!" Bruno yells, punching him in the face. "Bruno stop!" I grab him by his shirt, but he goes back down for more. When I see blood on his knuckles, I start shaking. I know it's not his blood. "Bruno! Stop!" I force myself in front of him and push him. Phred shows up from somewhere, his eyes wide. He looks at Bruno, me and than the guy on the floor. He puts the pieces together and than jumps on the guy and starts punching him. "Phred!" Oh god, dealing with 2 drunk, violent idiots is not my idea of a good time. I manage to get him up and when I turn around Bruno's already getting kicked out of the club. Me and Phred push past people as fast as we can, but by the time I get out of the door, I see the boys, putting Bruno in handcuffs and sitting him in the back of a police car.....