Chapter 36

04/09/2011 11:39

The Past month was hectic as all hell. Not only were we planing for the wedding but mama was no where to be found. The first week I didn't worry but as the days went by, I began to wonder and worry about her where abouts. Once I drove up and down this city looking for her but, no such luck with finding her.

But on a good note, Alisia was starting to come back to life which made me all warm inside because before, she wouldn't leave Phreds side and he wouldn't leave hers but it started to get strange when she couldn't even go to the bathroom by herself without screaming in the stall for Phred. It was sad to see her like that and who ever did this to her was going to get it. He or she was going to get it real bad.

Maria on the other hand was acting really strange, she and Phil were barely seen together and every time I would ask her about it, she would get all shook up and run away. She barely even want to help with the wedding..she was just so distant and Phi was never joshing around like he used to but just all gloomy and not himself, Kenji asked me what was up with Phil and Maria but I just told him, I have no clue. It was to the point that it was taking effect on their music.

The guys were always in the studio, trying to make another hit song but Phil wouldn't do the vocals right or just wouldn't feel the music as Bruno would say. Bru was frustrated because he wanted everything to be perfect, for the wedding to go as planned and to make another record but it just wasn't going that way. I barley seen him unless he came home to sleep but that was it. It was hard because I felt like I was really planning it all by myself. Alisia was still messed up and Maria was no where to be found half of the time. Maybe this was a bad Idea..

I sat up and looked up, Bru was gone but there was a note, which was nothing UN-normal about that. He always left a note on the bed before he left & it was always the same thing. “I had to go to the studio,blahzy blah, I love you Love Bruno.” Today was the big day and Bruno better not be late, we worked so hard to make this right.

I tossed the note in the trash and got off the bed and stretched, I heard Jojo crying. I knew it was him because he liked to get up first, walking over to the room I heard the door knock.

“HOLD ON!” I screamed

I went into the twin’s room and seen Jojo standing up in his crib wailing away with the whole drama face going on. Jojo had Tears and all while Linda was sitting in her crib just staring at Jojo, like she was annoyed with him crying. I walked over to Jojo and he held his little hands out, I picked him up but then Linda stood up in her crib and someone started pounding on the door again.

“HOLY JEEZE OH MAN! I'M COMING! GOSH!” I screamed

Grabbing both screaming twins, I run downstairs to try to open the door. With two babies in my arms, there's no way I was opening the door so I put them on the living room floor, run to the door and swing it open. Surprisingly It was Pete, Bruno's dad.

“Well hello Alicia, did I catch you at a bad time.” he asked

“Oh, No no no Mr. Hernandez I was just..why don’t you come in?” I said

“Thanks, I was starting to think you didn’t allow older cats in”

“No, that’s not true.” I said with a laugh

“Golly, I know I'm small but I think I need a little bit more room to come in.”

“Oh, sorry.” I said with a smile

“It’s cool darling and call me Pete if you'd like”

I smiled and laughed a little while I opened the door to let him in. He walked right over to the twins and squat down to their level. Linda was staring at him while Jojo had his arm all opened wide for him to pick him up. He sat down and reached over into their toy chest and pull out some blocks and started to play with Jojo. He tried to play with Linda but she just grabbed some blocks and played with herself, after a while Pete gave up.

“So, what brings you here Mr. Hernandez.” I ask

“Oh, so i'm not welcome?” He said with a smile

“Yes, you're always welcome but you know you...never stop by.”

“Well, that's going to soon change. I need to see my grandchildren more.”

“Yeah..Good.”

“So, where's Bruno?”

“Oh..he's at the studio like always, ya know. Music business as always.”

Pete smiled and shook his head. He started to stack the blocks up but Jojo kept knocking down the blocks and clapping his little hands together. Linda crawled over to Pete and sat in his lap and started to play with Jojo, he smiled and kissed the top of her head.

“You know I sing too.” Pete said

“Oh do you?” I asked

“Yeah, & I play all sorts of instruments too.”

“Oh,so that's where Bruno gets it from.”

“Yeah, you could say that..i remember when I used to do what he does.”

“What do you mean?”

“I used to perform and go to the studio and do little gigs in clubs and bars.”

“Really?”

“Heck yeah! What? Did you think this old cat just sat around when I was a boy?”

“No it's just..i really don't know you all that well.”

“Exactly, you don't know me.”

“What?”

He kissed Linda & rubbed Jojo on his head and stood up. He looked me right in the eye and I looked him right back. It was as if he was trying to intimidate me with a certain look but oh no buddy, it's not working.

He folded his arms and leaned on the door framed and stared me down with a look of anger into his eyes. I didn't understand why he was doing what he was doing but he needs to stop, as in right now because right now, I don’t have time for the bull shit.

“I Said you don't know me, nor do you know Bruno or E or anyone in our family.” he said

“Excuse me but I may not know a lot about E but I know him & of course I know Bruno.” I said

“What makes you so sure that you know him huh?”

“Because I do. I know all about him.”

“Oh so you think?”

“No, I know.”

“Now listen here Alicia, you may know him now but you don't know him then.”

“What do you mean?”

“His past Alicia, do you know anything about him before he even met you?”

“...He don't like to talk about his past.”

“and you're OK with that?”

“No but..”

“No? Then why are you so quick to marry him?”

“Because I LOVE him!”

“Ha!..Love..it's imaginary Alicia, it don’t exist it's just an excuse to fuck someone.”

“Oh Hell no, you're not coming up in MY house questioning me about how I feel about Bruno!”

“See how you still call it your house? I bet he still has his clothes packed up in a suit case..He don't feel belonged here Alicia, he just knows it's not going to work out but he's just going with it because he got no where else to stay but my place.”

“....No That's not true..”

“Alicia think about it, you don't know anything about him except of what you think you know. You don’t know anything about his past & you might not be apart of his future. ”

“But our Wedding is today and he purposed to me!”

“Because he's stuck here Alicia.”

For once in my life, I had nothing to say. I was drawing a blank on what to even say because,and I hate to say this,he was right. Now that I really think about it, I only know what I know now and Bruno unpacked his clothes I know he did because his suitcase is put away. I’ve tried plenty of time to get him to talk about him but he always turns it around on me.

I Looked over at Mr. Hernandez and tears start to well up in my eyes. I put my head down because I hated the fact that he was right about everything. I basically love a man that I don’t know barely anything about.

“Why are you doing this to me?” I asked

“Look, I didn't come here to start trouble. I just want you to be sure that you're making the right choice & you live your life with no regrets.” Pete said

Looking down at the ring on my finger, a tear falls upon it. I mean we have children together but that's all I can think of right now that's keeping us together. I mean I know he loves me but is he really in love with me like how I am with him? Is that the reason why he wants to marry me? Or for me to marry him? Or am I just used to being around him that it just makes sense.

I shook my head. No. Stop this Alicia. He's wrong, I know he is, I feel that he is. I lifted my head up and looked Pete right into his eyes. My mouth tasted angry but i'm a lady, & I refuse to have someone try to get into my head right before my wedding.

“Get out, how dare you come up in OUR house and try to put this bullshit into my head.” I said

“It's not..” he said as I cut him off

“No, shut up. You listen to me Mr. Hernandez, I know that Bruno is in love with me, that he loves me. If he didn't love me, he wouldn't of fought so hard to get me back. He wouldn't of taken me back, he wouldn't of been so excited for me to have his children, he wouldn’t make Love to me, he wouldn’t do any of that.”

“It's all a show Alicia i'm..”

“No it's not..you know what? You're jealous aren't you?”

“Why would I need to be jealous of him?”

“Because you're alone, no one comes visits you except customers to get their instruments fixed. No one to love you and I feel bad. Your hurting and I know of this, I can see it in your eyes but that does not give you the right to make Bruno feel how you feel nor anyone else. Don’t you want him to have what you don’t have? Love? Don't you want him to have love?”

Pete didn't say anything. Now he was the one who was silent. He had this blank look on his face but I know he's just hiding his emotion because he's quiet. I hit a sweet spot and now he got no slick come back to say to me.

As I looked at him, my anger melted away. I feel bad. Shit, maybe I shouldn't of said that to him. No, it had to be said. I understand that he's hurting for Bruno's mom leaving him but he needs to move on. And me saying those words to him are just the reality check that he needs.

I walk over to him but he just puts his hands up. It was like he was defeated and that made me feel really guilty about what I said.

“Look...i'm sorry..” I said

“No, no no...you're right and I think I should leave now. Many blessings to you and peter.”

“Thank you..”

He bent down to kiss the twins and walked over to me. He put his hand on my shoulder, smiled then walked towards the door. He looked back and looked at me then turned back towards the door and walked out.

I looked at the clock and started to get things moving, grabbing the twins, I put them in their highchairs, fed them, gave them a bath which was wet for my and got the, dressed for the wedding. I put a little bow in linda's hair but she was so worn out from all the movement so, I layed her down. Jojo always fell asleep after a bath and a feeding so he was already in his crib.

Walking out of their room, I started to think back on what Pete had said“I bet he still has his clothes packed up in a suit case..” I started to twitch. Of course his clothes are put away, he's settled in our house. He knows he's home here..he belongs. Right?..

As fast as I could, I ran to the room and flung the door opened. I stared at Brunos dresser in terror. What if I go in there and the drawers are empty? Fear kept me at the door as I stared at the dresser of answers. I feel like if I go over there & check, i'm doubting him and if I check & there's clothes, i'm going to feel so ashamed of myself for doubting him. But if they're empty..then pete's right and I don’t want him to be right.

With the anticipation killing me, curiosity and doubt washes over me. I walk over towards his dresser and put my hand on the handle...The phone rings and I look at it. I keep staring at it but my hand is still on the handle of his dresser. The phone rings again, maybe this is a sign? I take a deep breath and let go of the handle. I go over to the phone and answer.

Hello?” I say

..mejor amiga..”

Maria?”

Si..”

Maria what's wrong?”

She started crying and mumbling in Spanish but I wasn't sure what she was saying. She was speaking so fast that I was lost.

Maria?! Maria! Calm down amiga, I can't understand you.” I said

Lo siento Alicia, lo siento..”

What are you so sorry for maria?”

For acting this way towards you and Alisia & being selfish.”

No no no maria, it's OK.”

No it's not!..i'm taking it out on you guys and that's not right.”

What's wrong maria?”

..Phil asked me to marry him..”

WHAT?!?! I'M SO...”

No Alicia, I said no..”

Oh..god maria..”

I know, I know but I just can't after..”

I know..you don't have to explain..dose Phil know about it?”

I've tried to tell Philippe but I freeze up & I hate that I do..i know he's tired of me but i'm trying Alicia, i'm trying so hard because I love him Alicia & you know how I feel about that word”

Damn..”

He told me that he's in love with me & I feel the same way..”

Maria have you told him?”

Told him what?”

That you love him?”

um..no.”

Huh...Maria, I think you need to talk to him.”

I can't I messed up..”

If he loves you like he says he does, then he'll take you back.”

What if he doesn't?”

He will.”

Esta usted seguro de eso?”

Maria i'm sure. I'm positive.”

Ok and Gracias chica.”

Anytime.”

Ok, but come outside so we can pick up Alisia and get ourselves ready.”

Wait, you're outside?”

Yeah..well a block up”

How are you on the phone with me then?”

Pay phone.”

Oh, OK.”

Well, i'll see you in a minute.”

Ok, bye.”

Adios”

I hung up the phone and sighed. Holly jeez oh man, I can't believe he proposed to her. I felt bad for him because I doubt if he knows anything but Maria has got some explaining to do tonight. Nothing was going to be right with them until she did.

I hopped in the shower, washed my hair, brushed my teeth and put on a robe. I sat on the bed till I heard honking and grabbed the twins bag and them and ran out the door. Maria got out and she had rollers in her hair and her mascara was all down her face. She helped my put the sleeping kids in the car and then we hugged.

Everything is going to be OK.” I said

iBelieve you.” Maria said

Ok,”

You ready.”

As always.”

This time no laundry.”

None.”

Ok bueno.”

We got into the car and drove off. I started to get really nervous,Oh Dear Lord, Please don't let this day be an Disaster...