Chapter 43-45

16/12/2011 18:38

Chapter 43

“Oh yeah. I’m a pimp.” he said putting her down dancing out of the room.

“I can be a pimp too. You couldn’t have done it without me…” she told him.

“You’re right…” he said pulling out a bottle of water handing it to her.

“Oh, thank you…” she said twisting the cap. He looked at her again.

“What?” she asked caught up caught by his intense look.

“Isela….” he started. “This is so amazing…”

“But we can’t tell anyone.” she told him as he got closer to her. “Because we don’t know if the baby will make it…”

“Isela…I got you. We’ll get through this and add a little Brunito, too.” he soothed her.

“Why are you crying?” he asked her.

“Because I don’t know if I should be happy or scared shitless. “ she told him as he looked into her eyes.

“You can be both. We can be both…” he kissed her head.

**

Three days later they sat in the doctor’s office waiting to see Dr. Garcia.

“What if the tests were wrong, Bruno?” she asked him.

“They aren’t wrong. We’re having a baby…and everything will be perfect.” he said taking her hand. The nurse came out smiling at them.  “Are you guys ready?” she asked. They stood up following her into the office.  Isela had her blood pressure tested and was weighed just as normal.

“Well, well…look who came back to me…” Dr. Garcia said in a sweet voice. “And we’re here today to make sure we’re pregnant?” she asked them.

Isela smiled nodding her head. The younger nurse stood in the corner waiting for her cue to take Isela’s blood. Bruno cringed at the sight of the needle going into Isela’s arm. “Oh god…” he said under his breath. 

“You are such a wimp. You’re going to have to deal with a lot more than this…” she told him.

“I know….remember I puked after I got my stitches.” he reminded her making her laugh.

“God, I wish I had seen that.” she said putting her arm down with a clear band-aid over it.  He ran his finger over the band-aid.

“Ouch.” he responded with fake pain in his voice.’

“Okay, you two. I’ll be back in a few minutes with Dr. Garcia.” the nurse told them.

“What if we were wrong?” she asked him again.

“We’re having a baby, Isela. There’s no if ands or buts about it.” He told her. “I know it.”

“I hope you’re right.” she responded.  She stood up walking toward an older poster describing the three trimesters in detail. “It says pregnant sex is good for you…” she said turning around winking at him. “But…that in the first trimester you will feel the most sick.” she continued to read. “And my boobs triple in size…”

“Yeeees.” he answered her.

“Eww. They’re going to get huge…” she looked down at her stomach.

He stood up looking over her head at the poster…”And look..this is how big Brunito is right now…” he pointed to a pea sized baby.

“I love how you think it’s a boy. Could your family have any more boys in their family? Like for real. Your mom told me, after I told her we went to the doctor, that she wants us to have girls…and lots of them.”

“There will be plenty of time for girls. You gotta have a boy first to protect his sisters.” He told her.

“Aww. That’s cute. I can deal with that…” she told him as the doctor opened the door with two pieces of paper.

“What does it say?” Bruno asked her.

“Congratulations, guys.  You have an 8 week old baby.” Isela felt a tear come down her cheek as the doctor started to tell them when her next appointment would be.  “And then we’ll find out the sex of the baby…and get you pictures…” Isela came back to the conversation when the doctor said sex.
 

“I’m sorry..when is that?” Isela asked.

“Mid December…” the doctor responded. “

“Okay…thank you…” Isela answered holding on to Bruno’s arm.

“Oh…and I want to see you every four weeks instead of 8…just to make sure everything is going okay…since you are high risk.” Dr. Garcia finished.  “So I’ll see you right before Thanksgiving…” the doctor said.

They walked out of the office scheduling her next appointment. “I know you can’t be at this one…” she glanced over at the calendar the receptionist had placed in front of them.   “You won’t be here for the next two…wait three…appointments.” she said. “But it’s okay…” she said looking at him.

“I’ll find a way, Iselita. I’ll find a way to be here. How about October 28th?” he suggested.

Chapter 44

“Shit, girly…it’s like Knocked Up in here.” Veronica told Isela after she walked out of the bathroom.

“Oh. Oh….oh my god. It kind of is isn’t it?” Isela asked her co-worker.

‘Have you taken the pregnancy test yet?” Veronica asked. Everyone knew that she and Bruno were trying to have children, but it wasn’t a known fact that they had gone to Dr. Protaska.  Maggie walked by as Veronica finished saying “test” and turned around quickly.

“Isela! Are you serious?! When? Oh my gosh!” Maggie burst out.

“Shhh.” Isela said quietly putting up her finger to her mouth.

“Oh..we’re not talking about it?” Veronica asked.

“No. Not yet. It’s too early. And…and I don’t want anything to happen to the baby.” Maggie leaned in closer to ask her about everything.

“When? How long? Was it the ovulation kit? You can’t be that far along…”

“We found out last week…so no it couldn’t have been the kit…so nine weeks. And I feel horrible..both in the morning and at night. It’s like there’s two babies in there kicking me.”

“Having morning sickness in the morning means you’re having a boy. At night it’s a girl. Wait! You are a twin…what if?” Veronica asked.

“Oh god. I don’t even want to think that. One will be enough. Quite enough. Bruno’s my own personal 11 year old.” she laughed.

“No shit. Put all of our husbands together and we can open a daycare..” Maggie trailed off.

“Serious, Maggie; Don’t say anything.” Isela yelled at her co-worker.

**

Bruno sat at a desk at his sister’s office. Papers and posters were all over the place as she and her staff got ready for another Bruno themed fundraiser. Jamie was on the ground writing on posters outlining her social media plan while Bruno flipped through his blackberry.  He jumped as it buzzed.

            Work girls know. I got sick this morning. They saw me.

                        You were the one that didn’t want to tell anyone. I would have told everyone three                         days ago.

                                    What should we do?

                                                What do you want to do?

                                                            I don’t know. You decide. It’s too hard.

                                                                        Tell the whole world that I’m a pimp.. and a sex                                                                                     dragon.

                                                                                    God. Shut up. I’m okay with that. It just                                                                                                 scares me a little.

                                                                                                Don’t be scared. I’m here for you.

“Bruno..who are you talking to?” Jamie asked him looking up at his fast fingers.

“Isela.”  he answered her.

“Oh. How is she today?”

“Pregnant.” he smiled at his sister.

“No!” Jamie got up from her seat to hug her brother.

“I am so fucking happy!” she screamed.

“We weren’t going to tell anyone…but it’s too hard not to.” he continued to smile at her.

“Seriously, Bruno. You have to tell everyone. Like right now. “ Jamie told him.

“No. We’ve gotta make it like a huge event. Like epic.”

“I’m sure you will…” she answered him going back to her posters. “Now help me, Brunz..you gotta at least be useful while your visiting me…”

Chapter 45

“No, Bruno. It can’t be epic. Does everything have to be awe inspiring? Yes we’re happy, scared, amazed, shocked…but can’t we just tell everyone over dinner how excited we are? What do you want to do? Tweet it? Have us do an interview together? The wedding was crazy enough. When we have the baby we can go nuts. I just want to make sure everything is okay. I still have this eerie feeling that something is wrong. And you know I only get that way when things are going to go wrong. Oh my gosh, Bruno. I’m still scared.” Isela paused going from angry to confused to in tears.

He was sitting across from her at the kitchen table watching her emotions change. I don’t know what to do to make her feel better. There’s nothing I can say to take away that feeling. I just…I don’t understand it. “Isela…” Bruno got up standing behind her chair wrapping his arms around her neck leaning down to kiss her on the head. “There’s nothing I can say to make you feel better. If you’re feeling like there’s something wrong then we need to go to the doctor. Like yesterday.”

She pulled away from his embrace to start to say something. “Sit down…” she pleaded with him. He took a seat in the chair next to her looking at her with the same concern he had before. “Bruuu…I’ve felt this weird since the wedding. Like, there’s something I can’t shake. I’ll have good days when I feel completely okay and then all of the sudden I get this tense, uneasy feeling that my world is just going to change and not in a good way.”

“I won’t let anything happen to you…or you….” he pointed emphatically to her stomach. She smiled at him. “Now, Brunito…you have to take care of mama for me. She really needs us right now. Okay?” he said leaning down to kiss her bump.

“Bruno…” she paused running her fingers through his hair. “We’re going to have a Selena…” she told him.

“I can hold on to hope, Selly.” he said grabbing her hands to get her out of her chair. “I love you…” he finished kissing her sweetly.

“Thank you.” she said returning his kiss.

**

Isela laid in their bed stretched out on her back. Four months pregnant she was finally becoming uncomfortable sleeping on her stomach finding it hard to sleep the way she usually did. Bruno was in the studio, again, but they had figured everything out. At least she could have the whole bed that night.

She stretched out opening her eyes seeing her mother sitting on the edge of their low bed.

“Preciosa, ¿qué es su problema? Estas muy ocupada con la vida…” her mother leaned over pushing hair out of her eyes.

Translate:  Precious, what is your problem? You are very worried about life.

“Mama, no puedes decirme que va a ocuir. Y esto es lo que necesito saber para tener un sentinimiento mejor. No creo que hay nada más que va a resolver mis sentienmientos ahora en vez de sabiendo mi futuro, nuestro futuro.” Isela touched her stomach to emphasize the we in the conversation.

Translation: Mama, you can’t tell me what is going to happen. What I need is to know to have a better feeling. I don’t think there is anything more that is going to resolve my feelings now except knowing my future, our future.

“Iselita…tiene fe en su familia. Tiene fe en Bruno, sus doctores, sus hermanos, todo quien está en su vida. Qué necesitas saber es como tener fe.”

Translation: Isela, have faith in your family. Have faith in Bruno, your doctors, your brothers and sisters. Everyone that is in your life. What you need to know is how to have faith.

“Pero, mami…entiendes el senitimiento de las madres…y yo tengo esto. Tengo miedo que debo ser la persona más feliz del mundo. Algo muy malo está cerca.”  Isela felt her mother hesitate trying to find a way to confort her. Without telling her what to expect in the future there was no way to make her feel better.

Translation: But mommy, you know a mother’s feeling. And I have this. I have fear instead of being the happiest person in the world. Something very bad is close.

“Tiene fe, mi amor. Voy estar todo el tiempo. Estoy aquí.” Her mother kissed her head and was gone.

Translation: Have faith, my love. I am going to be here all the time. I am here.

“Isela….wake up…wake up…” Bruno whispered sitting on the same spot of the bed her mother was sitting. He touched her face gently enough to be comforting careful not to startle her out of her sleep.  “I’m here…I’m here…” he soothed her wrapping his arms around her facing her.

“I have to have faith, Bruno. I have to have faith that everything is going to be okay. Nothing is going to happen. We’re going to have a perfect baby in June. Everything will be perfect. I don’t need to worry; I just need to have faith. Faith…” she said slowly closing her eyes falling into his chest asleep.