Chapter 59

29/01/2012 11:15

Evie rolled over in the bed throwing Bruno’s phone across the room.”Damnit.” she said to herself stretching out in the bed.

”Let it snooze, Eve..” Bruno said to her throwing his arms around her so she couldn’t get out of the bed.

”I can’t.” she told him throwing his arms back. ”I have an interview for a summer internship and then class all day…” she told him.

”Quit school. Come with me.” he said with his eyes closed in a half awake voice.

”Oh yeah. Because that would be a really good idea, Bruno.” she told him standing up leaning over to kiss his closed eyes. ”Get up. You leave in 2 hours.”

”Fine..fine..fine….I’ll be up by the time you’re dressed.” he told her turning around to go back to sleep.

Evie jumped in the shower in his master bedroom  looking up in the skylight at the blue sky. Hmm…it really is pretty. She thought to herself through her shower. She grabbed the bright red towel wrapping herself in it catching a bit of his smell on the towel. She looked in the mirror touching the things he hadn’t put in his suitcase yet lingering on his cologne. She grabbed it smelling it putting a bit on her wrist. She opened the door to see Bruno still asleep in the bed. ”Bruno…I’m naked.” she yelled at him.

”What? Don’t lie to me…” he said tuning around to see her standing in a button up shirt and black pants. ”You’re a liar!” he yelled at her getting out of bed.

”Well you’re lazy…” she told him sitting on the bed to put on her shoes.

”I’m gonna be on a plane for 26 hours. Give a guy a break. Geez.” he told her.

”Okay. Okay. I’m sorry.” she told him putting her arms around him to hug him. ”Even if it was two days I’m still going to miss you. Thank you for coming yesterday.”

”I’m glad I was able to go.” he told her laying on her shirt. ”Did you put o my stuff?” he asked her.

”Umm…yeah.” she told him.

”What, stealing my shirts and bleeding on my jackets isn’t enough? Now you’re taking my cologne?” he joked with her. ”I didn’t take it. I just put a little on…” she said standing up to get her bag.

”Fine. That’s fair.” he told her smiling at her from the distance. ”Do you have everything?” he asked her.

”Well, I’d like to put you in my trunk, but I don’t think Brandon would appreciate that.” she answered.

”Aww. I’m sorry.” he said stretching up to kiss her in her shoes. She slipped them off quickly, something she had learned to do, to hug him tightly before leaving the house.

”I’m miss you, B.” she said feeling his lips kiss the top of her head.

”I’ll miss you more.” he told her watching her pick up her shoes to walk out the door. ”Wait…” he called out to her as she opened the door to her car. He walked over to her catching her confused face.

”What?” she asked him.

”I just want to kiss you one more time.” he told her pressing his lips against hers.

”If you keep doing that I’m really going to be late.” she told him grabbing the handle for the door. ”Good bye Bruno…” she kissed him on the cheek backing the car out watching him walk slowly to the door.  ”Quit being such a baby, Bruno. You’ll forget about me the second you get on stage. Geez.” she told herself as she listened to the radio on the way to her interview at the Alliance of Child Welfare.

**

”Bruno…what happened yesterday?” his sister asked him on the plane.

”Oh…umm..Lucy proposed for me.” he laughed.

”She did what?” Jamie asked

”Yeah…we were walking out and she was all you can be my dad…and then you can marry my mom.” Bruno said.

”Oh my goodness. What did she say? Please tell me the two of you are engaged.” Jamie told her brother.

”Oh yeah…we’re getting married the second I get back here.” he told his sister sarcastically.

”Oh, good. Because I think dad would kill you.” she answered him.

”We talked about it. I mean…yes. Of course I want to marry her, Sissy. I want to marry her. I want to be everything Sean wasn’t to Lucy. And I want to be with her for the rest of my life. I loved her from the moment I met her. But right now? No. I’m not even home for more than a month. I can’t do that to them.” Bruno told his sister.

”You’re serious?” she asked him.

”Yeah…I really do. She means everything to me. They both do. I want to do everything to make them both happy. And be there for them when they need me.” Bruno told his sister.

”That’s incredibly thoughtful, Brunz.” she replied.”Have you asked her dad about it?”

”I’m going to ask him next time I’m home.” he answered. ”I already know what ring she wants.”