Intro&Chapter 1+2

19/04/2011 14:40

 My girl Flyyintomars gave me the courage to put a story out there, and her's inspired me to write one with Bruno in it lol...I hope ya'll love it as much as hers...

*Intro*

I can hear the screams ringing in my ears.  Even way back here in the dressing room, the floor rumbles from the band onstage.  I look around and feel lonlier than ever.  What I wouldn't give to be back in Brooklyn right now.  I curl up my legs under me and leaf through a Vibe magazine.  I come to the page with Bruno on it and stare.  It's still weird to think of him as 'famous'.  I hear the final bang bang bang of the drums and the rumbling stops.  Only the screams remain.  Half a minute later, the door bursts open and in comes a sweaty, pumped up Bruno.  "Whoo! Paris is amazing!" he yells, and throws himself at the other end of the couch.  I smile, not wanting to let him know that something's wrong.  "What's wrong?" he asks.  How silly of me to think Peter wouldn't notice I wasn't okay.  I shake my head and get up from the couch.  He follows me with his eyes.  "Lena..."  I throw a towel at him.  "Here, you sweaty pig" I say with a smirk.  He smiles and wipes his face.  "Paris is amazing, I still can't believe I'm here." I say.  He gets up and stands in front of me.  I stare into his brown eyes, melting more with every second.  He's standing so close, I can almost feel his breath on my lips.  My heart is beating so fast and loud I can hear it in my ears.  I wonder if he can hear it?  The door opens and in walks Claudia.  He turns so fast, I can feel the wind.  "Hey baby!" he says and walks over to kiss her.  I turn my head and pretend to look for something in my purse.  "Hey Lena, I haven't seen you in awhile, how's it going?" she asks me.  I put on my famous fake smile and say "Great! Don't you love Paris!?"  She gushes on about where Bruno's going to take her and what they have planned.  The rest of the band walks in.  I catch Eric's eye.  He stares at me, than at Claudia, than back at me.  His face hardens and he shakes his head.  I shrug and act as if I don't care.  Beside's my heart, Eric is the only one who knows that I've been in love with Bruno since long before the fame.  Long before 'Bruno Mars'.  When he was just, Bruno. 

 

Chapter 1

I lean my chin in my hand as i watch his hands fly across the guitar strings. His fingers move so fast and swift it almost doesn't look real. The corners of my mouth twitch up into a small smile. His jaw is tightened and his eyebrows are furrowed in deep concentration as he strums the last few cords. He shakes his head, upset. "What?" I ask. He puts the guitar down and lays back on my bed. The bustle and hustle sounds of New York are muffled from my bedroom. He sighs. "I need to get out of here Lena." he says. I look around. "Okay, I mean my room is a little messy, but if you wanna leave..." He bursts out laughing and sits up. "You know what i mean." I smile, loving that i made him laugh. I love his laugh. "I gotta get out of Brooklyn, I need to be around a different atmosphere." he says. "Your only 18, where you gonna go in this world and survive with no job?" I say. "I have a job!" he says, pretending to be hurt. I laugh. "Oh yeah, sorry forgot bout kareokee night." His jaw drops. "Is that what you call it?" I cover my mouth, trying to hide my smile. He jumps off the bed and throws me over his shoulder. I hate when he does that. "Bruno put me down!" "Not until you take it back." He says, spinning in a circle. I scream. "What are we, in 3rd grade again?!" "Take it back!" "Put me down!" "Take it back!" "No!" He spins faster. "Kareokee! Kareokee! Kareokee!" I say, over and over. "Now who's in 3rd grade?" he says and pretends to drop me. I scream again. He finally drops me on the bed. I stick my tongue out at him. He smiles, "I love your maturity." he says. He sits down. "I'm serious Lena." He says, referring back to the whole "getting out of Brooklyn" talk. Talks like this have been happening more lately, ever since we graduated. He lays his head on my lap. I run my fingers through his soft, shiny curls. The thought goes through my head for about the billionth time. 'Will we ever be more than friends?' He closes his eyes as i scratch his head. 'We've known each other too long to be anything more.' i think sadly. He starts to hum. Even his humming is beautiful. He opens his eyes and looks up at me. Those gorgeous brown eyes. "Are you gonna come with me?" he asks. "Do you want me to?" i ask back. He smiles. "Of course, what 's a road trip without one of your best friends?" And with that statement, my heart dropped as he confirmed the question that always haunted me. "Best friend" is all we were, and all we ever will be.

 

Chapter 2

"When are you gonna tell him?" Eric does a 'ta-da' beat on the drums. I snap my head around to look at him. "Tell who what?" I ask. He does another beat and twirls the drum stick in his hand. "Bruno. That you love him." he says. "He knows I love him." I say. He plays longer, bobbing his head to the beat. When he stops, he says "But not that your in love with him." "I'm not in love with Bruno." I say, my heart beating fast. He laughs. "Right." Before I can say anything back, he busts out in full blown song on the drums. I glare at him, waiting for him to finish. He purposley drags the song on and on til I get up and snatch the stick out of his hand. "Hey, you messed up my groove." he says, raising an eyebrow. "I'm not in love with Bruno. Were best friends, I could never see Bruno like that, okay?" I lie. "So don't go running around saying I am, I know how you are Eric." I squint my eyes and wave the drum stick at him. He snatches it back and rolls his eyes. "Deny it all you want." he says and starts another song. I get up and head to the door. When he looks at me, I stick my tongue out. He stops playing and says "I love your maturity." I shake my head. Brothers alright. I head to the living room and find Bruno sitting on the couch, with his guitar like always. "What are you doing?" I ask. He strums the guitar. "Trying to write some lyrics." he says. I pick up one of the papers from the table. I read for a minute and burst out laughing. "What!?" he asks. "There's only one carrot and they all gotta share it?" I say and laugh again. He snatches the paper and pushes my head. "Shut up, you don't know good lyrics. That line will be everyone's favorite one day." he says. I shake my head, smiling. "You gonna help me or not?" he asks. I sigh. "I guess..." He plays a little bit of the song and sings what he has. "You can count on me, for all you need?" I make a face and shake my head. "That sounds too common." He agrees. We sit there and think for a minute. He hums the beat and sings different lines. None of them are right. An hour goes by and still nothing. I lay upside down on the couch, throwing a paper ball in the air and catching it. He has his head on my stomach, his legs hanging over the armrest. The guitar is discarded on the floor, along with tons of crumpled up sheets of paper. "Lena, you suck for writing lyrics." he says. I furrow my eyebrows. "Hey! You're the musician, not me." I say, smacking him lightly on the head. "Me, knee, Lee, tree, free, three..." he rhyms. "I might suck, but you know you can always count on me...Like 1, 2, 3!" I say, laughing. He pops up and grabs his guitar. "Lena you got it!" I sit up. "Got what?" He plays the guitar and sings. "You can count on me, like 1, 2, 3 and I'll be there......And I know when I need it I can count on you like 4, 3, 2 and you'll be there......Cause that's what friends are s'posed to do!" He punched the air and bit his lip. "Did I just help you write a song?" I ask, sly, and smirking at the same time. "Yes you did! And I love you even more!" he says and kisses the top of my head. My face gets hot. "And it's about friendship, how crazy is that?!" He plays the guitar again. "I'll always dedicate this one to you." he says. I smile and nod my head, wanting to cry. Friendship. The only kind of relationship he'll ever have with me.