Last Chapter - oh god I'm crying :'(

21/03/2012 21:19

I can do this. I can do this. I can do this. I say as I repeat to myself the way to the altar, I look out the window of the car and see how the sun is just starting to set, and it’s not too hot outside either, just like Bruno said. I smile to myself just thinking about him waiting for me at the altar. As I get out the car I hear talking. Oh God there must be loads of people here. You can do this Lex I repeat. We go inside the front entrance, why didn’t Bruno bring me this way before? It’s a lot easier. I get pulled in to a room where my final hair and makeup touches are done. My mom brings out a bottle of Champaign and I down the glass before she even gets to make a speech “sorry” I say as she re fills my glass “here’s to my beautiful daughter on her wedding day, marrying such a perfect guy, I wish you all the best Lexii, and many grandkids too! To Lexii” she says as she raises her glass. “To my new daughter” Bernie says “to our new sister” Jamie says “to my hoe!” Mid says. Of course she’d say that… I raise my glass and say “to my husband to be” and we all drink. 

My mom gets a call on her phone. She looks at me and says “Lex you ready?” I nod. But I’m really not feeling ok. “Ok let’s start the music!” Pres says as she gets her phone out to call someone to start it. I hear the organ start to play that familiar tune. The girls all get behind me and grab my train and wait for me to start to walk. My legs don’t move. Why aren’t they moving!? “Lex! Walk!” Mid whispers in my ear. I take a step forward but “Wait” I stop in my tracks. “Can I just have a minute to myself? Please? I won’t me long” I say as I deeply inhale, I feel faint. I can’t do this. They all look scared, but my mom nods and I run off back inside. “Lex, what’s wrong!?” “Lucy? What are you doing here? Why aren’t you out there?” “Well I didn’t really think you’d want me at your wedding, but I couldn’t not see one of my oldest friends get married, so I thought I’d just stand here and watch quietly” I try to listen to what she says but I feel so faint that I need to sit. “Here” and she guides me down on to a chair. Just keep breathing Lex. Just concentrate on breathing. “Oh God, what’s wrong with me…” I mumble to myself, she must’ve heard me because she says “Nothing is wrong with you, you’re just nervous that’s all, you’ll be fine” “You sure? Do you wanna just run down the aisle and marry him for me? Sorry…. that was mean” she just laughs and looks through the doors. “He looks scared” she says. “Shit” she walks round and kneels in front of me. “He doesn’t deserve to be left at the altar, you know this, Lex, don’t let him go like how I did, I don’t think you’ll ever understand how much I regret not going with him to LA, but the thing is, I can see how happy you make him, you make him so much more happy than I ever did! Yes it kills me to see him happy with another girl, but you are honestly perfect for him, don’t do this to him. Not on his wedding day” and she pulls me up. “You seen how hot he looks?” I say all spaced out “mmhhmmmm” she says as she nods and stares at me. I not anxiously “ok. I’m going” and she pushes me out the door. “Wait!” “What now!?” she says annoyed. “Lucy you deserve to be out there watching” “really?” she says happy. I nod and she happily walks out to go and find a seat. Seeing her happy makes me happy too. I’ve never been one to hold grudges. Although if I saw Emma or Roxy I’d pull their hair out… Fuck, Lex stop thinking about them… Don’t be a coward Lex, you can do this, you’re marrying the man of your dreams and right now he’s probably a mess, poor thing. I walk out to where everyone is; look at my mom, smile and nod. And the music starts to play again…

We start to walk and as we get closer I can see rose petals everywhere all over the floor, I see small fairy lights glistening making everything seem magical at dusk. Wow. As we get round the corner I see loads of people staring at me. But I don’t notice them. I also see Phred at the organ playing the music. And I also notice the huge water fountain right at the back until my eyes instantly snap to where Bruno is at the altar. He looks so amazing in his tux, as I walk down our eyes lock and I can tell he’s smiling as much as I am. I don’t take my eyes off him. As I get closer he reaches his hand out to me and I grab it. He places my hand up to his lips and kisses my ring finger winking at me as he does. He doesn’t let go of my hand and I don’t let go of his. 

The rest of the ceremony is a blur to me. Me and Bruno both stare in each other’s eyes the whole time. “The rings?” the minister says as we both snap out of it, I turn to get Bruno’s ring from Mid and Bruno gets it from Ryan. He takes my hand and says “I, Peter Gene Hernandez take you Alexis Roberts, to be my wife, my partner in life and my one true love. I will cherish our friendship and love you today, tomorrow, and forever. I will trust you and honour you; I will laugh with you and cry with you. I will love you faithfully, through the best and the worst, through the difficult and the easy. What may come I will always be there. As I have given you my hand to hold, so I give you my life to keep. My heart is yours, it has always been yours and it will always be yours.” He says with great difficulty as his eyes well up from happiness, and he places a beautiful diamond ring on my finger. I smile because we said we’d write our own vows and his is very similar to mine. We’re meat to be. I look at him and say “I Alexis Roberts, take you Peter Gene Hernandez to be my husband, my partner in life and my one true love. I will cherish our union and love you more each day than I did the day before. I will trust you and respect you, laugh with you and cry with you, loving you faithfully through good times and bad, regardless of the obstacles we may face together. I give you my hand, my heart, and my love, from this day forward for as long as we both shall live” I try to say as the tears roll down my face. I place the ring on his finger and he instantly wipes the tears away from my face with his thumb, and in the back of my head I hear “I now pronounce you husband and wife, you may now kiss the bride”

The End :) 

I want to thank everyone for reading and enjoying the story as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it :)

I love you all <3