Chapter 10

01/01/2012 17:06

“Natalie, get in the car!” Bruno shouted from the passenger seat of Ryan’s car, trying to get her to move.

“No,” she replied in a complaining tone, kicking the sand beneath her feet. “I told you I’m not going.”

“Come on, everyone else is,” he begged, giving her a sad look as all of her friends began piling in the car.

Natalie let out a small groan, glancing back at the beach behind her. “Yeah, and everyone else has been surfing before they could walk.”

“You lived in North Carolina. Don’t tell me you don’t know how to surf!”

“I do, but I suck. And I was happy with the beach we were at,” She replied, not wanting to leave one of her favorite coves.

“Well you’re not going to catch any waves down here. Pleeaassseeee,” he begged again, sticking out his bottom lip. “It’s only a few miles down. I promise you’ll have fun.”

“I’m not even ready to go out surfing.”

“Bullshit, Natalie!” Bruno shouted back. “You were at a beach before we even came here. And I can see your swimsuit ties,” he stated, causing Natalie to look down at the hot pink ties poking out from the top of her shirt. Ugh.

“Oh that’s not going to help,” Ryan stated, shaking his head as he put on his sunglasses. “Natalie, if you don’t come now, you’re going to have to walk your sorry ass ten miles to get back home.”

Yeah, like he’d leave me anyways. “I don’t care, I need some exercise.”

“Alright then, have fun!” Ryan said sarcastically, beginning to drive off.

Oh my God, I hate them, Natalie thought as she watched him continuing to drive twenty feet down the small road. “Waiittttt,” She yelled in a moaning voice. She watched as Ryan stopped the car, all of her friends snickering back at her.

“I hate you all,” she stated as she squeezed in the backseat, slamming the car door.

“No one’s going to make you surf, so chill out,” Hadley stated as she took off her tank, grabbing her surfboard from the ground.

“I am,” Bruno said as he came up behind her, shoving a board at her with a smile. He kept walking over towards Ryan as she struggled with catching the board before it fell onto the ground.

“Well it looks like you’re going to lose out on this one anyways,” Hadley said, smiling at her friend.

Natalie shot a small glare towards Bruno who was turned away from her as he and Ryan talked. “If I break something, or get attacked by a shark, I’m blaming him,” She stated as she slipped off her jean shorts and tank.

“Are you ready yet?” Bruno asked as he turned around while Natalie reached down to grab the surfboard she dropped.

“Lookin’ good Carolina!” Ryan snickered as she stood up, making Natalie blush. Bruno turned towards his friend, smacking him as Ryan continued to laugh.

She let out a groan as she walked towards them. “I guess—“

“Excuse me, I uh, forgot something,” Bruno quickly mumbled, coughing slightly as he dashed past Natalie suddenly.

Confused, she turned around, watching him as he walked back over to the car. She shook her head, still slightly confused as she began walking over towards the water again. Savannah and Ryan were already in the water, beginning to swim out further.

“So,” Hadley said as she dug her toes into the sand. “You and Bruno?” She asked with a tiny smirk, raising her eyebrow in question.

Natalie shrugged her shoulders. “I really don’t know what I’m thinking…”

“Oh come on,” Hadley said as she rolled her eyes. “You guys make it so obvious. And don’t act like we didn’t see you two last night…”

“What do you mean you saw us?” Natalie blushed, scratching at a small scrape on her surfboard.

“Only you two swapping spit next to the beach,” Hadley said with a small laugh, amused by Natalie’s shocked reaction.

Natalie felt herself smile slightly at her friend, shrugging her shoulders. “He’s a really good kisser though,” she said as she looked up at Hadley, widening her eyes.

“Oh you’ve got to remind me to try that next time,” Hadley replied sarcastically as she shook her head, causing Natalie to laugh as she rolled her eyes.

“Alright, let’s go!” Bruno suddenly shouted as he ran up behind them, grabbing Natalie’s arm as he pulled her and her board to the water.

“Bruno I haven’t surfed in over two years,” Natalie said as they got far enough away from the shore, lying on their boards.

“Well then I’ll help you,” Bruno replied as he paddled in next to her board, sitting up on his. “Stand up,” he said as he held onto the side of her board.

“Why?”

“Because, just do it,” he stated, making her roll her eyes. She stood up shakily on the board, reaching down to grab Bruno’s hand as he held hers, keeping her steady. “Now you need to spread your legs further,” he said as he glanced down at her feet.

“That’s what she said, Bruno…” Natalie said as she followed his directions, laughing slightly.

“…you know what I mean. And no, you’re standing too close to the front, and your knees can’t be so stiff—now you’re too far back,” he continued as he tried to get her to stand normally. “Oh my God you’re a lost cause.”

“Rude!” Natalie yelled as she flopped back down on her butt. “I’ve got this anyways,” she added as she turned around, seeing several waves coming in their direction.

“Don’t kill yourself,” Bruno laughed as he sat on his board, watching her attempt to ride the wave. She stood up correctly, but the wave ended up being much larger than she anticipated, causing her to suddenly lose her balance before falling into the water with a flip.

Bruno quickly paddled over towards her just as her head popped up from the water, her hair a complete mess as it tangled around her face. She took in a deep breath of air, trying to get her breathing back to normal.

“Natalie, you didn’t put the leash on…” Bruno stated as he glanced over her head, seeing her board floating back into the shore.

“Whoops,” Natalie laughed, flipping her hair back out of her face. Bruno reached his hand down, grabbing hers to pull her up onto his board. She pulled down on his hand, shifting her weight just enough on his board to flip him off of it, sending him into the water beside her.

When he came up for air, she laughed, resting one of her arms on his board. “I’m sorry,” she said as he wiped the water from his face. “I’ve always wanted to do that.”

Bruno shook his head as he laughed, grabbing onto the side of the board. “Alright,” he said with a tiny smirk, his dimples showing. “Then I get to try something I’ve always wanted to do,” he added as he suddenly moved in close towards her, putting his free hand on her cheek as he leaned in to kiss her.

Natalie was taken aback in shock for a minute before she kissed him back, tasting the saltwater on his lips. She felt herself slightly hum against his mouth as he opened his, kissing her further.

It was a few minutes passing before Natalie realized they were full-on making out in the middle of the ocean. But I don’t mind, She thought as she continued to kiss him. I really like this actually.

Bruno finally pulled back as he opened his eyes, looking back into hers. “Mmm,” she said with a small smile. “I liked that,” she added, leaning back into him as she felt him smile against her lips.