Chapter 13+14

26/07/2011 09:50

Chapter 13

"You....you means she's alive?! Here in LA?!" She nodded her head and they walked up to her hotel room. She grabbed the key for her room and unlocked it they walked in and Bruno turned around. "Where is she? Is this a joke?!" "No Bruno, this is reality." She puts the key down. She pulls her hood down, slides her sunglasses off, and gently takes her hat off. She slides her pants off revealing a pair of light blue frayed butt shorts. She carefully slides her sweatshirt off revealing a plain white V-neck. She takes her green contacts out and places them in their holders. Finally she take the brown wig off, and carefully takes her hair out of it's bun and let's it down into it's now wavy form. His expression was complete disbelief. "It's me Bruno, I'm still alive."

*

Bruno watched as she slowly unveiled herself to him. He couldn't believe after a year, she was still alive. I walked over to her and put my hand on her cheek. It was her, her features, everything, was her. "Do you see now?" Tears are brimming in her eyes as well as mine. I pick her up and just hug her. Everything seems unreal, she back in my arms. Never again did I think I would feel her in them again.

*

He picked me up and swung me around. When we pulled away he had tears rolling down his cheek. "I can't believe it's actually you!" He said. I wiped away his tears and smiled. "Well it's me! Flesh and blood completely alive." "Well, c'mon! Pack your things! Let's go!" "Wait Bruno I can't the paparazzi will be all over us, especially me, and I can't Tyler said he would kill me if I came back to you." "Brooke, he's dead." "What?! He's dead?!" "Yeah, 6 feet underground, dead." "Your serious? Don't play me Hernandez!" "No I'm dead serious! He died 2 months ago, he committed suicide." His phone rings and he answers. While he talks I frantically pack my things. "Brooke, let's go their waiting for us." I smile at him. "You told them?" "Of course!" He helps me with my suitcases and we get into my mustang. He walks over to the drivers side and stops me from getting in. He spins me around and devours my lips. I see a blinding flash through my closed eyes. I pull away and look around. About 20 reporters are clicking away. "Wait a minute......that's Brooke Daniels!" They all start asking my questions. "Aye! Listen up! I'm only gonna say this once, yes I'm Brooke Daniels, I was kidnapped, I managed to escape but feared for my life, I hid for a year and tonight I finally decided to come out of hiding and face the world, to come back to Bruno. No more questions." They all creep closer and Bruno grabs me by my waist and shields me enough to get me into the passenger seat and he runs back around to the drivers seat. He gets in and starts the car. We drive off. "Why'd you do that?!" "What? I figured I don't have to hide anymore so everyone should know the shorter version of the truth." He's silent. "I don't want the papz to mess your life up." "Bruno I've been around papz before, in case you forgot I'm technically famous to, but in my own world." "Well they sure have messed my life up." "I told you you'd make it big." He chuckles. "Yeah you were right about that." "Of course I was, women are always right." "Alright now, let's not start to get cocky." We both start laughing. "Where are we going anyways?" "Well I was going to take you to dinner since your stomach been growling for the last 5 minutes." I giggle. "Sounds good to me." I couldn't believe Tyler was dead. I was taking my life back, I wanted to be crazy. To show the world I was back, I wasn't afraid. We pull up to this fancy looking restaurant. As soon as we get out paparazzi is all over us. Bruno tries shielding me but I don't let him. "Bruno just chill, watch this." I start doing this swag walk and he looks at me as if I'm crazy. "Cmon Bruno! It's fun! Do it." He smiles and starts doing his swag walk. He gets the biggest smile on his face and we both look ridicules but were both laughing our butts off and when we walk into the restaurant people start to stare at us. "What? Y'all never seen people walk with some swag in their step?" Some people laugh, some people roll their eyes. "I gotcha didn't I? Yeah..." We meet the guys in the back and Bruno introduces me to everyone that I don't know. "Brooke this is Kenji, Jamareo, Phred, Phil, you knew him of course, and you remember Eric?" "My big panda?" "Yeah." I hug everyone and we sit down. Bruno scoots over close to me and puts his arm around me. "See anything you want babe?" "Oh you have no idea! I can't remember the last time I had real food! I've been living off checkers and mcdonalds ever since......" I feel my throat start to get tight, I dint want to remember the he'll I went through. "Listen, whenever you want to talk about what happened, I'll be here." He whispers. I look at him and smile. "Thank you." Him and they guys start joking around and they're all really nice to me. The waitress comes and I ordered a steak and a beer. Everyone finishes and it's 3 in the morning. I yawn and they all laugh at me. "What?" "Can't run with the big dogs?" "Can to, I've just had a long day." I look at Bruno and we smile. "Aww look at the two lovebirds." They joke. "Haha, very funny." They all laugh and we head home. Me and Bruno get into my car and he drives. "Now where?" I yawn again. "To my place." I laugh. "What?" "Well, now you have all the money and I'm completely broke." "Yeah I guess so huh?" I look out the window and smile. I curl up and close my eyes.

*

Bruno looked over at Brooke and smiled. I pulled her car in a spot behind his apartment complex. He got out and look up, all the way up to his penthouse. He closed the door and walked over to Brooke's side. "Brooke, wake up." "Huh, what?" "Were here." "Oh." She rubbed her eyes and got out. "You bought your own place?" "Yeah, you have no idea."

*

He smiled and wrapped his arm around me. "What floor are you on?" "You'll see." We walked in and stepped on the elevator. We got on and he pressed the penthouse button. "Wow, you got a penthouse." "Yeah." "That's amazing Bruno! I'm really happy you made it. I knew you would. You finally proved everyone wrong." "I guess I did didn't I?" I gave him a hug, not wanting to let go. Just being close to him again feels amazing. I realize I'm crying and he's just rubbing my back and whispering. "It's ok, I'm here now, everything's gonna be ok now. I'm here to protect you." The elevator dings and as I'm pulling away from Bruno he scoops me up and carries me to his penthouse. "Don't drop me!" I say laughing between tears. He staggers and I feel his arms come out from underneath me. "Bruno!" I scream and close my eyes. Right before I hit the floor he catches me. "Jerk! Put me down!" "Are you sure?" "Positive!" He takes his arms out from under me and I thump on the floor. "Bruno!" He burst out laughing. I grab his leg and he staggers and falls on his butt. Now I'm laughing. He gets up and crawls over to me. "You're gonna pay for that!" I squeal and take off down the hall. I get to the end of it and it's a dead end. "Ugh!" I turn around and he's just shaking his head. "You're gonna have to come back." I run back to his and he's smiling like a fool. "Hernandez, wipe that smile off your face!" He chuckles. He pulls out his keys and unlocks the door. We walk in and it's really big and spacious. One room is a studio with all his instruments and sounds equipment, one room is like a game room, there's a mini theater, and it has my dream kitchen. Granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, a huge fridge and a full bar. "Wow, this is nice." We walk into the bedroom and it's done up real nice. "You did this yourself Bruno?" "Psht! No. I had an interior designer do it for me." "It looks nice." I walk into the bathroom and there are two closets. One is standing wide open, the other is closed. "Look in this one." He points to the closet that's closed. I open it and turn the light on. All of my clothes are in it. "You kept all of my clothes? You really though I was going to come back?" "Yeah, I did." I walk in and sitting on a shelf are some articles. They're all about me. My disappearance, rumors to why I suddenly vanished, and interviews Bruno did. I yawned again. "Come on let's get you to bed." I follow him back into the bedroom, kick my converse off and slide into the cool sheets. "I'm gonna take a shower I'll be right back." He kisses me on my forehead and walks into the bathroom. He returns a few minutes later, his hair dripping wet and only in his boxers. He slides in beside me and wraps his arm around my waist. "I missed you." "I missed you too." He gently kisses me. "I love you Brooke Daniels." "I love you too Peter Gene Hernandez." I drift off into a much needed sleep, but just find myself back in the same nightmare that I've been having for a year.

Chapter 14

I'm in a house. Seems harmless enough. I've been in this dream for a year. I know exactly how it's going to end. I wash dishes and clean up the house. I look around and this isn't the same house that I'm usually in. I picked up pillows and clothes that are scattered about on the floor. I turn around and Bruno pops out of nowhere. I smile and he smiles back. He starts looking through the fridge, when I hear a knock at the door. I open it and it's Tyler. He brings the stench of death with him. Every single time. I scream and I hear something break and Bruno runs over. He puts himself in front of me and he starts yelling. The veins are popping out of his neck, and his face is red. I leave Bruno alone with Tyler and grab the first thing I find. An empty bottle of wine. I run back over to the and yell for Bruno to duck, he does and I smack Tyler over the head with the bottle. Me and Bruno start running. He takes my hand and we run down the stairs. We get to the bottom out of breath and terrified. This is where I usually wake up but I keep dreaming this time. It actually feels like I'm in the dream now, like it's actually happening. "Come on we gotta go!" "Bruno I thought Tyler was dead!" "So did I!" We run down an alley and as we round the corner Tyler is standing there smiling, holding a pickaxe. "Oh my god." I feel myself starting to go into a panic attack. He step towards us and Bruno squeezes my hand. We turn and run. We get to the road but Tyler grabs my shirt. "Bruno!" His hand is ripped from mine. Tyler takes the pickaxe and swings at me hitting me in the stomach. I feel the pain of it hitting me. I scramble up and make it over to the curb where Bruno is. "Help me." He walks out of my vision and I turn around. Tyler pushes me into the road. I scream as I see car wheels heading straight for me. The next thing I know I'm on the sidewalk. I hear screeching tires and a thud. I look around and Tyler has the pickaxe in his leg and it's bleeding bad. I look around some more and I see a bunch of people huddled together on the opposite side of the road. I manage to make my way over to them and as soon as they see me they step aside. Laying in the middle of the huddle is Bruno. I fumbled over to him and started crying, shaking and screaming. I try to wipe all the blood away from his face but it's coming from everywhere. I looked him up and down. He was twisted in a way a human should not be. "Bruno! Come on! Breathe!" His chest started to slowly rise and fall. "Don't you leave me god dammit!" Next thing I know were in an ambulance and several people are fanatically scrambling around his body. He turns his head and looks at me with those mesmerizing brown eyes, that are now bleak and lifeless looking. He lifts the oxygen mask off his face. "Brooke.........I love you........" He takes my hand and puts in on his jean pocket. I reach in and pull out a diamond ring, with a diamond in the center and diamonds across the band. Everyone gasps including me. I fumble with it until I finally get it on. "Your.....my world.......I love you.......so much........I'll be........waiting for you." I kiss him, not caring that my lips are now stained with his metalic tasting blood. Then the machines show a straight line and an unrelenting stead BEEP. "He's gone!" Someone shouts. I cover my ears and squeeze my eyes shut until I see white. I open them up but he's still there, lifeless, staring right at me with his now faded, lifeless brown eyes. I start screaming bloody hell. This is all your fault Brooke, you did this, you risked his life so you could be happy, stupid bitch, you should have listened to your gut and never gone to the concert, you knew it was wrong, stupid girl!

* 

I wake up shaking. I try to breathe but it's only coming in short, shallow gasps. I get up and scramble around I need fresh air. I finally see a balcony. I throw open the doors and fall to the floor. I'm shaking so hard I can barely move my hands. My breathing is still coming in short shallow gasps. I bring my knees up to my chest and start rocking. "Brooke! What's wrong." Bruno rushes over to me and I just can't get my tongue to work properly. "Baby, what's wrong?!" I just shake my head. He stands up and returns with a glass of water. I try to drink it but my throats to tight. I just spit it back out and start coughing. He takes the rest of it and splashes my face. It's so cold it literally shocks me out of my anxiety/panic attack. My breathing starts to steady but I can't stop shaking. He helps me up and he takes me to the bathroom where he starts a shower. I get with my clothes on and he follows. He puts me under the spray of the warm water and I slowly calm back down. I hate these attacks, I try to live my life but they just bring reality crashing back down on me. "What happened?" "I killed you, Tyler came back, pushed me on the road, you saved me but a car hit you, you flew across the road, and......and.....and in the ambulance you proposed and died, right in front of my eyes." I start shaking again. "Bruno.....I've had this dream for a year....but it's never ended like this.....it's been the same dream and I've had the same panic attacks and anxiety attacks.......but they've never been like this Bruno! I felt when he hit me with the pickaxe! I felt it! It hurt so bad! I could barely move! I tasted the blood on my lips! It was so scary Bruno! I was so scared!" I start shaking again. Bruno turns the water off and he helps me out. He grabs and towel and drys me off. He gives me dry clothes to change into. I finally calm down. "I'm sorry I woke you." "No, no baby, don't be sorry, it's fine. Listen, I have a whole month off, why don't we fly back to Waikiki, get your mind off everything that's going on." "I can't escape the attacks Bruno." "Maybe it'll help get your mind off of it." "Will, the guys be with us?" "If you want to invite them I'm sure they'd love to." "What about their families?" "We can invite them to if you want." "I'd like that." We crawl back into bed. "If you need me Brooke, just wake me and I'll be here." He gently kisses me and wraps his arm around me. Maybe he's right, maybe I just need to get back in touch with my roots. Forget everything that's going on.

*

I woke up in the morning and looked around. Bruno was still asleep, I slowly got up and walked into the kitchen. I grabbed a glass of water and looked over towards the balcony door. It felt like something was pulling me towards the door. I believed in ghosts and sprits visiting the living, ever since I was about 10. My grandfather had just passed away, it was especially hard for me because we were really close. I went to bed one night, and had a dream about him. We talked, hugged, laughed, and did things that you would do in reality. Right before I was about to wake up he gave me an angle. I woke up and the exact same angle was in my hands. I told Bruno, he was the only person I told. He said he believed me. The pulling got stronger. Evrytime I felt the pulling I would always go to it. Sometimes it was my grandfather, he would help me get through whatever was going on, sometimes he would just want to talk to me. "What do you want?" The balcony door slowly opened and freezing air was blown in. I shivered and I slowly walked out and felt the sun hit my skin, slowly warming me. "Well I'm out here what do you want?" The balcony door abruptly slammed shut, making all of the hairs on my neck stand on end. I grabbed the handle to the door but it was locked. I started feeling weak. "What's going on?!" My legs gave out and I caught myself on the railing. I sat down and my breaths started coming in shallow gasps. "Bruno! Please wake up!" I banged on the door with what energy I had left, but it was too late. I saw white and found myself standing in a field. Everything seemed peaceful, safe. Then I realized I wasn't in reality anymore. "No! I can't be dead!" "Your not dead." I looked around until I saw the figure that the voice came from. I gasped.

*

Bruno woke to a bang. He looked around and realized Brooke wasn't in bed beside him anymore. Alarmed, he got up and slid on some clothes. He looked around and saw her sitting on the balcony outside. He opened the door and crouched down beside her. Her breathing was normal, but she was shaking real bad and her lips were blue, she was as pale as a ghost. "Brooke?! Brooke?! Can you hear me?!" He put his hand on her arm, he quickly withdrew it. and gasped. She was freezing, he'd never felt someone that cold before. She felt as cold as death.