Chapter 15-17

03/02/2012 22:00
Chapter 15

Two weeks later and we were sat in Dr Callaghan’s office.

“I’m so nervous” I was saying to Bruno.

“Me too babe,” he replied taking my hand in his and squeezing it.

“Miss Franklin?” I looked up at the sound of my name. Shit it was my turn. “Would you like to go to room 4 please” The woman that called my name said and then gestured down a corridoor. I took Bruno’s hand and pulled him along with me. Once we reached the door I opened it quickly and entered the room.

Dr Callaghan was not in the room yet so I stood and looked at the displays on the wall. I felt Bruno come up behind me and put his arms around my waist and kiss my neck. I placed my hand on his cheek and stroked it. I felt his head lift and he came up next to me and read the poster I was looking at.

“So you’ll get better jugs huh?” he said turning around and looking at my breasts, “Now that I can’t wait for.” I couldn’t help but laugh at him and he raised his eyebrows at me.

At this point Dr Callaghan burst through the door and I felt myself blush at his presence. Bruno was quietly laughing beside me so I dug him in the ribs with my elbow.

“Well if it isn’t you two again!” Doctor Callaghan said when he saw us, “Expecting are we?” he asked us

“Yes we are,” I replied looking at Bruno and touching his cheek with a wide smile on my face.

“Do anything you can Doc to keep my girl and my baby safe. They mean too much to me.” Bruno said

“I’ll try my best. Now lets check if everything’s okay with the baby. It may be a little early to tell yet but we’ll try and get you guys an ultrasound.” He said looking at me and sitting on his chair.

I got up onto the bed and lied down. Doc wheeled over to me with the machine in his hand and the gel in the other. I lifted my shirt up to reveal my stomach, I had a really strong sense of déjà vu. Except my stomach was a lot smaller this time. It felt just like the first time he came over to me and put the gel on my stomach. I had the exact same reaction as before. “Ooh, that’s cold.” I gasped.

But this time when I looked at the monitor there it was. My baby. Mine and Bruno’s baby.

“So your three and a half months along now Melanie. Congratulations.” Doc smiled at me. “This time I want you to come in for regular checkups to make sure that both you and baby are fine. You two are going to be brilliant parents.”

I looked at Bruno with a confused look on my face and I saw that he wore the exact same expression. He said three and a half months. That’s impossible.

“Doc I’ve only been feeling the morning sickness for the last three weeks?” I questioned Dr Callaghan

“It is normal for some expecting mothers to have delayed reactions to a pregnancy. Even at three months.” He replied.

“But you said three and a half months? I’ve only been with Bruno for two.” I said as it hit me and I gasped.

“Well is there a possibility of anybody else being the father?” He asked me and I looked at Bruno. He looked deeply hurt and I felt my stomach drop. It really can’t be true though. Can it? We always wore protection! It just can’t be! NO!

“Yes.” I whispered in reply.

This was it. It wasn’t Bruno’s. My dreamlike state had been shattered. I was pregnant and he wasn’t the father.

“Jasper,” I said putting all the venom I had in my voice.

“Fuck.” Was all I heard Bruno mutter.

 

Chapter 16

I’ve edited it so now it makes more sense I think! This was wrote at like 2 in the morning so I’m sorry if it’s terrible! :) 

When we were back at Bruno’s he started to pace around the living room muttering to himself. I could only hear certain parts of what he was saying under his breath

“What.. Why?… Fucking Jasper… my girl…. my baby… not fair… fuck this.” At this point he had stopped pacing and was looking at me. “What are we going to do Melanie?” I could tell he was disappointed, he was so psyched to be a dad just under an hour ago. So much had changed. “MELANIE? LISTEN TO ME!” Bruno suddenly shouted at me startling me as I jumped about a mile.

“Sorry, I’m just really… oh I don’t know. I don’t understand how it could be Jasper’s! He always wore protection. But what about you? I mean your my boyfriend and I can’t have Jasper’s baby. He’s a fucking ass hole.” I half shouted back at him and I sat down on the sofa. Moments later Bruno sat down next to me and placed his hand on my knee.

“Look I’m sorry Mel. I just don’t know what to do. Is there anything we can do? I mean surely there is some way that there is a possibility that Doc made a mistake. The baby could still be mine. You know these things do happen!” With each word his voice was increasing in pitch and his voice started to sound rather hopeful.

“Maybe. We should get a DNA test done. Just if the baby comes out with curls as thick as yours then we know for sure.” I said looking into his eyes and placing my hand on his cheek.

“But what if it’s not mine? What will we do?” He replied placing his hand on top of mine on his cheek.

“I’m not sure, I’ll have to talk to Jasper. But right now I’m thinking abortion. I hate the idea of it, but to think of there being two Jasper’s in the wor-” My voice broke as I broke down in tears.

Bruno draped his arm over my shoulder and pulled me into his chest. He started stroking my hair and he kissed me on the top of my head.
“It’s okay baby. We’ll deal with everything as it comes to us. We need to talk to Jasper and I’m sure he wont like this but I’m pretty sure he’ll be open for a DNA test.” He pulled my chin up to look him in the eye, I closed my eyes and listened to the sound of his breathing to calm myself. He planted a soft kiss on my lips and held it for a few seconds. When he pulled away he put his thumb to the moisture underneath my eyes and rubbed away my tears. He kissed my once more and then he placed my head back on his chest.

We sat there for a few more minutes in silence before I finally decided to speak. “I know he will be up for it. He will hate the fact that he may have a child and will do anything to get away from it. Think of what it would do to his sex life.” I laughed at my attempt of humor. “I’d better ask him round then.”

I took my cell out of my pocket and sent Jasper a text message

-Come round, we need to talk urgently. Mel.

I got a reply back some seconds later.

-Of course, anything for you my baby. Jas. XX

Ew. He still made me physically sick. I showed Bruno the message and he made a face and put his fingers to his mouth as if pretending to be sick. It did make me laugh.

I pulled on his shirt so that he was closer to me and I could feel his warm breath on my face. I took his face in my hands and smiled at him putting all of my emotion into that smile. Just for him.

“Peter, I love you more than you will ever know. You have been amazing to me these last to months and you have treat me better than Jasper has ever done. I know that you will never cheat on me like he has and I can trust you completely. I can’t imagine my life without you now. You’ve completed me. This baby,” I took one of my hands off his face and placed it on my stomach, “it’s just a glitch. Unless it turns out to be yours. Then I will be the happiest woman alive once more. If it’s Jasper’s then yeah I think I may have to have an abortion. I don’t like it but it’s something I’ve got to deal with. Then we can try again and it will be the best thing that has ever happened to us. You just don’t unders-”

I was interrupted by Bruno kissing me. He was immediately really passionate and I pushed him away but keeping my forehead to his, “Bruno Jasper’s coming round in a bit. We can’t do this now!” I laughed against his lips.

“I don’t give a fuck. I love you so fucking much Mel. You’re the best thing that’s ever happened to me. Either way we are going to have a baby, and it’s is going to be amazing. I love you so much. So so so so-”

I interrupted him by kissing him again. This time he pushed me away.

“What about Ja-” he started to protest.

“Just shut the fuck up and kiss me” I said and with that he dragged me closer to him and we were both completely lost in our kiss.

***

I wasn’t aware of anything that was happening until there was a knock on the door. Me and Bruno both pulled away from each other at the same time and looked towards the door.

“Jasper,” I whispered, shivering. Why was I so nervous?

Bruno stood up and took my hand and he pulled me towards the door with him. He reached out to turn the handle and left his hand hovering there. He looked at me for approval.

“Ready?” He said.

I nodded my head.

Bruno turned the handle and I prepared myself for what was going to be a hell of a rough night.

 

Chapter 17

Bruno opened the door and there he was. Jasper. He was stood there smiling at me as if he had never done anything to hurt me. He entered the room straight away and took me up into a hug. I didn’t hug him back of course so I just awkwardly stood there until he let go of me. When he finally let go of me he took hold of my upper arms and looked at me saying,

“Oh Mel. Baby. I’ve missed you so much. Please come back. I hope you’ve chose to leave this rich guy after all.” When he said that I shook his hands of my arms and look him dead in the eye.

“Jasper, I didn’t call you to get back with you. Why the fuck would I do that? I’m not insane. And Bruno’s money has nothing to do with why I love him.” I snapped back at him,

“Oh so this is love?” He was saying glancing between me and Bruno who was now standing by my side.

Bruno was the one to reply as he put his arm around my waist, “Yes it is. But thats not why we need to talk to you Jasper it is really important.” They both looked in my direction as if indicating for me to start.

“Well..” I rubbed my palms together that were suddenly feeling really sweaty. “There is a bit of a… um.. a problem.” I was lost for words, I just didn’t know what to say. No I did know what to say, it just wouldn’t come out. I looked up at Bruno and luckily he understood why I looked at him and he carried on the conversation for me.

“Jasper. What Melanie is trying to say is that,” he was stroking my upper arm now where I goosebumps had risen, “Well something has… something has happened.” He seemed to be struggling almost as much as I was.

“JUST FUCKING SPIT IT OUT MORON!” Jasper shouted at Bruno.

“Here jerk-off. Don’t you fucking dare talk to me like that!” I had to keep Bruno back as I felt him lean towards Jasper. I would say It was pretty funny how wound up he got around him. I would just let him beat him up, but now that wouldn’t be very nice would it?

I looked at Bruno and took over the conversation, “Jasper. You see. I-I-I’m pregnant.” I finally stuttered.

“You what? WITH THIS GUY!?” he gestured towards Bruno.

“That’s the thing. They say i’m three and a half months pregnant.”

“But that means…” Jasper replied with a dumbfounded look on his face

“Yes. It could be yours.” I said simply.

But that seemed to tick him off. “What the fuck? You know we always used protection! Why can’t it be his!,” He threw his hands up in frustration “UGH! WHAT THE FUCK! I DON’T WANT A FUCKING BABY! ESPECIALLY NOT YOURS BITCH!”

That was what eventually broke me. I stormed towards him and punched him straight on the nose full force. The room was silent except for the crunch of Jasper’s nose. Shit. Oh well, success.

“LOOK WHAT YOU FUCKING DID YOU DAFT BITCH!!” Jasper bellowed at me

It took me a few seconds to calm myself to keep from punching him again. Eventually I managed to say,“You think I want your fucking baby? I don’t want it to grow up to be and ass hole just like you! That’s what we want to talk to you about.”

“About what?” He questioned me.

“We want to go for a DNA test. There’s a possibility that there was a mistake and that Bruno might be the father.” I pray that he is, I thought to myself.

“Sounds good to me. I don’t want a fucking kid. Can you think of what that will do to my sex life!” I glanced at Bruno as if to say I told you so, “Fine. I’ll do anything as long as the kid is not fucking mine. I don’t give a shit. And I don’t give a shit about you either Melanie your a fucking piece of shit.”

With that Bruno strode towards Jasper and punched him directly on the nose. The room was filled with the sound of Jasper’s screams as he collapsed to the floor and writhed in pain.

Next thing I knew Bruno was almost shouting in Jasper’s face“Get up off the floor you worthless piece of shit. You dare talk about my girl like that again and I will put you in the hospital. Thing is, you get up now, you clean up now and we go to the hospital straight away. Get this over with. The sooner it’s sorted we never need to see you again ass hole. I pray to god that this baby isn’t yours.”

“You and me both mate. Yeah I agree. Lets go. Sooner the better and all that. Fuck sake. Fucking baby.” Jasper was mumbling when he was standing up.

We all decided that it was better to get to the hospital straight away to get all of this cleared up and with a few minutes Jasper was cleaned up and we were on our way to the hospital. Luckily it was just me and Bruno in his car as Jasper didn’t want to ride with us. Once we pulled up outside of the hospital Bruno came round and opened the car door for me.

“Thank you Bru.” I said planting a peck on his cheek.

“You missed” He said and he leaned in kissing me full on the lips. When he started to pull away I put my hand on his neck and pulled him closer to me. When I eventually let him go all I said was, “Lets go sort this out Peter. I want this baby to be ours. And it will be perfect.”

He gave me his biggest smile and then he took my hand in his and we walked hand in hand to the hospital where Jasper and the fate of my unborn child was waiting.