Chapter 21-25

29/12/2011 15:55

CHAPTER 21

“Alright then,” Bruno said, looking back on the road. “Where do you want to go?”

I shrugged my shoulders. “Any where’s fine, really.”

“Well,” He said with a sigh. “I am kind of hungry…”

I shook my head, laughing. “Then food it is.” I said, agreeing with him.

We ended up picking up some Chinese take-out from a little restaurant downtown, one that Bruno claimed was the best Chinese food in the world. And so it seemed reasonable when I finally took a bite of it. We cruised around for a while, not exactly going in any particular direction. I didn’t mind, though; we talked, joked, and laughed the entire time.

We eventually pulled down a street I’d never seen, and I took in all of the random shops until a particular sign brought my attention away. “Oh my god,” I said, turning to smile at Bruno. “I haven’t been to one in forever. I didn’t know they still existed.”

He glanced towards the sign I was mentioning, looking back at me. “A drive-in movie?” He asked, raising an eyebrow.

“Yeah! They used to have them all over Seattle when I was growing up.” I said as we drove past the sign.

“Do you want to go?” Bruno asked, slowing down. “It looks like there’s a show time right now.” He said as we drove past the gate to it.

I nodded my head, looking out the window. “Yeah, I’d love to go.” I said as he turned the car around.

The place proved to be everything I remembered it from when I was a kid. They played some 60’s horror film called ‘The Blob’, which wasn’t, in my opinion, a very scary movie at all. It consisted literally of a giant, slow-moving blob that ran around eating people. I found it more hilarious than anything.

It was nearing midnight when the film was over, and I figured I should head home soon since my parents were still in town. “Shit.” I said as I remembered my car was still at the studio’s parking lot. “I’ve got to get my car.” I said, feeling slightly bad since the studio was out of our way.

“You can get it tomorrow.” Bruno said casually.

“Yeah,” I said, sarcastically. “With what car?”

“Mine.” He said, turning to smirk at me.

I shook my head, getting at what he was implying. “I don’t think it would be a great idea, Bruno. Especially with my parents staying tonight.”

“Oh they won’t mind.” He said, keeping the same look on his face. “Do you want to deal with my mom again?” I asked, raising an eyebrow as I turned to face him.

He shrugged his shoulders, looking back on the road. “I’m sure I’d survive…” I shook my head again, looking out the window myself. We got back to the studio a few minutes later, and it was nearly one am by the time he pulled in.

Bruno got out of the car, taking me by surprise. I watched as he walked to the other side, opening my door for me. I looked up at him with a smile, taking ahold of his outstretched hand, standing up. “Why thank you,” I said in a formal fashion, nodding my head towards him. I closed the door behind me, still facing Bruno.

“Anytime.” He said, leaning in to kiss me. He placed his hands on my hips, pulling himself closer and pushing me against the side of the car. I slipped my arms around his neck, gently touching his hair with my fingertips. He finally broke apart, leaving just an inch between our noses. “Are you sure I can’t just come back to your place?” He asked in an almost pleadingly matter.

I simply smiled at him, shaking my head. “Not tonight.” I said, looking up at his eyes. He let out a deep sigh, most likely a pretend one, his expression slightly changing. “Fine.” He said, leaning in again. “Tomorrow night.” He kissed me fully on my mouth again, this time more passionately. I didn’t resist; I pulled him closer to my body as well.

So there we stood, making out in a parking lot for the whole world to see. But lucky for both him and I, not even paparazzi bothered to be out this late.

I arrived home around 1:30, quietly closing my apartment door as to not wake my parents. I dropped my keys on the table beside the door, slipping my shoes off to keep myself quiet. As I tip-toed my way down the hallway, I noticed a light coming from the direction of the living room.

Turning the corner quietly, I saw my mom curled up on my sofa, reading a book in the dim light of a lamp. She looked up when she saw me, giving me a slight smile.

“Oh, hey mom…” I said when I saw her, still standing in the entry way of the living room.

She sat up a bit in her seat, closing her book. She motioned her hands to me and saying, “Come here, Abby.”

Hesitantly, I walked over to the sofa, sitting down where she made room. She looked at me for a second, as if in thought. She then looked at me with a soft look in her eyes, “I’m sorry Abby.” She said, shaking her head. I was still pissed about dinner, so I didn’t say anything to contradict her. “I’m a real bitch, aren’t I?” She asked, giving me a look.

I couldn’t help but laugh at her expression. “Yeah,” I said, running a hand through my hair. “Just a bit.”

She nodded her head in thought, biting back her lips for a moment. “I shouldn’t have said any of that…” She shook her head again, drifting off in thought. “You were right. I should have gotten to know him before I made any judgments.” I nodded my head, still feeling bad for Bruno. I didn’t exactly know what to say, so I waited for her to keep reeling out on the apologies. “He is a nice guy.” She said as she looked back up at me.

“Thanks, mom.” I said, giving her a soft smile.

“I just…I don’t know,” My mom began, trying to figure out what she wanted to say. “I hate to see you getting yourself into a relationship with some asshole. I’m worried for you; not being home and all.” She gave me a sympathetic look, staring at my eyes.

“I know that,” I replied with a tiny shrug. “But you know that I’m twenty-four, mom. I know what is and isn’t good for me. I’m working this out on my own, and I’m doing fine,” I said, giving her a reassuring look. She gently smiled at me, nodding her head. “Can you forgive me?” She asked.

It was hard; she was a complete bitch to Bruno, but I knew she was sincere. I nodded my head, the corners of my mouth turning up slightly. “Yeah, I think I can.” I leaned in to her hug, feeling just like a little girl again with my mother’s safe arms wrapped around me.

 

 

CHAPTER 22

“Good morning, beautiful.” Bruno said when he picked up the phone.

I smiled to myself, just pulling out of the parking lot at LAX. My parents’ flight had just departed, and they were on their way back to Seattle this morning. As much as I subconsciously wanted them to leave me to my own house again, it was still a bit sad to say goodbye to them for another couple months.

“Well someone sounds optimistic this morning,” I replied to his cheerful greeting.

“Just being a realist…” He said into the phone, a slight smile to his voice. “So do you have any plans today, miss?” He said in a strange accent, making me laugh.

“Actually, I do.” I said, struggling to drive whilst on the phone. “I’m working with my uncle today at eleven.”

“On a Sunday?” He asked, sounding surprised.

“Yep, the deadline’s on Tuesday and we’re just finishing up some things.”

“Well,” Bruno said in a dragged-on voice. “You’ve got a few hours to kill until then. Wanna stop by the studio?”

I couldn’t help but laugh. “You’re in the studio, on a Sunday?” I asked, mimicking him.

“Music never sleeps, baby!”

“Well, I suppose I could stop by for a while…” I said, drifting off as I continued to drive, distracted by the cars around me.

“Perfect!” Bruno replied in a happier tone. “See you soon.” He said before we both hung up. I changed my route from my house to the same studio I had been to just last night with Bruno.

I walked down the hall, finding the same familiar door I’d been to yesterday. Although this time when I opened the door, I was greeted to the guys all jamming and singing along to Michael Jackson.

“Billie Jean is not my lover!” Bruno sung, tapping his feet along as he played the keyboard. “She’s just a girl” He continued, his voice nearly raising an entire octave.

“Who claims that I am the one!” They all sang in, belting out each word with enthusiasm. “But the kid is not my son!”

I stood, still in the doorway, shaking my head while smirking at them. I didn’t say anything; I was clearly unnoticed when I walked in, due to their current mindset. I listened as they finished the song, enjoying the facial expressions and ‘dances’ they added whilst singing. Bruno finally turned around from the keyboard to look back at the guys, noticing me instead.

“Ay!” He said, stopping in the middle of the song and walking over to me. I laughed when they all turned around to greet me, surprised that I was there watching them. “Great singing, guys.” I said, laughing. “Is that a new track you’re working on?” I asked sarcastically.

Phil smiled, walking over to me. He placed his arm around my shoulder, leaning in close to me. “Now,” He said in a small voice. “We normally like to keep this on thedown low,” He continued, making his voice into almost a whisper. “But if you must know, we,” He said, motioning his hands as to him, Ari, and Bruno “Actually wrote that number.” He added another little smirk and a wink.

I rolled my eyes, walking further into the studio room. “But seriously,” I said, sitting down on a stool next to the keyboard. “I thought you said you guys were working on new music?” I asked, looking towards Bruno.

He let out a small sigh, running his hand through his hatless hair. “A little break can do ya some good,” He said with a shrug. “Especially when you don’t know what in the hell to write.” He added with another sigh of thought. Phil and Ari nodded their heads, pondering for a moment. They seemed a bit stressed. Writer’s block perhaps? That is, if that’s what it was called in the music industry…

“Welp!” Phil said, slapping his hands together. “Mine as well try to get something done while we’re here.” He walked over to the keyboard, beginning to play some chords. Bruno and Ari soon joined him by the keyboard, all of them talking in what seemed a foreign language to me; music.

It was interesting watching them hum little inaudible verses to the beat of the keys, talking about some things and writing others down. This went on for a good half hour, all consisting of the same pattern. Eventually, they were all goofing off again, completely off track from the task at hand.

“Every day it will rain,” Bruno sung in a failed British accent, smashing his hands on the keys. “I’ll kill your cat in vain!” He sang to the same pitch, laughing as he did so. “Every day on a train! I’ll fuck out your brains! Gimmie some good…” He paused for a second, laughing as he decided what to say next. “Grains!” He said, his sentences making absolutely no sense.

I shook my head as they all whooped in laugher, continuing on with their widespread imaginations, singing to the pitch of the keyboard. I looked at my watch, figuring I should get going. I eventually announced my departure, interrupting their little music fiasco.

“Tonight!” Bruno said as I was reaching the door. I turned around to see him near the keyboard, pointing his finger towards me, smiling. He gave me a wink and a bigger grin, my cheeks suddenly becoming hot. I smiled one last time, leaving.

“You know you should really pick up on the singing,” Bruno said as we walked through the door to my apartment. “I mean, I could see you as a Goth-rocker.” He added, closing the door behind him. I rolled my eyes, giving him a strange look. “Yeah,” I replied as I faced him. “And I could see you as a Yoga Instructor.” I said, laughing at the thought.

I walked into the kitchen, grabbing a water bottle from the fridge. I leaned against the counter, facing Bruno who had found a seat on one of the bar stools. We’d just gotten back from dinner from a sushi bar downtown, and as much as I loved sushi, the fish did not seem like it was getting along well with my stomach.

“You’d love it.” He said, playing with his hat in his hands.

“Well too bad I sound like a dying horse if I attempt to sing…” I said, taking a drink of my water.

I could tell he was trying not to laugh. “I’ll be the judge of that.” He replied, finally setting his hat down on the counter, standing up.

I shook my head. “No way in hell will I ever sing to anyone.” I said, even just the thought of singing making me embarrassed.

“Aw, come on.” Bruno replied, walking around towards me. “Not even just for me?” He asked, a pleading look in his eyes.

I shook my head again. “Nuh-uh.” He came close to me, a sly smirk struck across his face.

“Please?” He said, dropping his hand to my hip, wrapping it around. I ignored him, denying his request to sing. He moved closer to me until our bodies were close, both of his arms around my hips.

“You know you want to.” He said, leaning his head in to the side of my face.

“Not really.”

“Yes,” he said, kissing me on my neck. “Do it.” He said, continuing to kiss my neck gently.

I continued to shake my head, promising myself of all people, he would never be the one to hear my horrendous singing voice. “Stop that.” I said as he moved down my neck.

“Stop what?” He asked, placing gentle kisses along my collar bone.

”That” I said when his lips touched my skin.

“Are you going to sing?” I felt him smile against me when he asked the question.

“Nope.”

“Then I’m not going to stop.” He said, continuing to kiss me. I reached my hands up to his head, gently grabbing either side of his face, turning his head to face mine. I stared in his smiling eyes, completely lost inside his gaze. He leaned in towards my mouth, kissing me fully on my lips.

I didn’t resist; I allowed my hands to wrap themselves around his neck, kissing him back. I soon found my back being pressed up against the counter top, my back slightly arching over it. His hands drifted around to the front of me, tugging at the seam of my shirt. It soon found its way off of my body, being discarded on the tile flooring of the kitchen.

It wasn’t long before I realized we had made our way down the hallway, heading towards my bedroom. Somewhere along the way Bruno had lost his shirt as well, and he was currently tugging at the button to my pants.

I opened my eyes when we were in my bedroom, slightly taken aback from the absence of Bruno’s lips on mine. My back was facing the foot of my bed, my now naked body held close to Bruno’s equally bare-skinned body. “Abby…” he said as he looked down at my eyes. The way he said my name made me feel nervous for a second, my heart skipping a beat. “Before I do this,” he continued, biting his lower lip. “Promise me,” he took a deep breath, closing his eyes for a second. “Promise me you’ll still be here this time when I open my eyes tomorrow.”

I looked at him, my lips curving upwards. “I promise.” I said, my words causing a slight smile to break out on his mouth. I leaned back into him again, feeling him slowly beginning to lower my body on my bed.

 

 

CHAPTER 23

I squinted my eyes in the early morning light, letting out a yawn. I rolled over on my side, a slight smile creeping across my face when I spotted Bruno still lying next to me. The side of his cheek was smashed against the pillow, his cheeks looking quite pudgy. He looked as if in a deep sleep, breathing deeply, his mouth slightly open.

I sat up in my bed, stretching before staggering onto the floor. Tossing on a t-shirt and a pair of basketball shorts, I threw my hair up in a sloppy ponytail on top of my head. I quietly stepped out of the room, not wanting to disrupt Bruno from his sleep.

I decided I was hungry when I found myself standing in my kitchen. I prepared myself a nice bowl of Reese’s Puffs in no time, sitting myself in one of the bar stools. I flipped on the morning news channel, eating my cereal.

“You lied to me, Abigail.” I heard Bruno’s voice down the hallway. I crooked my head from the kitchen, seeing him make his way down the hallway, wearing only his boxers. He had a sleepy baby face on, his mop of hair completely messed up on his head. Oh my god, he’s so fucking hot. I shoved a spoonful of cereal into my mouth, distracting myself from such thoughts.

“What?” I asked when I swallowed, confused by what he meant.

“You said you’d be here when I woke up. You lied.” He replied, resting his hands on the back of the bar stool.

I shrugged my shoulders. “Sorry, I don’t care who’s lying in my bed; hunger waits for no one.” I said with a sly smirk, taking another bite.

“Oh, I see how it is. You leave a lot of men behind then?” He asked, raising an eyebrow at me.

I scrunched my face, my eyebrows stitching together as I looked over to him. “No, you know that’s not what I meant.”

He laughed, shaking his head, sitting down in the stool next to me. “It wouldn’t surprise me.” He said as he propped his elbow up on the counter, resting his chin on his hand.

“What is that supposed to mean?” I asked, the same look returning to my face.

He smiled, shaking his head. “Nothing.” He replied, pushing his tongue against the inside of his cheek.

“Bruno.” I said, slightly annoyed how he wouldn’t tell me.

He just shook his head again, slightly giggling. I stared at him for a second, watching him. “Are you calling me a whore?!” I asked, raising an eyebrow. His face suddenly stopped, and he glanced up at me.

“Oh, no no no!” He said when I turned my head away from him. I felt him standing behind me now, wrapping his arms around my stomach as I sat. “Baby, I never said you were a whore,” He added, emphasizing on the whore.

“Whatever.” I said in a pretended pissed off voice, turning my face away from his that rested on my shoulder. I shoved another spoonful of cereal in my mouth, trying to ignore his presence.

“What I meant,” He said, speaking softly into my ear. “Is that you’re far too good to have picked up on those…techniques…if you didn’t have so much experience.” He whispered in my ear, sending chills down my spine. I turned my head to look at him, seeing a naughty smirk on his face when he looked at me.

I looked at him as he smiled like a fool, sorting through my thoughts. I didn’t say anything, only taking another bite of cereal, still looking at him. I laughed when I saw him open his mouth up wide, staring at my spoon. Laughing, I gave him a bite as well, giving him a satisfied look on his face as he chewed. Swallowing, he leaned in towards me, trying to kiss me. I pulled back, a disgusted look on my face.

“Ew, cereal breath. No thanks.” I said with a small grimace, knowing no one would want to kiss me after I’d eaten cereal. That just sounded gross.

“I have cereal breath as well.” He said with a smirk, thinking he’d outsmarted my thoughts.

I shook my head. “I don’t care. It’s still gross.” He let out a soft sigh, looking disappointed. Leaning back from me, he sat back down in the chair he’d been in, taking a handful of dry Reese’s Puffs from the box and shoving them in his mouth. He gave me a disappointed look when I proceeded to laugh at him, shaking my head.

I stood up from the counter, taking my bowl over to the sink. When I turned around, I saw Bruno staring at me with a smug little smirk on his face. “What?” I asked, giving him a you’re-creeping-me-out sort of look.

“You have very sexy sex hair.” He said, tossing a piece of cereal into his mouth.

I rolled my eyes. “Yeah, I bet.” I said sarcastically, having not even looked in a mirror since I woke up.

“But not near as sexy as mine.” He said, flipping his head to the side, running his hand through his messed up curls.

I smiled back. “I’m sure no one could compare to yours.” I glanced over to the clock when I rested my elbows on the bar, facing Bruno. “Don’t you have to be somewhere at 8 or something?” I asked, slightly remembering him telling me he had an appointment.

Bruno looked at the clock, letting out a sigh and rolling his eyes. “Yes, we’re starting some rehearsing today.” He said, not looking too excited.

“When do you leave for tour?” I asked, knowing that he would be gone for four weeks when he left.

“The twenty-fifth.” He replied, getting up from his spot. “I don’t want to leave you,” He said with a disappointed look. “You’ll be over me by the time I come back home.”

I rolled my eyes at his childlike voice. “Definitely,” I stated sarcastically, walking around to meet him at the end of the kitchen. “It’s not like I’ll be through with you…I mean we’re together, remember?” I asked, raising my eyebrow, thinking about what he said on the radio. I wrapped my arms around his waist, looking up into his thoughtful eyes. He shrugged his shoulders before wrapping his own arms around me. “I remember.” He said, giving me a soft kiss on the lips. Fuck it, I don’t mind cereal breath.

“But I really do need to be there at 8,” He said, leaning out and glancing at the clock again. I nodded my head, not wanting to hold him up. “I’ll see you soon, alright?” He asked, raising his eyebrow at me in question. I smiled, shaking my head once more, answering his question. He gave me one last kiss before tossing on his shirt and pants that ended up in the hallway last night, heading out the door.

 

CHAPTER 24

I stared at a moderate-sized room, all of the bright white walls staring back at me. I tilted my head to the side, pondering through my thoughts. On one wall, a large mounted flat-screen TV was arranged just above the fireplace, one of the more notable items in the room. Windows were the only other thing that covered the walls, adding bright Californian sunshine into the room. A few picture frames and memorabilia were arranged on the ledge above the fireplace; nothing too unordinary. The only other thing that happened to stand out to the naked eye was that of a single Grammy award, resting on the far left edge of the fireplace.

I shook my head, not understanding how he could stand this. “Remind me again how long it’s been since you moved in here…?” I half questioned, still staring at the walls.

I felt Bruno wrap his arms around my waist from behind, pulling me close to his body as he rested his chin on my shoulders. “Almost nine months.” He said, sharing the view I had of his living room.

I felt the comfort of his touch, his body warm against mine. I didn’t feel the need to be in a rush to do anything as I had in the past couple of weeks. It was a nice feeling; both him and I had absolutely nothing on the agenda for the next few days, and it felt great. The past two weeks had sparked sudden work for me, preparing for the upcoming VMAs at the end of the month which required many fittings for many people. Bruno had been in and out of the studio, working on upcoming music on the side of rehearsals for their also upcoming tour. I hadn’t realized how fast time was going by until I woke up this morning, realizing Bruno was going to be headed off next week.

I slightly smiled to myself. “And you still fail to do something about these boringwalls?” I asked, knowing that something like this was only important to girls.

I felt him shrug his shoulders against my back. “It really doesn’t matter to me. I’ve got four walls keeping my house standing, so that’s all I really care about.”

Of course that’s all you care about, you’re a guy. Things are always plain and simple. Not to mention boring. “Yeah, but I mean, come on. This is like living in a psycho ward or something. There’s just blank walls.” I heard him laugh into my shoulder, shaking his head. “You need color, pictures, paintings, something to put in this never ending horror.” I said, slightly laughing myself.

“Alright then.” Bruno said, lifting his head up suddenly. “I could do a little color!” He said with a giggle, shifting himself off of me. I turned to face him, curious as to if he was serious or just being sarcastic.

“Are you serious?” I asked, skeptical.

“Yeah! Let’s paint this bitch!” He said, reaching towards the coffee table to grab his phone and hat.

“Right now?” I asked, now really wondering about his spontaneous idea.

“Mhmm.” He nodded his head, tossing his hat on his head. “Come on.” He added as he began heading to the hallway to go to the front door. I tilted my head as I watched him walk out the door, knowing I probably would never understand his randomness.

“You’re a much better musician than you are an artist.” I observed as I watched Bruno attempting at painting a small section of the wall. He turned to me with a funny smirk, still flapping his brush around on the wall.

“A musician is an artist, sweetie.” He said, tilting his head.

“I beg to differ.” I replied, laughing as I watched his disabled brush strokes trying to cover the wall in red.

“What?” He said, taking a step back from the wall to view his area. “Personally, I think I’m doing well.”

“Yeah, well let’s just say you’re lucky you fell under the ‘singer’ category over the ‘painter’ one.” I said, trying not to laugh as I looked at his messed up wall. “No!” I giggled as he began to paint again. “You’re doing it all wrong.” This really did amuse me. I had no idea why he even wanted to paint in the first place, especially because he sucked ass at it.

“Then show me.”

I walked over to where he was, helping him finish off the last bit of the room. When we finally finished, I took a step back, looking at the room. It was a much better improvement than what it had been earlier that day. The dark red walls dimmed the room slightly, causing a softer glow around it. I felt pretty proud of myself; I loved doing things like this.

“Thank you, gorgeous.” Bruno said as he wrapped his arms around me, hugging me from behind. I turned around to face him, seeing little splatters of paint in his hair and around his face. “I still don’t see why we had to paint it, though.”

I rolled my eyes, bringing my brush up to his face, swiping a small stroke of paint across his nose. “It was your idea, not mine.”

He smiled at me, not bothering to wipe the paint off. “You owe me for that,” he said, referring to the brush stroke on his face. Bruno leaned in, kissing me softly on my lips. “Let’s go to dinner.” He said when he pulled back, his eyes scanning across my face.

“Maybe after I shower.” I said, looking down at the paint on my hands and arms.

“Great, I have to shower too.” Bruno said with a smirk. Before I could even reply to him, he swooped down, picking me up and carrying me like a baby. I laughed as he ran down the hall, going up the stairs to the bathroom before he finally let me down.

“Woah, hold up there.” I said when he set me down. “I didn’t say I was taking a shower with you.” I said with a tiny giggle.

“Sure ya did,” Bruno replied looking at me with a sly look to his face. I shook my head. “We’d never end up going to dinner then.” I pondered, knowing he also knew that was right.

“That’s fine by me.” Bruno said, biting back his lips for a second.

“Nooooo,” I said, laughingly. “And besides, I’m hungry.” I added, walking closer to the bathroom door.

“Fine.” Bruno said, directing a finger at me. “But I will be receiving a rain check.” He said with a wink.

I stepped into the doorway, turning around to face him. “I wouldn’t count on it.” I said, smiling before closing the door.

 

 

CHAPTER 24

I stared at a moderate-sized room, all of the bright white walls staring back at me. I tilted my head to the side, pondering through my thoughts. On one wall, a large mounted flat-screen TV was arranged just above the fireplace, one of the more notable items in the room. Windows were the only other thing that covered the walls, adding bright Californian sunshine into the room. A few picture frames and memorabilia were arranged on the ledge above the fireplace; nothing too unordinary. The only other thing that happened to stand out to the naked eye was that of a single Grammy award, resting on the far left edge of the fireplace.

I shook my head, not understanding how he could stand this. “Remind me again how long it’s been since you moved in here…?” I half questioned, still staring at the walls.

I felt Bruno wrap his arms around my waist from behind, pulling me close to his body as he rested his chin on my shoulders. “Almost nine months.” He said, sharing the view I had of his living room.

I felt the comfort of his touch, his body warm against mine. I didn’t feel the need to be in a rush to do anything as I had in the past couple of weeks. It was a nice feeling; both him and I had absolutely nothing on the agenda for the next few days, and it felt great. The past two weeks had sparked sudden work for me, preparing for the upcoming VMAs at the end of the month which required many fittings for many people. Bruno had been in and out of the studio, working on upcoming music on the side of rehearsals for their also upcoming tour. I hadn’t realized how fast time was going by until I woke up this morning, realizing Bruno was going to be headed off next week.

I slightly smiled to myself. “And you still fail to do something about these boringwalls?” I asked, knowing that something like this was only important to girls.

I felt him shrug his shoulders against my back. “It really doesn’t matter to me. I’ve got four walls keeping my house standing, so that’s all I really care about.”

Of course that’s all you care about, you’re a guy. Things are always plain and simple. Not to mention boring. “Yeah, but I mean, come on. This is like living in a psycho ward or something. There’s just blank walls.” I heard him laugh into my shoulder, shaking his head. “You need color, pictures, paintings, something to put in this never ending horror.” I said, slightly laughing myself.

“Alright then.” Bruno said, lifting his head up suddenly. “I could do a little color!” He said with a giggle, shifting himself off of me. I turned to face him, curious as to if he was serious or just being sarcastic.

“Are you serious?” I asked, skeptical.

“Yeah! Let’s paint this bitch!” He said, reaching towards the coffee table to grab his phone and hat.

“Right now?” I asked, now really wondering about his spontaneous idea.

“Mhmm.” He nodded his head, tossing his hat on his head. “Come on.” He added as he began heading to the hallway to go to the front door. I tilted my head as I watched him walk out the door, knowing I probably would never understand his randomness.

“You’re a much better musician than you are an artist.” I observed as I watched Bruno attempting at painting a small section of the wall. He turned to me with a funny smirk, still flapping his brush around on the wall.

“A musician is an artist, sweetie.” He said, tilting his head.

“I beg to differ.” I replied, laughing as I watched his disabled brush strokes trying to cover the wall in red.

“What?” He said, taking a step back from the wall to view his area. “Personally, I think I’m doing well.”

“Yeah, well let’s just say you’re lucky you fell under the ‘singer’ category over the ‘painter’ one.” I said, trying not to laugh as I looked at his messed up wall. “No!” I giggled as he began to paint again. “You’re doing it all wrong.” This really did amuse me. I had no idea why he even wanted to paint in the first place, especially because he sucked ass at it.

“Then show me.”

I walked over to where he was, helping him finish off the last bit of the room. When we finally finished, I took a step back, looking at the room. It was a much better improvement than what it had been earlier that day. The dark red walls dimmed the room slightly, causing a softer glow around it. I felt pretty proud of myself; I loved doing things like this.

“Thank you, gorgeous.” Bruno said as he wrapped his arms around me, hugging me from behind. I turned around to face him, seeing little splatters of paint in his hair and around his face. “I still don’t see why we had to paint it, though.”

I rolled my eyes, bringing my brush up to his face, swiping a small stroke of paint across his nose. “It was your idea, not mine.”

He smiled at me, not bothering to wipe the paint off. “You owe me for that,” he said, referring to the brush stroke on his face. Bruno leaned in, kissing me softly on my lips. “Let’s go to dinner.” He said when he pulled back, his eyes scanning across my face.

“Maybe after I shower.” I said, looking down at the paint on my hands and arms.

“Great, I have to shower too.” Bruno said with a smirk. Before I could even reply to him, he swooped down, picking me up and carrying me like a baby. I laughed as he ran down the hall, going up the stairs to the bathroom before he finally let me down.

“Woah, hold up there.” I said when he set me down. “I didn’t say I was taking a shower with you.” I said with a tiny giggle.

“Sure ya did,” Bruno replied looking at me with a sly look to his face. I shook my head. “We’d never end up going to dinner then.” I pondered, knowing he also knew that was right.

“That’s fine by me.” Bruno said, biting back his lips for a second.

“Nooooo,” I said, laughingly. “And besides, I’m hungry.” I added, walking closer to the bathroom door.

“Fine.” Bruno said, directing a finger at me. “But I will be receiving a rain check.” He said with a wink.

I stepped into the doorway, turning around to face him. “I wouldn’t count on it.” I said, smiling before closing the door.

 

 

CHAPTER 25

It’s a big chapter…but a very important one in the story’s plot ;)

“Wow, I didn’t realize it was this nice out.” I said as we walked from a back entrance of the restaurant, stepping into the warm night air.

“It’s beautiful.” Bruno said, wrapping an arm around the waist of my casual dress. “Just like you.” He said, turning to smile at me before putting his ray-bans on.

I shook my head, smiling at him. “There is absolutely no point in wearing those at night, you know…”

“Yesss,” Bruno replied, looking forward. “Gotta have some style no matter what time of the day!”

I didn’t know whether to agree with his sentence, or be completely lost at his confusing words. I just smiled to myself, looking down at my feet as we walked.

We got to the end of the block, nearing a busier street. Bruno stopped for a moment, turning towards me. “Do you want to walk somewhere?” He asked, playing with the ring on his index finger.

“Right now?” I asked, curious. “I mean, there’s a lot of people out, and Dre’s not here…” I said, wondering why he’d willingly want to walk out on the streets with a name such like his own.

He shrugged his shoulders, turning forwards again, pulling me close by his hip once more. “Yeah,” He said, beginning to walk the opposite direction from where we parked. “Half the people don’t even know me that much and I don’t think I need a body guard against a few fans who see me.” He laughed, leading us down the sidewalk of a busy road lined with businesses.

“Where are we going exactly?” I asked, knowing all too well that he already knew the answer himself.

“I don’t knooowww,” He said, pulling me closer as we walked on. We walked for around ten minutes before I noticed that a few people recognized the two of us. A group of three teenage girls up the road were sending curious glances our way, trying to decide if they were seeing who they thought they were.

As we got closer, I saw that them talking quietly and occasionally glancing at us. They finally broke apart when we were nearly twenty feet away, shyly turning towards us.

“Oh lookie there,” Bruno said, whispering into my ear. “It looks like ya boy’s got some chicks already on him!” He said in a soft voice with a small laugh. I rolled my eyes at his very modest ego. Bruno dropped his arm from my side, giving him and I a bit of space in between us.

“Excuse me?” One of the girls asked shyly in a small voice. I saw Bruno smiling at her from my side; he loved his fans. “We don’t mean to disrupt your evening or anything,” She said, biting her lip softly. “But are you Abigail Midley?” The girl turned and looked at me with a tiny smile.

I saw Bruno jerk his head towards me, surprised at the girl’s question himself. I tried my best not to burst out laughing, completely ruining Bruno’s ‘moment’ with his ‘fans’. I smiled at the girl, folding my arms gently in front of me.

“Yeah, I am.” I said smiling and nodding my head.

I saw the two girls behind her exchange glances and smiles at my words. The first girl smiled as well, turning back to her friend for a second. “We love your work!” She said with a small giggle, both of the other girls smiling as well.

“Well thank you.” I replied, the smile never leaving my face.

 “Um, could we get a picture?” She asked in the same shy voice. I laughed slightly, smiling whilst nodding to her.

“Bruno?” I said, turning towards him as the girl pulled out her camera. He laughed himself, taking the camera from the girl. They stood on either side of me, posing for the camera as Bruno took the picture. I bet he’s not used to this, I thought with a small giggle. He hardly even knows how to work a camera.

One of the other girls then turned to Bruno, asking him for a photo as well. I could tell the smile on his face when she asked was one of relief, glad that they recognized him so that he wouldn’t look so stupid expecting them to be his fans. I took the second picture, making the girls thoroughly happy. They thanked us numerous times before they finally left, giggling. I saw them lean in as they were walking away, whispering once more so that I couldn’t hear. They turned around, giving us suspicious smiles. The first real people to see us as a couple…

When they were out of earshot, Bruno turned to face me, giving me a curious glance too. I laughed, shrugging my shoulders, knowing what he was thinking. “What? You didn’t know I have fans too?” I said, crossing my arms.

”No,” He said, putting his arms around me again. “I just didn’t quite expect that one.” He said, beginning to walk once more.

“It burst your ego a bit, didn’t it?” I said as I slightly leaned myself on him.

Bruno put out his bottom lip, pouting with puppy dog eyes. Dear lord, I swear he’s trying to kill me. I thought, trying to keep calm from his hot expressions. “Yes,” He said with a sad voice, causing me to laugh, releasing the slight tension I had made in my head of his face.

“The beach? I knew you had an idea of where we were going.” I said as we crossed the street to the sand that lie on the other side.

He shook his head, trying not to laugh. “No, I’m spontaneous, remember?” he said, leading me down to the water.

“Rigghhtt.”

We talked while walking alongside the shoreline, my feet a few inches in the water as I held my shoes. Bruno rolled his pants up enough so that they wouldn’t get wet either. I laughed at the sight of him in ‘capris’ while he shook his head.

The only light that shone was coming from the full moon above the ocean, illuminating the water around us. The sky was still slightly blue, not quite nighttime yet. After a few minutes of talking, a small silence fell over us. I kicked my toes in the sand below the surface, gently splashing the water.

“You better not get my pants wet,” Bruno said jokingly as he looked down at my feet. “These baby’s cost me fifty bucks!” I laughed at his statement; him making it seem as though that was expensive for him.

“Oh, sorry.” I said as I purposely splashed his lower pant leg with water. He stopped, turning towards me with an evil smile. “What?” I asked, laughing as he pretended to look pissed off.

He shook his head at me before kicking his own feet in the water, sending an even bigger splash towards me, nearly soaking my dress. “Oh my god,” I said, looking down. “You got me all wet!” I said, punching him softly on the arm.

“Great, I didn’t even have to try hard.” He said with a wink, giving me an excuse to hit him again. Before I knew it, we were both in a good two feet of water, each of us soaked head to toe as we splashed water on each other. I felt like a kid again, flirting harmlessly and innocently with boys just for a good laugh.

Bruno wrapped his arms around me, pulling me in to his body as he hugged me, making me even more soaked. I laughed, trying to push him from me, but failing miserably. He finally let me go, but still holding me in his arms so that we were a few inches apart.

He smirked at me one more time before leaning in, kissing me full-on in the middle of a nearly empty beach. After a minute or two, he pulled back, neither of us saying a word. I looked back into his big brown eyes, for once not even caring that it was silent. It was a good silent. Nothing awkward at all.

“What are you thinking about?” I asked softly, noticing the look in his eyes.

“I’m wondering how I’m going to survive an entire month without seeing you.” He said, keeping his eyes locked on mine.

I gave him a sad smile, nodding my head once. “Yeah,” I said, shifting my gaze back to him. “but I’m sure you will live.”

He gently smiled, nodding his head uncertainly. “What do you think about all this?” He asked after another moment of silence.

I shrugged my shoulders. “I don’t know,” I said with a soft sigh. “I mean, it’s a given that you’ll be gone a lot, you know?”

He nodded his head again. “Well it sure as hell isn’t going to be perfect, but I thinkwe can survive this.” He said, kissing me softly on my lips again. “I mean, we’ve made it through the best almost two months I’ve had in a long time,” He softly spoke against my lips when he broke a part. “and I’d like to keep you around for much longer than that if you don’t mind.” He smiled against my lips at his last sentence.

I softly smiled back, nodding my head. “But that doesn’t even explain everything I want to say,” Bruno gently whispered against my lips. “It’s like everything’s already fallen into place. I—“ He laughed, slightly shaking his head. “I’m so bad at this.” He said, giving me a slightly embarrassed smile.

“Oh come on,” I whispered back in response. “Mr. Bruno Mars, the crooner himself doesn’t even know how to express his feelings.”

“You know, I can’t even explain this.” He said as he moved closer, his dimples slightly showing as he tried to hide a smile.

“Just say it already.” I whispered almost inaudibly, only centimeters from his lips.

“Abigail Marie Midley,” He spoke, looking me in the eyes despite our close distance. “I think I’m in love you.”

I smiled, responding to him with another soft kiss. He ran his hands through my wet hair as I shifted mine around his neck. Pulling back, I leaned into his ear, gently whispering out the words, “I love you too.”