Chapter 24

13/08/2011 12:58

I cried and cried until I couldn't cry anymore. "Do you wanna call Bruno?" "No! I can't no, he can't know about this. If he knew he would put his career on hold just to be with me and he would always worry. No, I can't tell him. He cannot find out at all! I don't know how he'd react." I said the last part in almost a whisper. Truth is, I was afraid that when he would find out he would get horrified at what I was and leave me. "Alright, alright you have my word. I won't tell a soul. Not even my wife." I gave him a feeble smile. "Thank you Frankie." He was like a grandfather to me. He could always make me feel better. I stood up and walked to the bathroom. I looked at my reflection in the mirror. I looked like the same person I always see looking back, but I felt different, a bad different. I washed my face and walked back out. "You gonna be ok tonight?" "Yeah, I'll be fine. Thanks Frankie." No, no way am I fine. I just wanted someone to tell me I'm not ok and hug me. "If you need me, I'll be next door with Mary." "I should be fine but thanks Frankie." He nods his head and walks out. I take a shower and change into my pajamas and call back Doctor Reynolds. "Hi doctor Reynolds it's me Brooke Daniels again. Sorry about earlier." "Oh it's fine, it's an expected reaction from the diagnosed. Anyways why don't you come by in the morning or afternoon and we'll look at the charts and get you started on some medications." "Can we make it evening? I have a lot to do tomorrow at the track." "Why yes of course but Ms. Daniels I would advise you take it easy." I open my mouth but bite my tongue. He's just trying to help. "Of course. So tomorrow evening?" "Yes." "Alright thanks Doctor Reynolds." I hang up and sigh. I rummage around in the bedside table and find a phone book. I call a car rental company they agree to drop it off early tomorrow morning. I hang up and look at the clock, 10:45. I set the alarm for 5:45 and turn the light off. I roll over and realize how lonely it is without Bruno by my side. A single tear rolls down my face. I close my eyes and drift off into blackness.

*

"Let's go!" Everyone piled into the limo and we headed off to the airport. We boarded our plane and it seemed our flight was 3 days long. I was excited to see Brooke again. I wanted to do something romantic for her. Maybe dinner? We all grabbed our luggage and got into our awaiting van. Maybe a romantic dinner surprise in the room?

*

I woke up and changed into a neon yellow T-shirt with black softball seams across the front, and a pair of white stretchy riding pants. I braided my hair and put my rubber riding boots on. I clean up a little so when Bruno got here it wouldn't be so messy. Of course he wasn't getting here till tomorrow morning so I don't know why I bothered. I got into my sliver Honda I rented and went to a local gas station. I got a monster, a Starbucks coffee drink, and an energy bar. I got to the racetrack and I was surrounded by reporters. "Brooke! Is it true your engaged to pop singer Bruno Mars?" I held my hand with the ring up. "How long have you known him?" "I've known him since we were 5 we grew up in Waikiki together." "What happened yesterday?" I froze dead in my tracks. "Uh....small stomach bug." "What happened to your cheek?" "I fell." I wedged through the crowd and walked into the stables. I saddled Farah up and we started in front of the gates. I warmed her up by doing some simple dressage moves I taught her. Dressage is basically horse dance. After that we walk, trot, and gallop the track. After that we get into the gates and get serious. After that I did a few interviews and practice races. Thankfully at the end of the day I didn't pass out and Farah got lots of love, a cool bath, a brush down, and lots of treats. I showered off and changed into a tournament T-shirt, ripped up skinny jeans, and flip flops.

*

I walked into the doctors office, terrified. I was greeted by a man in his mid forties, black hair, brown eyes, really tan, almost looked maybe Hawaiian. "Hi Ms. Daniels I'm Doctor Reynolds." "Hi." He took me into an exam room and started talking. He said it wasn't bad, it was in the early stages but still it was going to be a long battle. He prescribed me some medication that I needed to start taking immediately. He sent them off to a Walgreens down the block from my hotel. They were closed but my prescription would be ready tomorrow afternoon. He said I needed to start looking for a cancer treatment facility tomorrow. "Thank you Doctor Reynolds." I walked out and started driving to my hotel. When I reached my floor there was white, pink and red roses all over the floor and the smell of vanilla was in the air. My favorite flowers and smell. "Someones getting lucky tonight." I followed the rose path and I turned and was aimed right for my door. Confused I unlocked it and walked in. As soon as I opened the door and a soft melody started playing. I turned the lights on and a table with a white table cloth and 2 silver trays of food. Standing beside it, Bruno, his hair brushed in a whomp, and he was wear hot pink shirt with a gray over shirt and matching pants. It was like a light switch being turned off, all my worries went away and I cracked a huge smile. "Aww! Bruno, this is so, aww!" I walk over and hug him. I get a pang of guilt in my stomach. I should tell him. But what if he doesn't love me anymore when he finds out? "You surprised?" "Yes of course! It's so romantic! It's an even bigger surprise because you're here a day early." He pulled my chair out and I sat. He sat across from me and we took the lids off of our dishes. Mine is chicken parmesan and his is steak and fries. We ate and talked nonstop but a voice in the back of my head kept nagging at me, telling me that I should tell him. Room service came and cleaned everything up for us. "I'm gonna grab a quick shower, wanna join me? It gets awful lonely in there." I looked at him and laughed. "I think I-" My blackberry starts ringing in my pocket. I look at the caller ID and sigh. "What is it?" "I'm sorry I gotta take this, it's important. You go ahead." He looked disappointed but I couldn't stick around. I stepped outside into the hallway. "Frankie?"

*

Brooke was hiding something from him and something told him it was something bad. I debated if I should leave her be or eavesdrop. I slowly walked to the door and pressed my ear against it. *

"What did the doctors say Brookie?" "He said it was still in it's early stages. But he said I needed to start looking for a treatment facility." "Have you told Bruno yet?" Tears start running down my cheek. "No, I can't I'm afraid." My voice cracks. The emotion was just terrible. Admitting the fact that I was dying and keeping it from Bruno was just overwhelming. "Brookie." He says sternly. "Frankie! I'm scared! You try knowing you're dying! It's not fun or easy! I have to keep this from my best friend! I have no one to comfort me. It's scary." "I'm sorry. I'll go. Just be safe." He hung up and left me heaving.

*

"Frankie! I'm scared! You try knowing you're dying! It's not fun or easy! I have to keep this from my best friend! I have no one to comfort me. It's scary." My blood ran cold. What was she hiding from me that was so bad? I heard heaving. Was she crying?! She started walking towards the door. I ran off into the bathroom and quickly turned the water on. I stepped in and washed off. I stepped out and wrapped a towel around my waist. I walked out of the bathroom and Brooke was rocking back and forth on the edge of the bed quietly crying. I put on some boxers and a tank top and sat beside her.

*

I walked back into the hotel and you know the feeling you get when you get the news a loved one you were really close to dies? Well that's how I was feeling right now, except a thousand time worse. I sat on the edge of the bed and wrapped my arms around me and started rocking. I was crying so hard I barely felt Bruno sit down beside me. "Brooke? Are you ok?" "Yeah just a bad stomachache." I stood up and wiped away my tears. "It's gone now. I'm fine" I forced a fake smile. He stood up and studied my face, his brown eyes full of worry. "No your not." He put his arms around me and hugged me. I melted in his arms. It just felt so good to be in them. I fought hard to hold the tears back but ever effort failed and they came running down my cheeks. "What's wrong baby?" I look at him and wanted to spill everything but I couldn't. "Just a stomachache." He put his hands on my hips. "Please tell me what it really is." "I'm scared." "Of what baby girl?" "I'm scared that if I tell you the truth you'll leave." "What? Are you serious? Baby I'm here forever. Please tell me." "No, Bruno, I'm scared. I don't want you to worry." "Brookie, you not telling me just gonna make it worse." I closed my eyes and took a deep breath. I felt Bruno wipe my tears away with his thumb. I opened my eyes. "I have.....I have leukemia Bruno." I braced myself for his hands leaving my hips and the sound of a door slamming. Instead his hands stay. I look at him and it looks like he just took a slap to the face. He looks horrified. "Oh my god....Oh my god. Brookie, oh my god." His voice cracked. "Just go on and leave me." "Brookie, I would never. We're best friends, I love you. Nothing can change the way I feel about you. Not even this. I don't care the you have leukemia, you're still beautiful to me, we'll get through this, together." I watched as tears roll down his cheeks. "You're my Brookie, always have been always will be." The way he talks makes it seem as if everything will end up ok. "Im so scared Bruno." "Me too baby girl." "Just promise you won't put your life on hold to take care of me." He opens his mouth to speak but hesitates. I can tell it's killing him inside not to say what he wants. "I can't promise you that." I rest my head on his shoulder and we slowly start swaying. "It's gonna be ok. We'll make it." He whispers. He takes my hand and leads me to the bathroom. He takes a wash cloth and runs it under some water. He puts it in his hand and gently wipes my face off. I smile. "There it is." He smiles too. "There what is?" "That smile, it's never gone for long. It's so beautiful." I blush. "I love you Bruno." "I love you too Brooke." He kisses me and walks out. I look at my reflection and sigh. I have to make it through this. 
I have to.