Chapter 30

04/08/2011 13:36

He runs his fingers through his curls. I stare at him, than turn around and head to the front door. The anger that fills me, overpowers the hurt from the arguement we just had. "Lena, where are you going?" He calls after me. I don't answer as I swing the door open. I hear his footsteps behind me. "It's not going to do any good...He doesn't have faith in me." He says, as realization for him sets in. I ignore him and walk as fast as my legs can go. Dropped him from the record label my ass! He has no idea what he just let go! Talent like Bruno's is rare, and for him to just toss it to the curb like he's nobody, is bull shit and I'm not going to just stand by and watch it happen. Somewhere along the way, Phred's car pulls up. "Lena, get in the car." I don't look at Bruno, and keep walking. "Dammit Lena!" He slams on his breaks and hits the steering wheel. I know that when I get stubborn, it drives him crazy, but he deserves a taste of his own medicine, Mr. Hard Headed. I make it to the label in record time. The chic at the front desk is the same one from last time I was here. I walk past her, down the hall. She runs after me telling me I can't go back there and bla bla bla. I start opening all the doors along the way, looking for Mr. Gordy. She tries to grab my arm, but I shrug it off. "Don't fuckin touch me or I promise you I will lay your toothpick ass on the floor.." I say and she backs up. I find him, in the last room to the left. It's his, office I'm assuming. He snaps his head up when I walk in. "Well Hello, you're lover boy's girlfriend I remember you." He says, with a smirk. "Take him back." I say. His smirk disappears a little. "I'm sorry Honey, but that's not going to happen." he says. I clench my fist. "Take. Him. Back." I repeat, trying to contain my anger that wants to spill out of me. He sighs a frustrated sigh. "If I had a nickel for everytime some kid's girlfriend came in here--" "Yeah, you'd be more fuckin rich than you already are. He's not just any kid..and I might just be 'a girlfriend', but I'm telling you sir..He will bring something to your label that you've never had before. He needs you, and believe me when I say, you need him." I tell him desperately. He chuckles. "I gave Peter a chance, and he blew it. He's not ready and not serious enough to be a part of my label. Maybe when he grows and matures, someone else will give him a shot." he says. I slam my fist on his desk, and he looks at it, with an amused smile. "It's Bruno." I say, glaring at him. His eyes roll up to look at me. "All you need to do is take him back... He has so much to offer you Mr. Gordy, don't shut the door on him yet. He works so hard at what he does, and I know at times it doesn't seem like it, But don't you goof off once in a while?" I say. He watches me talk, a little spark in his eye. "He's silly, and he loves to joke around and make people laugh, he's stubborn as hell, but a perfectionist. He doesn't always say the right things, and he sucks with technology, his dancing skills are not something to brag about, he's too damn lazy to comb his hair so he resorts to hats all the time, he can kill any instrument you throw his way, name any song and he'll know it, he can sing the alphabet and it'll sound like a number one, he can write off the top of his head, anywhere, anytime about anything, doo wop music is his life and combined with his style, voice and instrumental skills, he's something you've never seen or heard before, and if you don't take him back, excuse my language sir, you are a fuckin idiot." I say, a little out of breath. He says nothing. He keeps his eyes on me, rocking back and forth in his chair. I stare at him back, waiting. "Let me guess..And he wants world peace." he says, sarcastically, laughing at his own dumb joke. I glare at him, fuming. "Joke all you want sir, but I'm not leaving until you take him back." I tell him. His face turns serious. "You said it yourself, he's a kid, and maybe with your direction and some kind of guidance you can teach him and help him grow as an artist, I know without a doubt he'll make it to the top." I can almost see the wheels turning in his head. Yes! He's at least contemplating. It's working. "You can't deny that you felt something when you heard him sing sir." My last attempt. He leans back in his chair, and he kind of gets a far away look in his eyes. He rubs his chin and says, "I don't make calls, but it'll be wise if he keeps his phone on." The smile that spreads across my face is so big, my cheeks start to hurt and feel like they're going to fall off. "Now get out of my office." He says. I hold in my squeal and tell him, "Yes sir." and walk out of the door. When it shuts, I let it out and do my happy dance. I hear someone snicker. I turn around, and Bruno is leaning against the door across from me. I raise an eyebrow at him. He sighs, and walks up to me. "Lena, I'm sorr--" I cover his mouth. "Shut up, I don't want to hear that word." I tell him. I feel his smile against my hand. He grabs my legs and picks me up. He has that look in his eyes. I smile, and that's all he needs. He practically runs down the hall, me still in his arms. I laugh. "You're gonna drop me!" I scream. "The only place I'm dropping you babe is my bed, so I hope you're ready." he says, and I laugh hysterically. He literally throws me in the passenger seat of the car and hops in the driver's side. He's never driven to his apartment so fast before in his life. He grabs my hand, dragging me and running up the stairs. When he opens the door, he picks me up again, kissing me. He kicks the door shut with his foot. He looks back and forth between his room and the couch. I laugh when he throws me on the couch, and drops his pants almost at the same time.

* * * *

He softly kisses his way from my stomach up to my lips. He has a satisfied smile on his face, while I have an exhausted one. He plays with my hair. "Ready for more?" he asks, and I bust out laughing. He does too, but I know he's serious. "Babe, you wore me out." I tell him, honestly. He smiles. "I'm surprised your voice isn't worn out too." He says, and I hit him, while he laughs. The buzzer goes off and Bruno rolls his eyes. He reluctantly gets up, in just his boxers. Halfway there, he turns around. "Stop looking at my ass Lena!" he says. I laugh. "I wasn't!" He shakes his finger at me. "You were, I know how you are, you little nasty." he says. "That ass is mine, so I can do whatever I want with it." I tell him, smugly. "Oh really?" he says. I raise my eyebrows. "Really." I say. He jumps on top of me, kissing and tickling me. I laugh and scream, the buzzer going off again. He ignores it, but Phred's voice fills the apartment. "Peterrrrrrr!" he says, in a high girly voice. I cover my mouth, hiding my laugh. Bruno shakes his head. He gets up again. "No espeaki ingles!" he says, in a fake Mexican accent. "Abrre la puerta cabron, si no quieres un chingadazo!" Ahmity says and I almost roll off the couch laughing at Bruno's face. "What did she say?" he asks. "She said open the door, or you'll get your ass whooped." He pushes the talk button. "No te creo!" he says. My jaw drops. He turns, and smiles showing his dimples. I throw a shoe at him. "Where the hell did that come from?!" I say, shocked. "You think I don't know Spanish?" He says, with a face. "You don't know Spanish." I tell him, bluntly. "Okay, I don't know Spanish, but I picked up on it." He says. The damn buzzer goes off and I hear all 3 of them arguing. Me and Bruno listen, amused until they realize. "Open the door dammit!" Eric says, and I can tell by his tone, that he's getting angry and not playing anymore. Bruno can tell too, and he rolls his eyes. He presses the button for the door. "Bruno!" He looks at me crazy. I throw his clothes at him and I throw mine on as fast as I can. Bruno gets his leg stuck somehow in his pants and as I hear them outside the door, I push him into his room. He lands with a thud, and I hear him say "Owww!" I hide my smile as the door busts open. They walk in with boxes of leftover food from the restaurant. Phred stays close to Ahmity wherever she walks, and I see Eric watch him as he keeps his distance. Bruno emerges from his room, fully dressed, with that damn goofy smile on his face. Ahmity looks at me, than my hair. "Lena, you look like you just got done having sex." she says, very bluntly. My face turns as red as a cherry and Bruno chokes a little. Phred is looking back and forth between me and him, with wide eyes. Eric just shakes his head and turns the t.v. on. "Should I not be sitting on this couch than?" he says. "We didn't do anything, shut up!" Bruno lies. "We didn't do anything." I repeat softly to my sister. She nods her head, seeing right through me and not believing me. Bruno grabs me and kisses me. "But tonight we'll definitely be doing something, right babe?" He says. I feel my face get hot. "She got Mr. Gordy to keep me signed!!" he yells, all dramatically. Phred and Eric snap their heads up. "What?!" Phred screams. "Don't fuck with me Bruno.." Eric says. "This time, I'm actually not." he says. Phred screams, throwing his head back, his dreads almost touching the floor. Ahmity looks at him and laughs, her face and eyes lighting up. It's like the day he got signed originally all over again. Bruno and Eric jumping around the room like monkies, yelling at the top of their lungs. Phred dancing in the kitchen. I smile, loving my life for this brief minute. "Lena, how did you...I mean, it's impossible....What did you do?" Eric asks me. I blush, hating that all of them are looking at me. I hate being the center of attention, even if it's in front of people I've known my whole life. "I just, went in there..and told him to take him back." I mumble. Except Bruno, they all stare at me with their mouths open. After a minute of silence, Bruno yells. "BULLSHIT!" They turn their attention to him, thank god. "Lena snapped. I've never seen her like that before in my life. She called him a fuckin idiot.....Oh my god, it was great." he says, with a huge cheesy smile. Eric throws his head back and laughs. So does Ahmity. Phred looks at both of them, not showing any facial expression. Jeez, this little love triangle is just going to get more and more uncomfortable as time passes. Eric grabs me and tosses me in the air like a damn basketball. "Eric!" They know it scares the hell outta me, but they still do it. "Okay, I'm sorry.." He puts me down and squeezes me. This squeeze is different though, it's more loving, instead of trying to suffocate me. "Where the hell would he be without you kid?" he says, softly. I don't know why, but that makes me tear up. Bruno sees, but doesn't say anything. After Eric lets me go, Bruno pulls me into his arms. "Have I told you lately that you're amazing?" he says. Everyone in the room groans. "What?!" He says. I laugh. They all go on about how cheesy he is. I listen to them all rip on each other, make fun and play around. I love all the people in this room, but the new little 'family' were starting to become, makes the love I feel for them so much stronger. "Let's celebrate!" Phred says. I make a face. "The last 2 times we 'celebrated' didn't go so well." I tell him. "3rd times a charm." He says, with a smile. "Yeah and 3 strikes and your out." I argue. He scowls. "We don't have to drink, we can just go to dance." Ahmity says. We all look at her, with an 'are you kidding' face'. She puts her hands up. "Or I could just not drink and dance, while you all...." she trails off. "Come on babe, just for a couple of hours, nothing will happen.. I'll be by your side the whole time." He says. Something inside me screams no, and your always supposed to go with your first instinct, but no, because I'm Lena Osvala, I have to ignore it and say "Okay, Let's go celebrate."

* * * *

"Ahmity!" Bruno pounds on the door. She opens it. "What?" she says, with attitude. "Let's goooooooo!" he says in her face. She closes the door. I bust out laughing when Bruno bangs his head against it. "I told you she takes longer than me." I say, smugly. He lets himself fall on the couch next to me. I inhale his slightly stronger than usual cologne smell. He's wearing a dark blue, light blue and white plaid shirt under a dark blue jean jacket, black skinny jeans, his gray Converse and a dark gray fedora. If I had my way, I would stare at him forever. There's something about when we go out, that makes him 100 times sexier. Phred comes out of the bathroom, wearing plaid also. His dreads are tied up, with a couple loose ones hanging in the front. His beard is trimmed and he looks fresh. "Where's Ahmity?" he asks. Me and Bruno both point to the door. He knocks lightly, versus Bruno's pounding. She opens it frustrated, but her fire is put out quickly when she sees Phred. They both stare at each other. "Hi." she finally says. I throw up my hand. Oh good Lord! "Hi." He says back. "The time is now 10:50, We need to roll out." I say, to break the awkward fest that is going on between the 2 of them. "I'm just about ready...Just gotta put on my necklace." she says. I pretend not to look when Phred takes it out of her hands. He gently moves her hair, and puts the necklace on her. His fingertips lightly brush her neck and I can almost feel the butterflies I know she has fluttering around in her stomach. Her face is bright red. The front door opens and Eric walks in. I look him up and down, knowing he dressed like that for Ahmity. Eric lives in T shirts, no matter where we go. He has on a black button up shirt, and light jeans. His hair is done and I can smell his cologne over Bruno's, which is for me, is hard to do. I can smell Bruno anywhere. "Everybody ready?" he asks. Phred kind of glares at him, but Eric pretends not to notice. I gulp, feeling the tension. Bruno does too, and he rushes everyone out of the door, thank goodness.

* * * *

When we get to The Club, Ahmity gets out of the car, dancing before we even get to the doors. I smile, remembering her when we were little dancing around the house. She's always loved it. She disappears to the dance floor when we get in, and Phred is right behind her. Eric goes to the bar. Bruno and I follow. They both order a drink. I stare at Bruno. He kisses me. "I'll just have one." He tells me. I raise my eyebrows. He laughs, knowing he's lying. I don't argue because I know it's no use. I grab it and take a sip, just to know what he's drinking. I almost spit it out, making a face. He laughs harder. "What is that?!" I say. "Gingerale and rum.... I like to call it dancing juice." He says, with a smile. He downs it. 4 glasses of 'dancing juice' later, I find out why he calls it that. I sit on the stool, watching him, trying to dance, but not caring that he looks like a fool. I smile, and my heart swells with the love that I have for this kid. I search for Ahmity and I see her and Phred in the middle of the dance floor. She has her hands all in his dreads, and he has his hands on her hips, the both of them dancing like nobody else is around. Right when I'm about to turn my head to look away, I see it. I can't help smiling. Phred grabs her face with both hands and kisses her. She grabs his dreads and kisses him back. Out of the corner of my eye, I see Eric watching too. His eyes are droopy and red, and he's swaying. He turns around and orders another drink. I push through the people to get to him. "Eric!" He slams the drink he just got, and tries to order another one, but I stop the bartender. "What the fuck Lena?!" He yells. "You had enough Eric, I think you should sit down." I tell him. He shrugs my hand off of his arm. "I don't wannnna sssssit dowwnn." He slurs. He has his eyes on Ahmity and Phred who are making out and dancing. Eric clenches his fists. My heart pounds and my stomach starts to turn. "Okay, you don't have to sit down, let's go... up there." I point to the floor upstairs which serves more as a lounge area. "I nevvverr fell out of lovvve with heeerrr." he says. I stare up at him. His eyes are narrowed as he watches Ahmity. "There were ssssso mannny thingsss I wanted to tell herr." I listen, and don't say a word. "I've nevvver loved anybody but herr, and sssshe jussst left!" He tightens his jaw. "She just left like I was nobody." he says, and I can feel the hurt in his voice. "She didn't just leave you Eric, she left me too, but I know if she could go back, she would of done things differently." I tell him. "I told herr I wasss there for her, ssshe wasn't going to go through it alonne." he says. His eyes are glassy, and I can't tell if they're tears or just from being drunk. "Ssshe can't telll me that ssshe doesn't sstill feel the ssame, I sstill love herr." he says. My heart aches for him. I look back at her, and she looks like she's having the time of her life with Phred. "Come on." I grab his arm to pull him towards the upstairs, but he shrugs it off again. He starts to push past people, heading straight for my sister. "Eric!" I run after him, but I get shoved back and forth by the people and I'm too short to see above them. I keep calling his name, even though I know it'll do no good. As I squeeze my way through, I hear yelling and commotion. I manage to get out of the crowd. Ahmity is standing in between Eric and Phred. Phred is breathing heavy and his fist are ready. Eric's face is red. Great. "Look dawg, if she wanted you she woulda chose you, but she didn't so stop cockblocking and move around!" Phred yells. "You think just because she kissed you back, she chose you?! Fuck that!" Eric yells back. Ahmity looks like she wants to cry. Their arguement isn't causing a scene (yet), but the more heated they get, I already know they'll get physical. I pull Eric's arm, and Ahmity pushes Phred the opposite direction. I grab his face. "Stop! I know you've known Ahmity longer, but you and Phred are like brother's, You gotta realize that! How do you think Ahmity will feel if you guys just toss aside you're friendship for her. It's not gonna fly!" I yell. He's not looking at me, but I know he's listening. "The 5 of us are like a family, and how do you think she's gonna feel if she knows you and Phred broke up this little family because of her. It's happened once, and I know she'll be damned if it happens again!" He rubs his eyes and his forehead, and I know what I'm saying is getting through to him, unlike his rock head brother. "Let's just go home, sleep it off, and all of this will can be handled tomorrow." I tell him. He nods, slowly and I feel at ease as we make our way back through the crowd. I see my sister and Preesh at the other end of the bar, looking exactly like me and Eric. Her yelling and Phred listening, but not looking at her. I make Eric drink a glass of water, and than my eyes roam in search of Bruno. When I don't see him, I kneel on one of the stools to get a better look. But still nothing. My heart beats fast. Oh god, where is he? "Eric, where's Bruno?" I yell to him. He looks up and around, than his eyes roll up. I follow his eyes and he's upstairs. But he's not alone. I feel my face turn bright red and my nails are digging into my palms from clenching my fist so hard. I can hear her damn giggle over the loud music. I start shaking when I see her hands go up and down his chest. Before I know it, I'm flying up the stairs, ready to attack this bitch named Claudia....................................