Chapter 31-35

29/12/2011 16:13

CHAPTER 31

“Oh my god, I’m going to go to sleep,” Bruno said as he walked into the door of his bedroom. He dropped his bags on the ground, belly-flopping onto the mattress as he sunk into it. I laughed as I set one of my bags on the ground as well.

“It’s only ten in the morning,” I stated as I glanced at the clock on his nightstand. We’d literally just gotten back from the bus, after driving a total of 10 hours the night before. And sleeping on a moving bus was not the easiest thing to do.

“I don’t care,” Bruno mumbled against the duvet. “I’m fucking tired.”

I laid down on the bed next to him, rolling on my side as I propped my head up with my elbow, looking at him. He rolled over next to me, nuzzling his head into my tummy as he wrapped his arms around me tightly, his face hidden. “Brunoooo,” I laughed as I struggled to get out of his tight grip.

“You’re trying to leave me,” he said in a muffled tone, pulling me tighter. “Come sleep with meee.”

“As much as I’d love to go to bed, I’ve got a meeting at noon, and I really need to shower.” I said as I freed myself from him. He lifted his head up, his eyes twinkling as he glanced up at me. “No,” I laughed in response to his unasked question, slightly taking a step away from the bed.

“I don’t care what you say this time,” Bruno said as he sat his feet over the side of the bed, wrapping his arms around my hips as I stood. “I’m not listening.” He stood up, looking me in the eye with a devilish smirk on his face.

“I thought you said you were tired,” I mocked, raising an eyebrow. He rolled his eyes at me. “I changed my mind,” he simply stated, taking off his fedora and tossing it aside on the bed. I grabbed some things, walking towards the bathroom. Before walking in the door, I turned around to face Bruno who was right behind me.

“But I’m serious, Bruno,” I stated, giving him a look. “I need to get ready, and I’m not going to be late because of you,” I said, gently poking him in the chest. He simply smiled, shaking his head as he placed his hand on my lower back, gently pushing me in the door. “Don’t worry, I’ve got to be at the studio at twelve-thirty anyways…”

I turned on the water, hopping into the shower after giving Bruno a ‘Don’t you even try’ look when I saw him watching me intently. After a few moments, I felt him standing behind me, resting his chin on my shoulder.

Trying my best to ignore him, I grabbed the shampoo bottle, flipping open the cap. I felt Bruno’s lips gently kissing my neck, his hands beginning to slide around from my back to my ribs. “Bruno.”

“Hmm?” He replied, still kissing me.

“I’m actually trying to shower,” I said, reaching down to remove his hands from across my breasts. “As am I,” He answered matter-of-factly.

I rolled my eyes. “I beg to differ.” He laughed against my neck before leaning in to kiss it again.

I squeezed a blob of shampoo into my hand, trying not to give in. His hands slid around my stomach, slowly beginning to move down. My body temperature slightly heated as I slapped the shampoo on my head, beginning to rub it in. I ignored his touch completely until his fingertips were just at my waist line, slightly causing me to flinch.

Oh my god, he is going to kill— “Bruno!” I half-yelped out, spinning around to face him when his hand ventured far too low. He smirked at me. “If you keep touching me like that, then neither of us are going to get where we need to be in time.”

“That’s alright, I can reschedule.” Bruno said as he leaned in, kissing me on the neck.

“Yeah, well I can’t.” I stated, half out of breath as I tried to keep control of myself. He smiled against my neck; he knew what he was doing was working. Fuck you, I thought as I felt myself wrap my arms around his neck, pulling his face up so I could kiss his lips.

I felt my back being pressed against the shower wall as Bruno kissed me, pressing his body closer towards mine. I pulled back, shaking my head as he tried to adjust his body around mine. “No Bruno,” I stated as I looked at him, knowing of his intentions. “I have two hours to be there and we don’t even have— do you evenrealize this is unsafe on so many levels?” I stuttered, shaking my head.

“Come on Abbyyy,” Bruno whined in a small voice. “Just five minutes, I swear,” He begged. “Five minutes won’t hurt anything.”

I let out a sigh as he began kissing me on my neck again. “Bruno I, oh my god,” I said, failing at trying to disagree with him.

“If I get pregnant,” I said, slightly out of breath. “You’re keeping the kid,” I said in a joking manner, replacing my arms around his neck.

“Deal.” Bruno whispered, leaning in to kiss my lips again as he began to press his body against mine.

It wasn’t until after our body heat cooled down and our breathing returned to normal that I realized the water in the shower had run cold. I stepped out, wrapping myself in a towel as I shivered, drying off. I felt Bruno’s hands on my arms, rubbing them to make me feel warmer.

Bruno stepped out of the bathroom to get dressed while I used the mirror to get ready. After drying my hair and doing my makeup, I finally walked back into Bruno’s bedroom, seeing he was outside on the balcony.

I walked up behind him, wrapping my arms around his waist as I rested my chin on his shoulder. He pulled a cigarette from his mouth, letting out a small puff of smoke.

“I hope you die from that one day,” I said jokingly as I watched him. He slightly shrugged his shoulders, knowing that I didn’t exactly love his habit,

“Hasn’t killed me yet,” he said as he looked off in the distance. Bruno’s house laid on the side of a hill, his backyard facing towards most of downtown LA. The distance you could see from the balcony was nearly unbelievable, making nice scenery from the bedroom window.

I shrugged my shoulders, silence filling around us. My mind somehow drifted off into thinking about upcoming plans in events as neither of us said anything. October was just right around the corner, and we were already expecting a busy month coming up, making me not in the mood for working. “Hey,” I said, realizing something. Bruno turned to look at me, a questioning look on his face. “Your birthday’s in just a couple of weeks I realized.” I said, smiling at him.

He smiled back, kissing my forehead once before looking back off the balcony. “And?” he asked, inhaling from his cigarette again.

”And,” I said, copying his tone, “that means I need to get you something…” I stated, half pondering to myself.

“I don’t need anything,” Bruno replied, taking one arm and wrapping it around my shoulder.

“Bullshit,” I stated back. “There’s gotta be something you’d want.”

Bruno let out a dramatic sigh, thinking for a moment. “Well, I suppose some birthday sex would do me right,” he laughed, looking at me.

I rolled my eyes, laughing. “Whatever, I’m going to get you something and you’regoing to love it,” I said, trying to think of something.

“Mmm, aggressive, I like it,” Bruno said, glancing at me as he laughed. I shook my head again, silence surrounding us once more.

Bruno brought the cigarette to his mouth again as I watched him. After he breathed it out, I said, “You really should stop smoking.” Bruno peeled his eyes away from in front of him, turning to face me with a slightly amused expression.

“Alright,” he said with a small smile. “I’ll stop smoking the day you stop loving me.”

I squinted my eyes at him. “That’s hardly even fair,” I stated, slightly nudging him. He smirked, letting out another puff before facing out again. “Seems fair to me,” he laughed.

I shook my head, realizing I should probably head out. “I gotta go,” I said gently in his ear, giving him a tiny kiss. He glanced down at a gold watch on his wrist, checking the time.

“Yeah,” He nodded his head in agreement. “I should probably head over to the studio anyways.”

“Abigail!” I heard Bruno sing later that day as the door to my apartment slammed shut. I stepped out of the office, walking down the hallway towards the door, seeing Bruno walking to me.

He smiled brightly as he pulled me into his arms, quickly kissing me. “Guess who’s got a new single coming out next week?” He asked excitedly.

“Really?!” I said in a similar voice, happy for him. “You guys already got it finished?”

Bruno nodded his head with an attempt at concealing his smile. “We spent all day working on it, and it should be ready to go by Monday.” He added with another smile.

“Oh my God, I want to hear it!” I said excitedly. Bruno shook his head at me, a sly smirk on his face. “Why?” I asked, wondering why he shook his head.

“Because,” He said touching his nose against mine before leaning out. “You’re just going to have to wait like everyone else until you hear the final product.”

I sent him a pretend glare, watching his amused face light up at my reaction. “Fine,” I said crossing my arms. “I didn’t want to hear it anyways.” Bruno laughed as he grabbed my shoulders, pulling me in to hug my body, my arms still crossed.

“Patience is a virtue, Abby.”

 

 

CHAPTER 32

A sharp, loud, ringing drew me out of my sleep immediately. I shot open my eyes, glancing to my ringing phone that sat on my bedside table. Seeing Bruno’s name on the caller ID, I brought the phone up to my ear, still lying down.

“Hello?” I asked groggily, my eyes closed.

“Abby?” Bruno’s voice sounded quite alert compared to my own.

“It’s nearly five in the morning, Bruno.” I said as I forced myself to look at my bedside clock. “What do you need?”

“I can’t sleep,” he confessed into the phone with a sigh.

“It’s called insomnia, you can get medicine for it,” I replied, nearly falling asleep on the spot.

“But this isn’t. I’m nervous, Abby. I wake up and my mind just races and races on and on all about music. I close my eyes but I can’t sleep because I keep thinking of the song, and then my nerves rise, and now I don’t know why I’m feeling like this,” He stated almost too quickly for me to comprehend.

“You’re fine,” I said in a calm voice. I knew Bruno was nervous when his song, ‘It Will Rain’ was released yesterday, worried of other peoples’ reactions towards it. But I also knew he tended to overreact on things like this, which really got his brain stirring. “Just calm down and try not to worry about it. I told you its perfect, and that’s coming from an opinion from someone with a great taste in music,” I said with a tiny smile.

I heard him let out a nervous breath on the other side. “I hope you’re right,” He said nervously. “I just have this strange feeling…I can’t even explain it.”

“I know. But it’ll be better if you don’t let it get to your head.”

I could almost see him nodding his head in response to my answer. “You’re right, I need to stop worrying.” He stated with a deep breath. “Will you help me fall back to sleep?” He asked in a childish voice, making me smile.

“You know I’d sing you a lullaby, but my voice is wretched.” I said with a small giggle.

“That’s fine,” Bruno said in a more relaxed voice. “Just the calmness of your voice soothes me enough.”

I nodded my head, nearly falling asleep. A small silence filled his side of the line as well until he spoke again. “Will you come into the studio with me on Friday?” He asked, breaking the silence.

“Sure, is there something special going on?” I asked in a sleepy voice.

“No, I just want you to come,” he said with a tiny bit of happiness to his voice.

“Mhmm,” I mumbled in reply, falling asleep as the phone fell from my ear.

“Ugh, why chose such an early time?” I asked as I rested my elbow on the ledge of the car’s window.

“Because, Abby, it’s Friday. You don’t want to have a night session on a Friday.” He stated in a duh sort of a way.

“Oh right,” I said sarcastically, letting myself close my eyes as I rested my head against the window.

When we arrived to the studio, no one else was there. Bruno had to use one of his keys to get the actual building itself unlocked on order for us to get in. He said that everyone else should be there shortly, so we both just went into the studio they had assigned to them.

I laid down on a sofa in the studio, resting my head on Bruno’s lap as he sat, looking down at me. “So what’s so exciting about this session anyways?” I asked, feeling Bruno’s fingertips playing with my hair.

Bruno smirked, looking down at me. “That’s for me to know and you not to know,” He said as he slightly laughed.

I made a not-so-happy face at him, staring at his eyes for a few minutes. After a bit I burst out laughing as he began making funny faces at me. “Please tell me, I want to know,” I begged, giving him a pouty lip.

“I want to know, nah nah nah,” Bruno said in a girl voice mimicking me as he leaned down, speaking against my nose. His lips touched mine, kissing me in an awkward position as his head was sideways compared to mine.

The sound of the door opening caused Bruno to draw back, sitting up again as he looked across the room. I turned my head to see Phil walking in the door holding coffee in one hand and a guitar case in the other. Ari came in behind him, along with a few other producers from the label that I’d seen a couple of times. Finally a woman I’d never seen came in, shutting the door behind her.

She appeared to be a couple of years older than me, but certainly didn’t look old. Her brown hair was pulled back into a sloppy bun, low on her head. Bright white teeth flashed as she laughed about something her and Ari were talking about. I watched her as she set her coffee cup on a small table, taking off her black jacket.

I turned my head up to face Bruno again, who was looking across the room. He glanced down at me when I moved my head, still slightly playing with my hair. “Who’s that?” I mouthed with my lips to him, giving him a questioning look.

He pondered for a moment before his face lit up. “Oh, right!” he quickly said, getting up from the couch when I sat up. We walked over to the small group of people as they all talked.

“This is James and Aaron from the label,” he said, turning towards me as he introduced the two guys. “You’ve met Ari, and this is Sydney,” He added, nodding to the girl who smiled. “She’s a new producer and is helping us out with some upcoming things.”

I smiled at the girl, shaking her hand as Bruno introduced me to her. Her smile was sincere, and before I had a chance to think anything of her, Bruno was already speaking again. “Welp,” he said, glancing up at a clock near the door. “This was fun. Now let’s get this bitch running!” He laughed, everyone preparing themselves to work.

I sat on the couch most of the time, watching them as they mostly messed around on the instruments, not really getting much accomplished. Every once in a while, Bruno or Phil would hum a few things inaudible to me, strumming on the guitar, or tapping on the bongos.

Sydney joined in with the guys, making me feel jealous of how she shared the same knowledge of music as they did. I wondered how long she’d been working with them; they all seemed pretty comfortable around her. Bruno seemed to be enjoying himself around her, which slightly made me even more jealous. I tried to shake the thoughts away from my head, knowing I wasn’t like that.

Halfway through the session they seemed to be working on something specifically. Bruno would strum along to his guitar as Phil bobbed his head along, mouthing something off of his blackberry. They’d say a few things, which meant absolutely no sense to me, and then type it on the phone.

Bruno was sitting next to Sydney when Phil tossed her the phone. She read over it, shaking her head after a few seconds. Bruno turned to her, confused. She spoke quietly next to him before she glanced at the phone again. He nodded his head in agreement, taking it from her hands and writing something.

He smiled, leaning in to her ear, whispering something that sent her into an uproar of laughter. I cringed on the inside, telling myself to calm down. Even if he didn’t try, Bruno was the biggest flirt I’d even known. Sometimes I swore he’d forgotten that I was even there, which scared me a bit.

Chill Abby, I thought to myself, shaking my head. You’re such a jealous bitch. There’s nothing to worry about, I continued to think, convincing myself otherwise.

“So how long has she been working with you for?” I asked as we got into Bruno’s car.

He shrugged his shoulders, thinking for a minute. “Since we got back from tour. So almost two weeks now,” He replied, putting the key in the ignition.

I silently nodded my head for a moment, thinking. “So how come you never mentioned her before?” I asked, trying to sound casual.

Bruno was silent for a few seconds as he pulled out of the parking lot. He pondered the question for several moments until his face lit up. He turned to me with a funny smirk on his face. “You’re jealous, aren’t you?” he asked in a realizing tone.

I shook my head, looking forwards. I saw his smile brighten when I didn’t reply, and he let out a small giggle. “You are so jealous. I can’t believe my little Abby is actually jealous!” He said in a laughing manner.

“I’m not jealous,” I stated, still avoiding eye contact. “It was merely a question.”

Bruno reached his hand over, grabbing mine. “You’re such a bad liar.” He stated as he looked back on the road. “Oh come on,” he said as I bit my lip. “You don’t need to worry cause she’s got nothing on you, baby!” He said, singing the last bit.

I rolled my eyes, letting out a small laugh at his cheesiness. “I told you, I’m not jealous!” I said, smiling as I looked at him.

He rolled his eyes dramatically. “Yeah, and I’m horrible at sex,” He said sarcastically.

“You are,” I stated, giving him a sideways glance.

He turned towards me, a small smile on his lips. “So the truth comes out,” He stated, shaking his head. “But that’s not what you said the other night.”

I tried not to smile as I rolled my eyes again, looking forwards. I saw him looking at me from the corners of my eyes as he smirked back at me. “See, I told you you were a bad liar.”

“How do you know I wasn’t lying when I said that?” I asked, turning my head to face him again.

He had an amused smile on his face as he made eye contact with me. “Yeah, well we’ll see about that when we get home,” he stated with a wink before turning his eyes on the road once more.

 

 

CHAPTER 33

“Abigail,” The receptionist beeped into my phone. “You have a visitor outside,” she said in a sweetly suspicious voice.

I brought my head up from the papers I was looking at, thinking for a moment. “Alright, tell him I’ll be right there,” I said, closing the open laptop on my desk and shoving a few things into some file folders.

I walked down the small hall until I made it to the lounging area, seeing Bruno standing near the main desk. He smiled as he came up to me, his hands behind his back suspiciously. I eyed him funny as he swung his arm out, revealing a small bouquet of roses.

Taking them from him, I gave him a strange look. “And what are these for?” I asked, giving him a tiny smile.

He shrugged his shoulders. “Just cause…”

“Mhmm,” I said suspiciously, not believing him.

“What?!” He asked in a laughing voice, glancing around the room quickly. A few interns or other people eyed us curiously. Most had heard that we’re together, but I guess it proved to be hearing one thing rather than seeing Bruno Mars in the middle of the lobby with a bouquet of flowers.

I shook my head. “Seriously! What’s with the flowers? It’s so…random.” I said, sniffing them slightly.

“Can’t I just get you roses because I love you?” He asked, raising an eyebrow with a grin.

“Yes, but why else did you?” I replied, mirroring his expression.

He shrugged his shoulders. “Because I wanted to give you something nice and…” He paused, drifting off for a second, “I want to apologize in advance for being unable to make it to dinner tonight.” He said, biting his lip.

I felt my expression drop slightly, a bit disappointed. “Why can’t you make it?”

“Night session in the studio.” He stated, glancing at the floor. “I’m sorry,” He added softly, giving me a sympathetic look as he looked back up.

I shook my head. “No, its fine,” I said, looking at him. “If you want I could get some take-out after I get off work and bring it over?”

He shook his head, scratching the side of his neck. “Nah, that’s fine. We’ll be alright,” He said with a small shrug.

“You don’t want me to come by at all?” I asked, my disappointment dropping even further.

“I’d prefer it if you don’t,” He replied, still smiling at me.

“Why so suspicious?” I asked, eyeing him with a grin myself.

“Like I said, that’s for me to know, and you not to know.” He gave me a mocking smile, knowing that it bothered me how he wouldn’t tell.

“Oh come on, just tell me,” I said, giving him a sad look.

He shook his head. “With time, you’ll know.”

“And how much of this time is it going to be?”

“Give me a month, Abby,” He said with a  hopeful smile. “And then I can promise your impatience will be ceased.”

“A month?” I asked in a sad voice. “That’s far too long,” I whined, putting out my best pouting face.

He smiled at my expression. “Remember, patience is a virtue,” He said in a motherly fashion. “And if its anything like the past three months that I’ve been with you, then this month is going to go by fast,” he said, shifting closer to me.

I shook my head. “It’s still too long.”

He laughed, shaking his own head. “So are you still coming over after you’re done at the studio?” I asked after a few moments of silence.

“Not tonight,” he replied sympathetically.

“Right…” I said in a small voice.

“I’m not sure how long we’ll be, but by the looks of things now, it’s going to be a long night,” he said, looking at the ground slightly. I nodded my head, disappointed my plans for the night had been blown off.

“But I promise you, Abbs,” He said, shifting his eyes up in a hopeful manner. “Dinner. Tomorrow night. No delays.”

“Happy birthday, Bruno,” I smiled with a whisper against his ear several days later. He smiled back, wrapping an almost too-tight of a grip around my waist as he stumbled through the dark.

“Did you enjoy your birthday?” I asked, tilting my head that was currently spinning.

“Yes,” He smiled back, giving me a small kiss on my nose. “But my birthday’s not over yet…” he slurred, leaning in to kiss me.

I kissed him back for a few moments before drawing away with a strange smile on my face. Shit, I think I drank too much, I thought as I struggled to keep standing in the bedroom. “I think three am is plenty long for a birthday,” I said in response, glancing over at the digital clock by Bruno’s bedside table.

“I think not,” He said, not letting me out of his grip. “The best part of the night hasn’t even began.”

I smiled with the shake of my head, wriggling out of his arms. “I don’t even know how much longer it’ll be until I can’t stand straight,” I said, sitting down on his mattress. “My head’s spinning,” I added, my eyes widening as I tried to see clearly.

Bruno simply laughed, standing in front of me as he intertwined his fingers through mine. “No special birthday surprise?” He asked, his bottom lip suddenly pouting out.

I shook my head. Bad idea. My brain swirled even more as I rested my head against his chest, still sitting. “Tomorrow,” I stated as if making plans.

“But tomorrow’s not my birthday,” Bruno said, causing me to look up at him again.

“Then all the more reason to make it special,” I replied with a smirk.

“Fine,” He said with a sigh before turning to go to the bathroom. I laid down on the bed, closing my eyes, determined to make the spinning stop. Bruno hadn’t even gotten back from the bathroom before I drifted off.

“Good morning, sleepyhead.” I softly whispered in Bruno’s ear the next morning, a small smile on my lips. He mumbled a few words inaudibly, stirring in his sleep. I stood on his side of the bed, my hands behind my back as I tried not to laugh at his baby expression.

He opened his eyes after a few seconds, blinking in the bright light. “I’m surprised you’re up so soon,” He stated, his voice cracking from just waking up. “I’d of thought you’d sleep in much later.”

I slightly smiled. I was surprised myself, actually. I never took to hangovers quite well, so actually being up and awake at this hour was pretty unusual. Bruno sat up, slightly rubbing his head as he did, clearly from a headache. He squinted his eyes a few times as he still tried waking himself fully up before he looked at me.

He gave me a suspicious look as I stood in front of him. “Why are you up?” he asked after a moment of visually inspecting me.

“I forgot to give you this last night,” I said, plopping down on the bed in front of him, holding a small box in my hands.

He looked from the box, then at me, a sweet smile on his tired face. “I told you I didn’t want anything—“

“Just open it, Bruno.” I said, cutting him off.

He opened the small, navy box with care, probably already guessing what was inside based from the shape. He flipped open the top, revealing a golden-chained necklace, similar to the one around his neck. He looked back up at me, smiling still. “You know Abby, normally the guy is supposed to buy the girl jewelry,” He stated, raising his eyebrow.

I shrugged my shoulders. “I know, but you wear more jewelry than me anyways,” I said with a giggle, causing him to slightly laugh as well.

He looked down at the small, straight charm on the end of the chain.  On one side had small waves, appearing to be the ocean, both our initials gently engraved through the waves. The other side was smooth, containing the word, Survive.

He looked up at me, knowing what meant of it. The very first night he said he loved me. I remembered our conversation leading up to it. Don’t worry, we’ll survive this, he had said. And the way he looked up at me from the necklace showed he hadn’t forgotten.

Sure, it was only over three months, but it was a  small reminder to be with him every day, even if he’s off on tour or gone for the day, that I was still there. Not fully, but still there in a sense.

Bruno smiled at me as he unclasped it, putting it around his neck. “I love it,” he said with a boyish grin.

I rolled my eyes. “It’s cheesy, don’t try to sugar coat it,” I replied, knowing it was pretty stupid.

“No, I’m cheesy. But this,” he said, glancing at his chest. “This is lovely.”

I slightly laughed as he sat forwards, pulling me in so I was sitting on his lap now. “I love you, Abigail,” He said as he hugged me close, planting a kiss on the top of my head. “It’s perfect.”

 

 

CHAPTER 34

“Abby, I really hate to do this to you,” Bruno said later that afternoon as he buttoned up his shirt. “But I’ve got to go to the studio.”

I looked up from my cellphone, stopping halfway through a text message I planned on sending to Ally. “Of course,” I said in a small voice, almost a whisper as I rolled my eyes before looking back down at my phone.

I saw Bruno giving me a sad look as he walked over to me, wrapping his arms around me. “You know I’m sorry,” He said as he rested his chin on my shoulder.

I shrugged my shoulders. “I guess if you have to go, I can’t fight it,” I said, a little depressed.

“Are you mad?” He asked in a soft voice, his warm breath inches from my ear.

I slightly shook my head. “No, I just thought we’d get a chance to just relax and hang out. And it’s a Sunday, Bruno. A Sunday.”

I felt him nodding his head on my shoulder as he stayed silent for a few minutes. “I know, but I really want to get this done soon.” He finally said with a small sigh.

“You just finished a new song and have been home from tour for only a couple of weeks. I don’t think you have to rush anything,” I said, not exactly understanding his priorities.

“I don’t have to rush anything,” he said with a smile to his voice. “But I want to. And I can promise you in a month’s time, you won’t be disappointed.”

I slightly turned my head, seeing a sly smirk on his face. I gently smiled back, still not really happy at his sudden change of plans. “I hate how you do that,” I said with a tiny scowl.

“Do what?” He asked, his expression shifting slightly.

“Make things so secretive. You know I’m not a patient person,” I said, turning my body so that it was now facing him. He only smiled bigger at my statement.

“That’s what makes it fun,” he said with a wink as he leaned in to kiss me. After a few seconds, he pulled back with a bit of urgency, glancing down at the watch on his wrist.

“I should probably go,” He said as he looked up at me again. “Do you need a ride—“

“We took my car last night,” I said, reminding him, which was probably useless. I knew he probably didn’t remember a thing that happened throughout his entire party last night.

“Right,” he said with a slightly confused expression as he tried to remember. I watched as he walked over to grab his hat from the bathroom, placing it on his head. When he looked up from the floor, he stopped moving, giving me a sympathetic look. He must have noticed the expression on my face because he looked apologetic.

“I’m really sorry,” He said with a shrug. “If you want I could come over when we’re done and we could watch a movie or something simple,” He added with a hopeful look as to make me feel better.

“That’s alright,” I said, shrugging my own shoulders. “I’ll just call Ally or something.”

“Are you sure?” He asked, the same expression on his face. I thought I sounded pretty convincing, but clearly I must have not come off that way.

“Yeah,” I replied, trying to give him my best reassuring smile I could, despite the fact I really sort of felt like shit.

“Well fuck it!” Ally slightly yelled into my ear as I rested an elbow on the counter. I laughed against the receiver from her tone of voice. “Jake’s out of town tonight anyways, so we’ll call the girls up and have a night out on the town!”

“Sounds perfect to me,” I smiled back, excited to get out and do something. We both settled on a time to meet before I hung up with her.

A couple of hours later I stood next to a bar, loud music pumping throughout the place as I held a drink tightly in my hands. “I don’t get him, is that supposed to be normal?” Ally shouted over the music as I explained the events from the past few days.

I shrugged my shoulders, taking a sip of my drink. “I’m not sure. He wasn’t like that a few weeks ago. It’s all so suddenly,” I said, pondering the thought. “…since that Sydney chick…” I added with a small scowl, my mind drifting off onto something else.

Ally gave me a sympathetic look as she shook her head. “Abby, I don’t think you should be worried about that. You even said that she seemed pretty nice.”

“Yeah, but he was flirting with her so much that day,” I replied, a small wrinkle developing on my forehead as I scrunched it slightly. “I can’t help it but to think…” I said, drifting off into my thoughts.

Ally nodded her head in agreement, giving me a small shrug. “But you can’t think like that. It’ll just tear you apart worrying about shit like that. I mean, he’s a musician, obviously he’s going to be busy, you know?”

I nodded my head, seeing where she was coming from. “I suppose. I think it just pisses me off how he won’t tell me anything,” I replied as I took another drink.

I saw Ally’s smile as she took a drink from her glass. “Whatever, it’s kind of cute how he keeps it from you.”

“Not really. I hate waiting for things,” I said in an almost pleading voice.

Ally laughed at my expression. “It makes it all mysterious-like,” she said, wriggling her eyebrows.

 I rolled my eyes as I felt my phone vibrating in my pocket. Taking it out, I glanced down at it as it rang. “And speaking of…” I said as I saw Bruno’s name on the caller ID.

“Hey!” I said as I brought the phone to my ear, shouting over the loud music.

“Abby? Where are you?” Bruno’s voice sounded slightly confused as the music blared through my cell phone.

“I’m uh, out clubbing with the girls,” I replied loudly, covering my other ear with the side of my cup.

“Clubbing?” His voice sounded surprised and slightly demanding.

“Yessss,” I said, rolling my eyes at Ally who was watching me.

“Well are you leaving soon?” He asked with a slight hesitation.

“I’m not sure. We just got here only an hour ago,” I replied, not really feeling like leaving anytime soon.

“Oh.” He said in a flat tone.

“What’s the matter?” I asked, wondering why he seemed slightly strange. “You’re acting funny.”

“I just don’t—I don’t really feel comfortable with you being out in clubs.” He stated after hesitating a few times.

“Oh come on, it’s only us girls. What’s wrong with that?” I asked as I shook my head, still shouting over the music.

“…A lot of things,” Bruno mumbled back in a flat tone, not sounding very enthusiastic.

“Bruno, I’m fine. You don’t have to worry about anything; I’m very trusting,” I said cheekily, rolling my eyes.

“Yeah well guys aren’t very trusting,” he stated back smoothly with a sigh.

I nodded my head, taking a deep breath. “it’s alright Bruno. I promise I’ll leave soon, alright?” I said, compromising with him.

“Alright, Abbs. I love you,” he said in response, accepting my offer.

“Love you too,” I replied before ending the call. Ally was still looking at me, perplexed at the conversation she had to put together.

“Wow Abby,” She said, slightly shaking her head. I looked up from my phone as she spoke, placing it in my pocket. “Sounds like he’s got you whipped.”

I shook my head in disagreement. “No, I just don’t want him to get mad over something stupid…”

“Whatever,” Ally said, taking a drink from her glass. “Call it what you will.”

 

 

CHAPTER 35

“I don’t see why you’re making it such a big deal,” I said through the phone as I paced my kitchen.

“I’m not making it a big deal,” Bruno replied with a slight sigh.

“Well you’re making it seem that way,” I pointed out, taking an apple from the bowl on my counter.

Bruno was silent for a moment as he let out another sigh. “It just worries me—“

“Bruno, I’m not going to do anything. Trust me, I can handle myself,” I replied, cutting him off.

“I know,” Bruno said sounding slightly depressed. “I shouldn’t have said that…I think I was just bummed I wasn’t with you last night,” He added.

“Welcome to my world…” I slightly mumbled out, a little mad that he didn’t seem to notice the connections between the two situations.

“I know baby,” Bruno repeated again with a third sigh. “And I’m—“

“You’re sorry. I get it Bruno.” I said, quickly cutting him off again. He became silent once more as I spoke, the only sound coming from him that I could hear was from his soft breathing.

“But you know I hate doing this to you,” He said in a lighter tone. I simply nodded my head softly, not giving an audible reply. I honestly didn’t know what to think.

“Abby?” His voice sounded slightly strained as he softly spoke.

“Hmm?” I replied, staring off over the counter.

“I’m sorry. I really am.” Ugh, that’s all he says.

“I know,” I replied with a soft sigh, setting the apple down on the counter and spinning it around.

“Alright you know what?” Bruno said after a few moments of silence, his voice slightly louder. “This weekend. I promise I’ll make it all up to you,” He added with a smile to his voice.

I slightly smiled against the phone at his attempt. “I forgot to tell you,” I said, my expression dropping again. “I’m going to be out of town. We’ve got an event in NYC this weekend.”

“Hmm,” Bruno replied, sounding a bit disappointed for a moment. “Fine. Let’s go, right now.”

“Right now?” I asked, raising my eyebrows.

“Yeah. I’ll cancel all of my plans today so I can see you,” Bruno said in an optimistic tone.

I stood up straighter at his words, surprised at him. “Really?” I asked in a hopeful voice. “You know you don’t have to.”

“But I want to,” Bruno insisted. “And I feel bad for the past few days and last night.”

I smiled. That’s the normal Bruno. “Well, alright,” I said, biting back my lips.

“Great! Do you have a surfboard?” Bruno asked in a happy tone, suddenly changing directions on the subject.

“A surfboard? I don’t know about surfing…” I said, slightly shaking my head at the thought.

“That’s fine, I’ve got an extra,” Bruno replied, ignoring my comment completely.

“But I’ve never surfed before,” I said, trying to make him change his mind.

“And you never will if you don’t try.”

“Eh, I don’t know if I’m in the mood,” I lied, still not exactly wanting to go.

“It’s not like we’ll be out there all day. And I’ll tell Dre he can have the day off so it’ll be just you and me afterwards,” Bruno said in a flirtatious tone.

“Uh, surfing…” I said quietly, biting my lips.

“Sounds good. I’ll be there by noon. And make sure you wear your hot pink bikini, I like that one,” Bruno said with a naughty giggle, hanging up before I had the chance to protest.

“And stand up, Abby! Stand up, stand up! God damn it, STAND THE FUCK UP!” Bruno yelled across the water as he attempted at ‘coaching’ me.

I managed to shakily stand myself atop of the board as a very small wave pulled me across. I wasn’t up for more than five seconds when I lost my balance, letting out a loud scream before falling head first into the water.

I saw Bruno trying to suppress a laugh when I poked my head out of the water, wiping away the salt water from my face. I sent him a glare as I clinged onto my board as I paddled in the deeper water.

“I think I’m done,” I said as I flipped my wet hair back. It had been nearly two hours that I was in the water, and my progress was not getting much better. “I’ve gotten enough salt water in all the wrong places for one day,” I added.

Bruno raised an eyebrow at me with a slight smirk. “Really?” He asked, sounding intrigued.

I rolled my eyes. “I meant my nose, you pervert.”

He simply laughed as he followed behind me as we paddled in to the shore. We both carried our boards over to a quieter and less-crowded part of the beach.

I saw a few people who passed by taking second glances in our direction, recognizing Bruno. He simply smiled at them with his sunglasses on as he sat next to me while I laid down, tanning in the sun.

After another hour or so, I flipped over onto my stomach, propping my upper body up on my elbows as I faced Bruno.

“What are you thinking about?” I asked as I watched him staring off into the distance.

He glanced down at me for a moment before speaking. “I’m an asshole, aren’t I?” He asked in a serious tone.

I rolled over so that my body was sideways to his as I laid my head in his lap, looking up at his face. “I wouldn’t say that,” I said with a shrug.

He slightly smiled as he reached his hand down to touch the side of my face. “Well Iwas an asshole last night,” He said with the same look on his face. “I’m sorry.”

I smiled as I nodded my head. “It’s alright,” I said, reassuring him. His fingertips grazed across my cheek, moving down over my chest until they were at my belly button, drawing tiny circles.

“Just kick me where it hurts next time I’m an asshole,” He said with a small smirk. I rolled my eyes as I laughed, shaking my head. “I’m serious. Deal?” He asked, raising an eyebrow.

“Alright. Deal.” I said as I still laughed. He continued to draw lazy circles on my stomach as he shifted his gaze down at my body.

“I told you I love this swimsuit,” He said with a wink, hooking his finger beneath the tie of my bottoms.

“Brunooo,” I said as I reached my hand down to touch his. “There are people here I hope you know.”

He smiled boldly. “Well if I’m going to be on a tabloid for being dirty, it might as well be with you.”

I shook my head with a smile. He really needs to sort out his priorities. “Can we go? I’m starved,” I said after a moment, suddenly realizing I hadn’t eaten since breakfast.

He nodded his head, allowing me to get up and gather my stuff. I shoved my towel and cover-up into my bag, too lazy to put it back on. I saw Bruno eyeing me when I stood up from putting on my shoes, a dazed look in his eyes.

“Can we just skip our dinner plans?” He asked, biting back his lips as he looked at me.

I shook my head, laughing at his face. “Noooo, I’m far too hungry,” I said, beginning to walk away.

“I’m hungry too…” Bruno said almost inaudibly. I turned around as I took a step, giving him a strange look in reply to his comment before looking forwards again.

“Fine,” He said, coming up beside me. “But I’m taking desert to go,” He added with a wink, his right hand shifting down suddenly, resting on my butt.

I reached my left hand down, grabbing his from behind me and intertwining my fingers with his, bringing both our hands to our sides as I swung my arm.

“At least keep it rated G until we get to the car.”