Chapter 31-40

10/01/2012 13:59

Chapter 31

Some of my words we’re crossed out and scribbled out with pen. Some pages we’re even missing.”What? I didn’t do anything..” I walked over to her and put the notebook in her face, “Why did you write all in it? What we’re you thinking?” She backed away, “Bruno what the fuck! I just said I didn’t do anything.” I knew she was lying to me, right in my face. I snatched it away, “I swear you’re going to keep playing games with me and I’m gonna..” I stopped in mid sentence. I didn’t want to say anything I would regret. She stood up, “If you want me to continue helping you on your album, then you better watch how you talk to me.” Even though me, Phil, and Ari could produce the whole album by ourselves, I needed her help.

It was her who got me signed in the first place. I shook my head, “Look I’m sorry. I just don’t like when people mess with my shit.” “Whatever Bruno.” she said walking out of the room. Phred walked in, “What going on?” I sat back down on the couch, “Nothing.. at least nothing I can control.” He went and sat at the keyboard, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” I nodded, “I guess you’re right.” He started playing random little chords that I liked. Soon, it turned into a jamming session and me and him we’re hoping that we we’re making another good hit.

I tossed and turned a couple more times. There was no point in fighting it, I was woke now. I looked up at the alarm clock and realized that I had slept for 2 hours. I reached out for my cell phone on the nightstand, nothing new. I got up and went to the bathroom and came back to my phone. I dialed Bruno’s number.

I looked over to Karmen as I played my guitar. I knew she liked the way I grinded against it when I played, and I wanted her to be jealous of what she could no longer have. I closed my eyes and focused on the notes I was playing. It was a tune that I really couldn’t wait to find words for. I felt like it was something big. I heard my phone ringing and looked over to see Karmen answer it.

“Hello???” “Yeah hi Diamond!” I knew it was Karmen, but why is she answering his phone? “Hi….?” “Yeah Bruno’s working on this song right now, I think you’re going to love it!” I fake smiled to myself, “I bet.” “Oh wait nevermind here he is! Talk to you later.”

I frowned at her and snatched the phone away, “Hey babe.” “Hi Brunz, find you’re notebook?” “Actually, I’m going to talk to you about that when I get home.” I said looking at Karmen. She rolled her eyes and turned away. “Okay, well what do you want for dinner?” “Whatever you can whip up.” “Alright, see you soon then.” “Alright, love ya.” “Love you more.” I hung up the phone and put it in my pocket. “Please don’t answer my phone.” I said adjusting my guitar strap. “I was just doing you a favor.” You can do me a favor by getting out of my fucking life. “Yeah, okay.” I watched her as she got up and went to the mixing board. “Maybe you guys should add some of this, play again.” Me and Phred both started up playing again and she added just what I was looking for.

I walked into the kitchen and looked into the refrigerator. I decided on spaghetti and meatballs with some garlic bread. Bruno wouldn’t complain, that boy could eat. Right as I was almost done he walked in the door. He walked over to me and got behind me and put his hands around my waist, “Smells good.” I smiled and turned around to kiss him. He french kissed me and took my breath away. “Whoa Bruno, what’s all of that for.” He shrugged, “I don’t know just letting you know how I feel sometimes.” I giggled, “That’s what words are for..” He leaned in closer and whispered, “Who needs words when I got lips like yours.” It gave me butterflies. He still always managed to do this to me. “I don’t have a comeback for that one.” “Good, 2 points for Bruno, 3 for Diamond.” I smiled and pushed him away. ” Now, tell me about this notebook situation.” His smiled instantly turned into a frown….

 

 

Chapter 32

“She worte all in it, and tore pages out.” I frowned as well, “Why would she do that?” He looked down, “Well she says she didn’t do it, but who else would?” “I don’t know. But, we’ll find out.” I really loved Karmen, she was one of my good friends. I have always felt like her and Bruno we’re messing around, but I had nothing to prove it. I just hope that I never had to prove it, I just wanted both of us to be happy. He went over and sat at the bar and watched me once again. I made his plate and put it in front of him, without saying a word he dug in. I made my plate as well and went and sat next to him. We both ate and I cleaned up while he watched TV.

When I was finally done I went over and plopped down next to him, “What ya watching?” “MTV.” I smiled, “One day you’ll be on there.” He looked at me and smiled, “Yeah.” I lightly touched his nose, “And I’m going to be here, no matter how long it takes.” He took me in his arms and whispered to me, “And that’s why you mean so much to me.” I felt myself tear up but, I really didn’t want to cry. The love he gave me daily made me feel so special. As we unlocked I took a deep breath and laid my head on his shoulder.

We spent the next hour watching music videos and talking about what kind of songs would be on his album. After a point of silence I listened to the TV and him breathing and I fell right asleep.

I reached down into my pocket and pulled out my phone, it was 10:22 P.M. I guess I should go ahead and turn in too. I sat up and touched her hair, “Diamond let’s go to bed.” She opened her eyes and stretched. I turned off the TV and followed her to bed. I stripped down and literally jumped into the bed. She laughed as she crawled under the covers with me. I scooted as close to her as I could and put my legs in between hers, “Damn your warm.” She laughed, “Thanks?” I just smiled to myself and closed my eyes.

I woke up to my alarm clock blarring in my ears. “Ahhhh..” Bruno moaned. I reached over and hit it. I rolled over and opened my eyes, I did not want to go to work. “Why don’t you just quit.” I looked over to him and he still had his eyes closed, “Get out of my brain!” He laughed. I got up and went straight for a shower, it was the only thing that would wake me all the way up.

I turned over again, and looked out the window. The sun was barely up, I wish she would quit her job, she wouldn’t have to worry about getting up or leaving me. I sighed to myself and closed my eyes again to sleep.

My shower did it’s job and I got right out and went to get dressed. Bruno wasn’t turned my way and he didn’t stir so I knew he was sleep. I crept around getting my things together. I decided on a nice dress shirt and dress pants. I walked out into the kitchen and grabbed some pop tarts. I guess I was feeling like Bruno today. I grabbed my keys and purse and I was out the door.

I opened my eyes slowly and looked to the celling. I sat up on the edge of the bed, looked around and laid back down. I didn’t feel like doing anything today. After fighting with myself for 20 minutes, I finally got up and went and used the bathroom. I went into the living room and went straight into the living room and collapsed right back onto the couch. I had no idea why I was being so lazy, but I honestly didn’t care. I reached out for a piece of paper on the coffee table, this all gave me an idea……

 

Chapter 33

I started writing down lyrics about being lazy. It seemed stupid, but I laughed writing the first verse and kind of enjoyed myself. And the rest of the morning and afternoon, I did absoultely nothing.

The next week went by surprisingly fast. Work wasn’t half bad considering Deondrea made me laugh at everything. Bruno spent most of his time in the studio, and going to interviews. He didn’t like the media much but, I hoped he realized that he was going to be battling with them for the rest of his life now. He was starting to become more and more famous as the weeks past. I honestly hoped I was ready for it all. I would find out after he released his first album.

“I’ll just have a cesear salad please, ranch dressing.” I told the waiter. He nodded and turned to Carla, “And for you?” “I’ll just have the same.” He went around the entire table taking all of the girls orders. As I picked up my cup to drink, Michelle elbowed me. I quickly turned to her and gave her the what-the-hell-you-want-look. She nodded towards Carla’s direction and I watched her text on her phone. I looked back at Michelle with an confused look. She pointed to her hand and I looked at Carla’s hand. She had a wedding ring on. “You bitch!” I whispered. She instantly looked up, “Huh?” “Why didn’t you tell us?!” Tori and Jasmine looked down the table. Michelle pointed to her, “This girl is engagged, and she didn’t even tell us!” She looked around at everyone and smiled, “I was going to tell you all today.” “Aw, no you weren’t!” Michelle said. She put her phone down and looked at the ring, “I really was he just proposed last night.”

“Kameron right?” Tori said. She looked at her, “YES who else could it be?” Jasmine fake coughed, “You never know.” We all laughed. I was so happy for her. I couldn’t wait for the day Bruno proposed to me, I knew it was coming. It had to be. “So you got yourself a fiance..” I said. She smiled and shrugged, “I guess so.” “Can I help plan the wedding?” Tori said all excited. “Yes. I want you all to help.” “When do you want to have it?” Jasmine said scooting closer to all of us. “July.” “I can’t wait.” Michelle said.

Phil dropped a huge stack of papers in front of me on the coffee table. “I gotta sign all of this?” I said looking up to him and Phred. They both nodded. “Damn man this looks like a ton.” I said flipping threw the pages. “Just do it, and stop whining.” Phil said sitting on the couch. I made a face and him and began signing them. “You going to have to get used to it man, you want to have your stuff out on time.” Phred said from behind his laptop. I nodded, he was right. This EP did mean a lot to me. We worked hard to put this together and it was just a taste of what people could expect from my album. “Nothin’ On You is getting up there though.” he said turning the laptop around. I looked over, it was #9 on the Billboard Charts. I smiled everything was finally going to be right, and the world was going to learn about little ol’ Bruno Mars.

We all walked out of the resturant together laughing. I was stuffed and felt like I could fall over. “Drinks at Diamond’s place!” Jasmine yelled as she got in her car. I laughed, “Alright alright.” A drink actually sounded pretty good right now, just to settle my nerves. It was Saturday and I just wanted to hang with my girls. We all pulled up to my house and went in. I turned on the radio and we all danced. Before I knew it, we we’re pouring shots and playing a drinking game.

“Fucking done!” I yelled as I signed the last paper. Phil laughed. “It ain’t funny my damn hand was about to fall off.” I said shaking it. “But, you can play your guitar all day.” Eric threw in. I shot him a look, “That’s different!” He nodded, “Right right.” I sat back and pulled my phone out of my pocket, it was late already, 10:47. I felt like I had been signing papers for hours. I stood up, “I don’t know about you all, but I’m due for a drink.” “We don’t got anything here, we would need to go out.” Phil said looking up to me. “Okay, well let’s get to going.” It was pretty late and going out on a Saturday night in L.A. seemed a little dumb considering everyone was starting to notice me now. But, I didn’t care, I just wanted to have a good time. “Guys night out?” Phred said. “Absolutely.” I said smiling….

Chapter 34

Me and Phil got in my car while Phred followed behind with Eric. “Where should we go?” I asked Phil. He thought for a second, “Maybe we can hit up 14 Below tonight?” I nodded, “Good idea.” When we got there we parked around back and I went towards the V.I.P. section. “Hey hey Bruno.” he said smiling. I had no idea who he was, but I guess he recognized me. I shook his hand, “What’s good.” “Nothing man, it’s a pleasure to meet you.” I smiled, “Aw thanks.” He put purple wrist bands on all of us, “Alright guys be safe.” I didn’t like the way he said that, but I went on in anyway.

Michelle flipped over her card, “Aw shit waterfall!” I rubbed my face, “I can’t do any more waterfalls!” Michelle started drinking and we all followed. After it was finally done I was lightheaded. “I think I’m gonna be done now.” I said laying back on the couch. “You throwing in the towel already?” Jasmine said. I waved my hand, “Yes.” “Come on we almost out of cards.” Tori said. “Yeah you’re at home.” Carla added. “Alright alright bitches, I’ll do it.” I said sitting back up.

We walked down into the V.I.P. lounge where they we’re playing live music. Phil elbowed me, “Let’s go do a song.” I looked at him crazy, “Na man. I didn’t come out to sing.” “But, you know you want too.” He was actually right, I loved performing. I loved seeing people have a good time and dance to what I was producing. “You right, well let me get a couple drinks in, and then I guess we could cover a couple songs.” “Sounds like a plan.” We walked over to the bar and I sat at a stool. I adjusted my hat and waited for a bartender to come over. “What’ll you have?” he said wiping off the counter in front of me, “Rum, ginger ale, ice. Please.” He nodded, “Coming right up.”

I put my head down and started thinking about Diamond. I had just realized that we hadn’t talked in a couple hours. I couldn’t call her now that I’m in this bar. I assumed that she was with the girls so I didn’t bother calling.

I downed another shot and slouched over. I looked up at the ceiling and thought about Bruno. It’s been hours since we talked. It was way too loud in here for me to call him. He was most likely with the guys so I didn’t bother calling.

After my second drink I was feeling good. A tall girl with dark brown hair came and sat next to me. She wore a long red dress which I have to say showed off her cleavage really well. She looked at me and I smiled. “I know you.” “Yeah?” “I’m trying to remember you’re name now.” I nodded, “I’ll wait. She thought for another couple seconds, “Bruno. Bruno Mars?” I smiled from ear to ear, “Ding ding we got a winner.” She laughed, “You’re a cutie.” “Aw, thanks sweetie.” “So, you performing?” she said sipping her drink. “I guess I could go up and do a couple songs.” “I would really like that.” I looked over to the stage and it looked like the band up there was about done. “I got you.” I said getting up.

I was damn near ready to pass out. The doorbell rang, “Who the hell is at my door?” I said slurring my words. Jasmine jumped up, “I’ll get it.” She walked back in the room, “Look who decided to show up.” I leaned up and looked to see Karmen. She raised her hands, “You guys started without me?” I laughed, “I could’ve swore I called you!” Michelle looked at me, “You didn’t..” “Oh.” I started laughing again for no reason, I was so hammered…..

 

Chapter 35

I went over and gave Phil a look he already knew what it was. I walked over to the side of the small stage and the band coming off the stage was honored to meet me. I got up there and adjusted the mic. “Good evening everyone, I’m Bruno Mars.” Everyone cheered and clapped for me. I watched as the girl that sat next to me at the bar sit at a table close by. “I’ll start us off with a few covers, what ya’ll wanna hear?” I listened as people yelled countless artists. Phil went up to his mic, “Bruno I think I heard Michael Jackson.” “Oh yeah?” Someone yelled Dirty Diana. “I can roll up Dirty Diana!” I nodded to the guys and they began playing, and I sang..


Karmen came and sat next to me, “Girl you are wasted.” I looked at her, “Na, I’m just feeling good!” She shook her head and laughed, “I remember when you hated drinking.” “Well as you can see not anymore!” I said holding up my drink. Everyone laughed at me, “Where are the guys?” she asked. “You know that’s a good question, that damn Bruno.” I said smiling. “Yeah.” she said smiling also. The thought of her and Bruno popped into my head and I frowned. “What’s wrong?” she said. I put my drink down. I was feeling so open tonight. “Have you and Bruno ever fucked around?” I asked her. She looked at me seriously and everyone got quiet. They all stared at me, but I kept my eyes right on her. I needed to know.

I sang my heart out on that song and tired to make it as original as possible. They cheered for me on and on. “Alright alright, what’s next?” I leaned my head out and listened again. Once again to many artists we’re said. I managed to hear one of my all time favorite songs, Your Love by The Outfield. “I think I heard Your Love?” Everyone cheered again and I started singing..


She hesitated and looked around at everyone. “Well.. yeah.” My heart dropped, “Why Karmen?” “Diamond, I swear I’m so sorry. He just kept asking me.” I frowned, “I can’t believe you guys.” She reached out to grab my shoulder. “Don’t touch me.” I said moving away. “Diamond I swear I’m sorry, if I could take it all back I would.” I had started to cry now, “Your not sorry because, if so you would have told me if he tried to make a move on you! You wouldn’t have done it!” I yelled. I set myself up for this, it’s not like I didn’t already have a idea that they we’re messing around. Then I remembered something else, I looked at her. “When was the last time and where?”

By the end of that song I was sweating like crazy. The crowd chanted, “One more, one more.” “Brunz, we should hit em’ with some of our shit!” “Yeah? I don’t think they ready for all that!” I said shifting positions. “I don’t know they seem to be ready to me!” “Okay I think everyone knows this one, Nothin’ On You?” They cheered and I started singing our remix of the song that we made up in the studio one day..

If I told you I was perfect I’d be lying,

If theres something I’m not doing girl I’m trying..

I know I’m no angel girl, but I’m not so bad…

No, no, no…

 

Chapter 36

She just stared at me. “Tell me please.” I whispered. Why was I begging her? Did I really want to know something as terrible as this? “The last time we we’re at the studio.” I jumped back, “What?” I always had in my mind that the last time was here in our house when I went to work. “Yeah he was drinking and came in the bathroom while I was in there I tried to tell him it wasn’t right but..” “I can’t deal with you..” I said standing up. I stumbled around everyone. Michelle jumped up to help me to my room. I fell into my bed and let out the tears. “I’m tired of crying!” I screamed. What did I not have that Bruno was looking for? I just wanted it all to be right for a change.

After we did our remix the crowd roared. “Thank you, thank you. I love ya’ll” I said blowing kisses. We bowed and I walked off stage. I went back to the bar and sat down. I was kind of tired, I wasn’t expecting to do a mini show tonight honestly. “Aye can I get another drink?” I asked the bartender. He nodded and went to make it. When I turned back around I seen the girl coming towards me again, she had a towel. “That’s for me?” I asked. She nodded and I reached out for it. “No, let me get that for you.” she said wiping my forehead slowly. She wiped down my whole face all the way down to my neck.

I swallowed hard, “I didnt get you’re name?” “Tonya.” I smiled, “Thank you Tonya.” She looked at me up and down, “You put on a good show up there..” I looked at her the same way, “Yeah?” The bartender interrupted what was happening, “Here’s your drink sir.” I grabbed it, “My dancing juice.” She laughed, “Speaking of dancing, you should dance with me.” I raised an eyebrow, “Alright, after this drink.”

“Theres no telling what he’s always doing when he’s not with me.” I cried. Michelle hugged me, “It’s gonna be okay.” “It’s not, it’ll never be right. The problems never stop. He won’t even change, even after what happened he still hasn’t changed.” She unlocked from me, “What do you mean what happened?” My emotions were all over the place, I was just saying everything on my mind. “He tried to kill himself! He was gonna jump off a fucking building!” I cried. She put her hand over her mouth, “When? Why didn’t you tell me?!” I shook my head, “He didn’t want anyone to know.” “Oh my god.” she whispered.

I drank the rest of my drink while we talked about my career so far and how I was just blessed to be in this position. “It’s been a long road.” I said downing the rest of it. “Well your doing fine now it looks like. That’s all that matters.” I nodded and smiled, “You’re absolutely right.” She grabbed my hand and pulled me up, “Let’s dance now.” She pulled me towards the stairs.

“Brunz, where you going?!” Phil yelled. “I’ll be back, just dancing.” He frowned at me but, I kept going up the stairs. The music filled my ears and she lead me close by a speaker. She turned to me and put her arms around my neck. I instinctively put my hands on her waist. We both danced and we kept getting closer and closer. If I didn’t want to get myself into shit, I needed to stop this right now….

 

Chapter 37

I put my head in my hands, “I know. I saved him. He was actually going to do it.” “Diamond, I’m sorry. I didn’t realize that you guys we’re having problems like these.” she said rubbing my back. I wiped my face, “And I can’t stop them from coming, everyday it’s something new.” “Listen Diamond, you’re going to have to be strong about this. You’ve been threw worst, and you don’t deserve this.” I sniffed, “What do you think I should do?” 

She got really close to me and whispered in my ear, “Where you going after this?” I stopped dancing and back up. She frowned, “I’m sorry.”  I shook my head, “It’s not you. I got a girlfriend. And I need to make a change.” She smiled, “You’re a good guy for that one.” “If only you knew what I’ve done to her. I’ve gotta make it right.” She put her hand on my shoulder, “She should be lucky to have you.” I nodded, “I’m going to go home to her right now.” “It was nice meeting you Bruno Mars. I wish the best for your career.” “Thank you.” I said walking back downstairs.

“First, I suggest you talk to him, hear his side. Even though he’s done wrong everyone still needs their chances. And you know I’ve been telling you this for years. Bruno’s just honestly a good guy who makes bad choices. If you love him, you’re going to have to help him threw that.” I nodded, her words mean’t everything to me right now. I was tired of giving him chance after chance, but I guess that’s what love is. I knew that no one in the world could love him like I did. I was just waiting for the moment where he would realize that.

“You bout’ ready to go?” I said walking next to Phil. He looked at me surprisingly, “Oh! You not gonna go home with some random girl tonight?” I shook my head, “Na man, I’m done with that life, I told you I need to make a change. I’m gonna get my some self control.” He smirked, “You don’t know how good it feels to hear you say that.” “Let’s get out of here man, my baby is at home waiting for me.”

I took a deep breath. “Where is he at now?” she asked me. “I have no idea, I’m hoping in the studio.” She looked around, “Well it is getting late, and I want you to get your thoughts straight before you just go off on him ya’ know?” I nodded and smiled, “Right.” “Let’s just go back out in the living room and calm down till’ he gets here.” We both stood up and I hugged her again, “I don’t know what I would do without you.” She laughed, “I don’t know probably die!” I laughed at her and walked back into the living room.

I went and sat back down in my same spot. “I’m sorry everyone, I just had a little breakdown.” I looked at Karmen and put my hand on her shoulder, “And for you.” She frowned, “What?” “I want you to be here when Bruno gets here. So we can all work this little problem out.” She shook her head, “I got places to be.” She started to stand up, but I pulled her back down. I talked threw my teeth, “You’re going to stay here and we are all going to talk.” “Who are you to make me stay here?” Why was she going to make this situation harder then it already was?”

I got in my car, but I let Phil drive this time. I was a little too tipsy to drive. I took my hat off and put it on the dashboard. I ran my fingers threw my hair, “Damn.” Phil looked over to me, “What?” I turned to him and smirked, “She almost got me.” He laughed, “I’m glad you found the strength step away from the sex.” I nodded, “All I need is her.”….

 

Chapter 38

I didn’t want things to get physical but, I also didn’t want her to just walk out the door without me knowing everything. “I’m your friend that you lied to and betrayed in the worst way. So, if you want to even continue being in me OR Bruno’s life for the RIGHT reasons, then I suggest you stay. Cause’ I honestly could be going crazy right now, yelling, screaming, fighting. But, I’m better then that and you should try and learn from this situation.” She looked down. I looked over to Michelle who gave me a thumbs up. “So it’s your choice you can leave right now, or you can stay and be an adult about this..” I said looking at her seriously.

“Yeah cause’ you got a good one.” he said stopping at a red light. I looked over to him, “I know, and honestly Phil I wanna marry her.” He smiled, “Your growing up so fast Brunz! I thought I would never see the day where those words came out of your mouth!” I laughed. “You sure that bartender didn’t throw something in your dancing juice?” I shook my head, “Na man, it’s me. The Brunz just wants to finally settle down.” We pulled up to the house and it looked like everyone was here. “Damn we didn’t even have to go out, the party was at my house!” I joked. He slammed the car door, “Damnit, wasting gas.” I laughed as I opened the door.

I heard Bruno’s laughter as the door opened. I looked up to see him and Phil walk in. “What’s up ladies?” he said putting his arms out. Carla held up her drink, “Partying?” He looked around and laughed, “I see.” I smiled at him, “Bruno we need to talk.” He frowned as he came closer to all of us, “What happened?” I put my hand on Karmen’s shoulder, “Well my friend Karmen here has been telling me some things..”

My stomach started to churn and I nervously looked around to everyone. Did they all know? “Yeah.. well can we 3 talk.. some other time?” She smiled and shook her head, “No I think we should all talk now, in front of all of our friends.” I swallowed hard. I really didn’t want all the girls to know everything. I needed to get out of this, quickly. “Bruno?” she said snapping me out of my thoughts. “Yeah yeah, I guess that’s okay.” I looked around at everyone and they we’re still looking at me. This was completely different then being up on a stage.

“So Karmen, how did you and Bruno start messing around again?” She looked down, “Well we we’re in the studio.. in Brooklyn and we we’re flirting of course. And one night we stayed a little later, and everyone else had left and he asked me..” I looked over to Bruno and he shook his head. I know he hated hearing this, but not as much as I did. “So, Bruno. What did you say to her?” He looked at me in disbelief, but I didn’t care. I wanted to make this room as uncomfortable as possible.

I remembered the night like it was yesterday, but I didn’t want to say all of this out loud. “Tell her.. please.” Karmen said. I looked down, “I asked her if she was into me.. like I was into her..” I choked on my words, I couldn’t believe I had just said that, out loud. “Hmm.. and you guys did it there in the studio. Without even thinking about poor old little Diamond?” I shook my head, “Baby I swear it’s not even like that.” She shot me a look, “Bruno don’t.”

I didn’t want to hear him beg or ask for forgiveness, the damage was honestly already done. I just wanted to make them both hurt for what they did. I wanted them to be as embarrassed as I am. “I got something to say.” Karmen said. Everyone looked at her, what important thing could she have to say. “Okay..” I said nodding. “I was set up.” I frowned at her, “What?….”

 

Chapter 39

“I was set up okay. I swear I didn’t want to do it, but she said she would kill me if I didn’t!” I shook my head, “What in the fuck are you talking about!” “It was Amber! It’s always been her!” she screamed. My stomach dropped to the floor, I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. “Are you fucking kidding me?” Bruno said walking towards her. She looked at him, tears we’re coming down her face, “No I’m not kidding you, but I was just doing this for her.. and then I fell for you. You we’re more then I expected.” I looked around to everyone’s faces we we’re all in shock.

“I can’t fucking believe you.” I yelled. She stood up, “I can’t believe you! I just wish I wouldn’t have done it.. What was I thinking.” “Why do you want to fuck up my life?” She shook her and head and continued to cry, “I never did, I just loved you..” What the fuck is going on here…

I kept shaking my head and saying no to myself. This was a lot deeper then I thought. I opened my mouth to say something, but no words came out. I didn’t know if I wanted to cry or scream. “Karmen, why? How?” I said scooting away from her. She sat back down and put her head in her knees. “3 years ago.. I ran into her in L.A. We became good friends and I didn’t think much about it.” She paused and sniffed, “We we’re at my house one day.. and she told me about how she hated Bruno, and how much she wanted you dead. The conversation got even worst when she asked me to do a favor…” She cried even harder.

I couldn’t explain the way I felt right now. I hated and felt sorry for her at the same time. She finally lifted her head up and looked out into the distance, “She asked me to go after Bruno, make your life as miserable as possible. I said no, and she threatened to kill me. I asked her why she chose me, and she said I was the only person that could get closest to the both of you without it looking suspicious.” I grabbed my head, “I cant..” “But, the problem is.. I fell in love with Bruno.. and I kept it going even after I could have stopped.” She put her head back down and started to cry even harder. I felt tears coming myself.

I looked at Phil his face was blank. Everyone in the room was lost for words. It was the most awkwardest situation I had ever been in, in my entire life. All along, I had been the one hurting myself. I didn’t think that 7 years ago turning down a date would lead to all of this. I fell for it, and I simply could have avoided it. She never stopped coming after me. I wanted her dead. I looked up to Karmen, “Where is she?” After a couple seconds Karmen finally leaned up, “What?” “Where is Amber?” I said in a strong tone. “I don’t know..” I walked close to her, “Tell me right fucking now.”

I jumped back, there was pure anger in Bruno’s eyes. “I said I don’t know!” she screamed. He got even closer to her, “Tell me right fucking now, or I swear you will pay.” I shook my head, “Bruno, stop..” He leaned out and started pacing. I stood up, “Bruno please calm down.” He walked towards the door and I walked after him, I kept calling his name but, he didn’t respond. He walked out the door, and went towards his car. I ran towards him, “Where are you going?!”…….

 

Chapter 40

He didn’t respond and I grabbed his arm before he could get into the car. He tried to pulled away, but I didn’t let go. “Please let me go Diamond.” “No, I don’t want you to do anything stupid.” I cried. “I’m not..” “How do I know that?” I whispered. He looked at me again, with that same anger in his eyes, “Let me go.” I started to let go but, I didn’t. I shook my head and cried, “Bruno no. Please no. You told me not to let you do it! I’m not going to let you.” He took his other hand and grabbed me by my shirt, “I’m not going to DO IT.” he screamed. He had never yelled at me like that, even in our worst arguments. I was so scared right now, I didn’t know what was going threw his mind..

“Bruno please.. calm down..” I whispered. He shook his head, “I can’t. I can’t let her keep doing this to my life.” “Okay.. and what are you going to do about it?” “I don’t know right now..” he whispered. He slowly let go of my shirt. “Just don’t do anything stupid.” I said looking down. “I can’t promise you that.” I looked back up to him quickly, “What do you mean?!” “I said, I can’t promise you that.” I shook my head in disbelif, you can’t just say something like that. He started walking back towards the front door. What the fuck is he doing..

I stormed in and went towards Karmen, “Give me your phone.” She looked up at me, “No..” “Just give it to me please!” I yelled. She reached into her pocket and handed me her phone. “What are you doing?” I heard Diamond say from behind me. I opened up her contacts and looked for Amber’s name. I found it and dialed.

I stood straight up, listening to it ring. Everyone stared at me. “Helloooo?” “Where are you?” “Oh Bruno! Haven’t talk to you in awhile, how’s your girlfriend? She remember everything okay?” “Where the fuck are you?” “Owhh, someones a little pissed off?” “Amber, I swear if you don’t tell me where you are..” She cut me off, “Whoa there, you don’t have to threaten me.. I can tell you exactly where I am.. I’ve been waiting for you to come and see me.” “Tell me then.” I said strongly. “1527 Caroll Avenue.. I’ll be waiting.” “I’m on my way.” I hung up the phone and tossed it back at Karmen.

I went and stood in front of the door, “Bruno please don’t go over there!” “Diamond, I can’t keep letting this happen. I can’t keep letting her put me and you in danger. She’s tried to kill both of us, and she’s not going to stop until we’re both 6 feet fucking under. Do you want that?!” I shook my head, “No but, what if she tries to kill you now?!” He looked down, “Then baby, I will be dead, at least you will be safe. That’s all I care about.” Is he serious? I loved him, but I would never want him to risk his life for me. I looked down and he grabbed my face and brung it back up. He kissed me and I felt all of his emotions he had built up inside. He leaned his head into mine, “I love you so much.” “I love you too Bruno.” I cried. He walked around me and went out the door. I dropped to my knees.

I got into my car and put my fedora back on. I drove to the address as fast as I could. My emotions we’re everywhere right now, but I needed to get all of this out of the way. I wanted to be with Diamond for the rest of my life, but this was the only thing standing in the way. It was now or never. I was not about to continue to let her control my life. I pulled up to the house and slammed the car door behind me. I was past angry right now, and I knew if she said the wrong thing then it would set me off. I needed to calm down, but I didn’t know how. I banged on the door and waited for her to open it.. I felt myself breathing deeply…