Chapter 53

15/04/2012 14:09

“MELANIE!!!”

I rolled over and buried my head under my pillow.

“MELANIE GET YOUR ASS OUT OF BED!!” Someone shouted again.

I got further into my bed and closed my eyes.

Suddenly I heard my bedroom door fly open, “You have two minutes to get out of bed Melanie!” I peeked a look from under the pillow. It was Presley. There was no way I was getting any more sleep then. She walked out the room and the stormed back in seconds later and whipped the covers off me.

“You’re getting married in three hours, now get your ass out of bed before I drag you. And you better believe I will, you are not being late.” Again she stormed out, this time slamming the door behind her.

I rolled over to lie on my back. I stared at the ceiling as my stomach started doing flips. This was the day I had been waiting for. Mine and Bruno’s wedding. So much had happened to us in the last year and finally we were going to get married. Shareen and Presley and Bernie had been a huge help in the plans up to the wedding down to the last detail although they had left me completely in the dark at some parts which they insisted had to be kept a surprise.

I’m sure that the Hernandez family had a thing for giving me surprises and they all knew that I absolutely hated them!

Finally I decided to get up and out of bed and head downstairs. It felt weird not being in my own house on my big day, we decided to have the wedding in Hawaii as it was where we both came from and we felt a little closer to home. I really wanted to see Bruno although he wasn’t here as of course it was bad luck to see the groom before the big day, yadda yadda. He spent the night at a hotel around the corner. I just wanted him here to comfort me as the nerves were now kicking in. I’d been thinking of how easy it was when we were in Vegas but it was dawning on me that we were going to have a huge amount of guests and that’s what got me nervous, being in front of everyone.

When I went into the kitchen I found all of my bridesmaids and Shareen gathered around the kitchen table. They all looked beautiful in their dresses, they were all pale purple in color and they each had their hair pinned up in a delicate fashion. I glanced in the kitchen mirror and I looked disgusting.

“Oh Mel! Stop it!” Jaime was fussing over me dabbing my eyes with a tissue. I didn’t realize I’d been crying.

“I’m fine. It’s just…” I flung my arms in the air and screamed, “I’m getting married today!” I couldn’t help but laugh a little.

“Yes and look at you dear, you need my immediate attention.” A woman was saying making her way towards me, she stuck out her hand. “I’m Catie and I’m your stylist for the day.” She said, her face lit up with a smile.

I smiled back at her and took her hand. “Thank you, in advance. It’s going to take a hell of a lot of work to tame this beast.” I pointed to the birds nest that was my hair on top of my head.

“No task too big for me to handle.” She added smiling wider and taking me towards the bathroom.

An hour or so later and Catie was finished working on my beauty, she would not let me look in the mirror at all as she thought that it would spoil the unveiling of the finished ‘project’ as she referred to it. She insisted that I must have my dress on which made me want to look in the mirror even more. What if I was a monstrosity. I could not walk down the aisle to Bruno looking hideous! I hadn’t even the slightest idea what I would look like as Presley was in charge of all the styling except the dress which we chose the day I was kidnapped. I avoided the memory and decided to speak to Jaime who was by my side the whole time, she had tears in her eyes.

“It’s not that bad is it?” I gasped trying to escape the room to look in the mirror but Jaime was too quick and grabbed my arm and span me around and embraced me in a hug.

“You look beautiful, my brother is one lucky guy.” She gushed.

“I’ve never been beautiful,” I felt myself blush.

“Believe me you are. You’re going to sweep him away.” She pulled away and held my shoulders, a smile playing at her mouth, “Catie did good. You’re like a sister too me Mel and well I guess we will be won’t we!” She smiled wider and walked to the wardrobe and started rummaging. Moments later she came out with a Tiffany box in her hands. “This is something I’ve had for a while now, and it’s been in my family for generations. I want you to have it.”

She thrust the box in my hands and I peeled back the lid. It was a necklace embedded with blue diamonds with a silver chain. “It’s beautiful.” I breathed caressing the necklace.

Jaime took the box from me and removed the necklace. I felt her clasp it at the back of my neck. “Just think that’s everything, your dress is new and the necklace is old borrowed and blue! You’re sorted Mel!”

I smiled to myself and looked down, the necklace truly was beautiful. I got up and walked towards the wardrobe and removed my dress from the hanger. “It’s time. Go downstairs Jaime I need a moment alone.”

When she left the room I slipped into my dress and my shoes. I span around so the bottom of dress would fan out. I still hadn’t seen myself in the mirror and decided that I didn’t want to, I trusted Jaime’s opinion. I opened the door and headed towards the stairs taking a deep breath. As soon as I started to descend the stairway erupted with flashes as almost all of the two families were there taking pictures.

“Car’s here!” Presley screamed. It was clear she was getting really excited, she loved anything like this.

When I reached the bottom of the stairs my parents were there waiting for me. “Our beautiful baby David.” My Mom was saying dabbing her eyes with a tissue. How many people were going to cry today?

My dad wrapped his arm around her and pulled her closer kissing her on the cheek. “I know. I’m so proud.”

“Mel hurry up!” Presley was yelling from the front door.

My dad grabbed my hand and pulled me outside to reveal a white Rolls-Royce parked at the curb. I tried my best to sustain a scream, my dream wedding was finally coming together. I turned back towards the house to find that there was only Bernie left as everyone was already getting in their cars.

“You look beautiful Melanie. My son is so lucky. I’ve always thought of you as my daughter and now you will be. I can’t wait for our families to become one.” She looked over my shoulder towards the car, “I guess we have to be going now, we have a wedding to attend.” She took a stride closer to me and I gave her a hug.

“Thank you Bernie.” I said tears streaming down my cheeks.

This time Bernie was wiping my tears away. “Don’t cry. This is your day and no one can ruin it for you.” She turned and walked to her car.

I got into the Rolls-Royce and sat next to my dad. “What was that about?” He asked me.

“Oh nothing. Just wishing me luck.” I said smiling. “I love you dad.” I said squeezing his hand.

“I love you too Mel, I know Bruno is going to look after you. You’re getting too old for me to do it now.” I could have sworn I seen a tear glistening in the corner of his eye. Before I could see for sure he leaned forward and tapped the driver on the shoulder.

“Lets go” He demanded, “My daughter has a wedding to go to.” He looked at me and smiled squeezing my hand.

The butterflies I had, had all morning multiplied by a million as it sunk in that I was on the way to my very own wedding. I looked out the window and leaned my head against the seat as the billionth smile of the day spread across my face.