Chapter 79+80

23/01/2012 20:50

Chapter 79

June 12, 2016 

Bruno went back on tour having up days and down days. There were days when he had to call Marla to motivate him to get out of bed during the first few shows. She somehow found the right things to say to him making things better for their family. He would constantly tell everyone that he would never understand how she had exactly the right things to say to make things better for all of them. Everyone would just respond with ”She’s the one.”

Bruno had been home for a few days ensuring that he was with Rosie and Marla for sometime. His family came to their home spending time together because it was something that recharged him as much as performing.  He felt so much better feeling her in his arms when he woke up in the morning. The only thing that made the time at home a disappointment was that he would be leaving in 3 days. And he could tell it hurt Marla.

”Bruno?” Marla asked him through her cup of coffee.

”Yeah?” he asked her.

”Nothing. I just miss you.” she answered looking at his sleepy eyes. ”You haven’t been sleeping, have you?”

”I try. But I don’t know. It’s just been hard.” he told her.

”You need a break already from all this don’t you?” she asked him.

”I don’t know, Mar. I think I’m just tired because I’m at home.” he answered her.

”I’m giving you permission to be tired tonight.” she smiled at him. ”I don’t think you’re giving yourself permission to be stressed out.”

”How do you do that?” he asked her.

”Do what?” she asked shocked.

”Know me so well? Know all this?” he asked her.

”I don’t know. I just do it.” she answered laughing at him picking up their breakfast walking back to the sink.

**

Later in the afternoon Marla walked through the huge amphitheater looking for Bruno and the band. She walked past some theater staff who didn’t know who she was. She had to show them her backstage pass still confused by the whole process. Even if she was remembering things, the videos of his past tours could only help her remember so much. She walked into the area where the chair would be. She took a seat right in the middle of the floor section watching them go through their soundcheck.I wish I could remember how this made me feel before. I just don’t know. I can’t pull it out. It’s so annoying. She thought to herself continuing to see him dance around the middle of the stage moving his head the same way Rosie did she would sing.  It made Marla smile. She felt like he was performing just for her.

”Mar!” she heard him ask her from the mic in the middle of a song.

”Yeah?” she asked throwing her arms up not sure if he could hear her.

”Will you go all the way to the top and tell me how it sounds?” he asked her pointing to the nosebleed section of the theater.

”Umm…yeah?” she answered.

”Love you!” he smiled through the microphone watching her walk out of the theater.

”She’s gonna flip.”  he told his brother.

He saw her walk up the stairs wearing tight jeans and a take top. He started singing Work it by J Cole to her. She turned around throwing her hands up in the air again laughing at him. ”Go over there a little…” he told her pointing over to the corner. ”A little further…” he pushed her to move to a section that was covered by another level. Shit these are bad seats. She thought to herself finding a box underneath the chair at the far end of the horrible section.

”What is this?” she asked him.

”Just open it.” he told her. She sat down in the chair opening the black box to see a ring in the shape of the infinity symbol. ”Do you like it?” he asked her. She nodded her head.

”I can’t hear you. Come back down here.” he told her. She laughed at him walking back down to the lower level with the box in her hand. She walked slowly seeing him walking toward her from off the stage. They met right in the middle of the floor. She stopped looking at him.

”You are crazy.” she told him hugging him. She leaned into his shirt smelling his sweaty body. ”I love you.”

He pulled away from her as someone started to test some music. He grabbed her by the waist starting to dance with her in between the chairs. ”Can I dance with you?”he twirled her around in a circle making her laugh. This is how we were before. She thought to herself watching his eyes and genuine smile that she hadn’t seen from him in some time.

”You drive me crazy when you smile like that, Bruno Mars.” she said leaning in to kiss him.

”I don’t know if you remember….” he said raising his eyebrow at her.

”That we did it backstage the last time you were here before the show?” she matched his inquisitive speech. ”Not gonna happen tonight, Bruno.” she winked at him walking back to the front of the stage.

”Damnit.” he said loudly echoing in the theater.

”She said no, huh?” his bassist asked.

”Yeah. She’s a tease though.” he said. ”Don’t forget the change in the middle of Come back to me.

”Don’t worry dude. We’ve got it.” he answered.

**

Marla sat in a bright red folded chair watching Bruno from the side dancing and getting ready to go on stage.  She smiled at him when he turned around to look at the crowd. He waved at her signing I love you. She pretended to get embarrassed covering her face. She could feel his sisters rolling their eyes at what was going on.

”And you ask me how old I am?” Jamie asked.

”Okay. But just think …it’s to help me remember.” she told her.

”Okay, fine.” she answered over the intro music and screams. Wow. This is crazy. Marla thought to herself. He continued to sing and entertain catching her eye every few minutes. She just makes me feel better. He thought to himself. Okay. I can do this. He turned around facing his band saying something to his brother. He put down his guitar walking back to the mic. She heard comments behind her saying that he never did that during his performances. He held the mic hearing the screams looking over to Marla. He cleared his throat starting to say something.

”Five years ago I sang to a girl named Kate. She was the most amazing girl in the world. I don’t know if she remembers me singing to her.” Bruno said to the crowd. She heard awes behind her. He’s so sweet. He loves her so much. Oh my god. Marry me, Bruno. ”She’s here tonight.” he said walking off the stage toward her.

”What is he doing?” she asked his sister.

”Dude, I don’t know.” she answered.

”Marla….” he stopped in front of her with the cameras on her. Shit. Don’t cry. Don’t freak out. Don’t do anything crazy. She said to herself. ”Everything I do, I do it for you. I love you. I am so glad you came back to me. And I want everyone to know that. Okay..that’s it.” he said kissing her on the cheek walking back onto the stage. ”Guys, I embarrassed her. Sorry, baby.” he laughed at her. She waved him off starting to cry as he started to sing the song.

**

Mar,

I’m only going to be home for 2 more days. I’m going to miss you so much. I’m going to miss finding your face in the crowd and knowing that when I come home I get to be with you. But, when this tour is over, baby, I’m gonna take like an extra super long break.  I promise. Thank you for being there tonight and for letting me sing to Kate. I love you Marla Kate Hernandez.

Bru

 

Chapter 80

SKIP TO THE BOTTOM IF YOU’RE NOT A DIRTY HOOLIGAN.

Bruno felt Marla get out of the bed early in the morning. He pretended to be asleep silently watching her take off her clothes to get in the shower. ”I know you’re watching me, Bruno.” she told him going into the bathroom grabbing a towel to wrap around her.

”I need to take a shower too.” he whined hearing the water go on. ”Marlaaaaa….” he called out going into the bathroom.

”No, Bruno. I’m already running late.” she yelled over the water.

”I’ll be fast…I promise….” he told her reaching over to open the door. She had her eyes closed covered with shampoo when she felt his body rub against hers. ”Geez…the water is really hot, Mar…” he said pulling away.

”It’s that way for a reason…” she said turning around pointing to the shower door. ”I know you don’t like it hot.”

”Oh…so we’re gonna play it like that today?” he winked at her pushing her against the under the hot water. Shit. I hate it when he does this..she thought to herself feeling her body warming against the hot water. He kissed her neck licking up the beads of water that fell on her.

”I hate you so much, Bruno…” she whispered to him as she started to leave small kisses along his neck leading to his chest. He grabbed her by the hips holding onto her tightly kissing her lightly on the lips driving her crazy.  ”Oh god…I really hate you….oh my, shit….” she felt his hands slide down to her thighs running up and down her legs finding the right spot for each of them.

”Marla….oh my….baby….you drive me crazy….” he told her as her hands moved to his wet hair.

”Oh god…Brunooooo….” she moaned hitting her head against the wall.

”Be careful, Mar…” he smiled against her lips continuing to move his hips in the same motions that drove her even crazier.

”Bunnnooooo. Noooooohmygod.” she felt her legs fall as his head fell on her shoulder. He touched her lips just enough to feel her lips making her smile.

”Marla..my favorite part is when you smile when we’re done.” he told her rubbing her back full of soap.

”Get out of my shower, Bruno Mars.” she said sarcastically.

”Okay..fine…” he said in a sad tone grabbing a towel to dry off with watching her finish wiping the soap off her body. ”Damn, baby..hurry up.” he said watching her dance around in the shower grabbing face wash to put on her face. She went extra slow rubbing her hands all over her body driving him even crazier. She turn edoff the water taking a hold of the towel he handed her. ”No…don’t even think about getting dressed yet…” he said as she looked down at him.

”Bruno….” her pleads were interrupted by his kiss and his arms around her back as he placed her on the bathroom counter.

”If you think I’m going to be on tour for a month without getting laid I gotta at least get laid as much as I can while I’m at home, Marla.” he told her as she arched her back leaning her head against the mirror.

”Oh shit. Brunnnoooohmygod.” she moaned feeling him kiss her shoulders running his fingers along her cheeks.

”Marla…how do you do this to me every fucking time?” he asked pulling away from her.

”When you got it, you got it…” she said flipping her wet hair wrapping herself in the bright red towel that laid on the floor.

Bruno laughed at her putting his clothes on going into the kitchen. He heard his daughter start walking out into the kitchen with her frog. She looked extra confused.

”What’s wrong, Rosie?” he asked her.

”You’re not supposed to be here.” she told him looking like she was about to cry.

”Baby doll, what do you mean?” he asked sitting her down on the couch holding her in his lap.

”Mommy said that you were going on the bus again…and that I wouldn’t see you for….29 days….if you leave now it means I get to see you sonner.” she told him. What she said made his heart break into millions of small pieces.

”But, Rosalia…we get to go to the zoo and the park today with Liam and Tessa…” he told her.

”But I….I don’t want to do anything today, daddy.” she told him walking to the pile of blankets near the tv. ”I just want to lay in my snuggie and watch tv.”

”If you want to be lazy, Rosalia…we can be lazy…” he told her.

”Okay…but not with mama…she can’t be lazy. Just me and you. Not uncle Eric or Liam or Tessa…no one.”

”Oh…so it’s invitation only cuddle time?” he asked her squeezing her.

”Yes.” she said laying her head on her father.

**

Marla,

Today I laid on the couch with Rosalia. We watched Finding Nemo three times. But you know what? It was perfect because I don’t think I’ve spent that much time alone with her since before her 3rdbirthday. She is so smart, Marla. She read me a book. She missed three words. I didn’t have to help her at all. She’s smart like her mother.  And she’s beautiful like her mother. And she’s talented like her mother. But, I think she got her snazzy singing voice from me. But that’s a given. Marla, you’ll find this after I leave for the second part of the tour. I love you.

Bruno