Chapter 8

01/07/2012 21:19

“My ex girlfriend Cassie cheated on my with the person that was my best friend at the time. It wasn’t Phil, it was someone called James. He was my homeboy but it turns out he was only after my girl and my music. I caught them in the school toilets. Can you believe it? SCHOOL TOILETS! I saw James and I hit him. I hit him so hard he nearly passed out. I pushed him up against the mirror and it smashed into pieces. I got a shard of glass and sliced him. Sliced him all over his face and neck. He was bleeding so badly but I didn’t stop. I didn’t even realize that Cassie called the head master and since then I haven’t been allowed to step onto school premises.”

I sat there in shock. I actually didn’t think it was going to be that bad but boy I was wrong. I looked him straight in the eyes and I could tell he was ashamed with his past. I promised I wouldn’t hate or judge him so I won’t but this is going to take a while to sink in.
“Say something… please” he whispered.
“Bruno. I don’t know what to say” I whispered back.
“Anything. Just anything.” I really didn’t know what to say.
“Bruno. Everyone makes mistakes. We’re all human. We just have to learn from them.”
He just nodded to whatever I was saying.
“Sorry” he said looking down. I couldn’t help but laugh. He’s apologizing. To me. Oh what on earth am I going to do with this one.
“Come on” I said standing up sticking out my hand for him to get up. He grabbed it and we walked along the beach.
“Where are we going?” He asked.
“Don’t ask questions and just go wherever the wind takes you.”

We walked side-by-side until I couldn’t take it anymore. I knew we were more than friends so I grabbed hold of her hands and carried on walking. She looked up to me and smiled. I loved how we could just be around each other and feel whole. I really liked her and I’m just praying she likes me as much as I do. I decided to break the silence.
“So.. what are we?”

“Umm… what do you wanna be?” I really didn’t want a boyfriend because I hate being a ‘couple.’ Look how that shit turned out for my mom!
“I was hoping a couple?” Shit. What do I say?
“Umm Bruno, I really like you but I don’t wanna be committed in a relationship now. I mean don’t get me wrong I REALLY like you and I wanna be more than friends. So I seriously don’t know.” I shrugged my shoulders as I looked back to Bruno. He just nodded understanding.
“But that doesn’t mean we can’t have fun right?” I added giving him a sly look.
“Wait…. huh? You mean?..” he looked so lost. Aww bless.
“Well I’ll leave you to think about it.” And with that I made my way home with a more than satisfied smirk on my face leaving him stunned. Now that’s what I’m talking about!

Shit. She got me good. Damn is she saying we could be fuck buddies? Hell yeah! Same pleasure as a girlfriend but less work. I’m seriously liking this. This is probably the best I’ve felt since…. well this is probably the best I’ve felt since forever. Fuck yeah.

*****

“Hey Brunz.” I said as I picked up his phone call early on the morning as I was having breakfast.
“Heeeey… how are you?” He asked.
“I’m fine. Just having breakfast”
“Cool… err just wanted to ask… I was thinking about last night and what you said, were you serious?”
Haahaaa.. I knew he couldn’t get it off his mind.
“Well… do you want it to be?” I said slyly. I know what he’ll say. I know what every guy says

“To be honest with you, no. I like you and I want to be your boyfriend and not a fuck buddy that come and go. I want to call you mine. I want people to know you’re mine and no one elses. I hope you really understand…” I’ve been thinking all night and I actually love her. I know it took everything in me to lay my heart out for her.
“…and to be honest, if it was someone else I would’ve just took the offer to fuck them.” 
Silence.
“Hello!? Fayy.. you there?”
“Did you fucking reject me?”
“No no no.. I just wanna be your guy!”
“Do you know I feel like such a hoe now.” She spoke with such a monotone.
“I never meant to hurt your feelings. Honestly.”
“Yeah okay.”
“Please. I know you’re not a hoe. You just never wanted a boyfriend but still wanted to make me happy and I’m so grateful for that. I’m not like all guys. I don’t want to use you for just sex. I wanna make you feel good about yourself too. Like a real guy should.”

“I admire that Bru. I really do.” And I really did. Should I just give into him?
“So is that a yes?” 
“You know what, meet you at my bus stop in 5.”
“Errrmm.. okay?” He sounded worried. I’m not that much of a bitch that he’s scared of my decisions am I?
“Bye… you better be there!”
“I will… see ya Fayy.”
Click.

“MOM I’M LEAVING!!!”
“Okay don’t forget your lunch money, It’s by your keys on the table by the door.” She said as she walked up to me hugging me knowing my tendency to forget things easily.
“Okay mom. By the way I need my guitar. Doing a show & tell in school.” I lied. To be honest I wasn’t even planning on going school today. Just wanna chill with Bruno really.

I ran upstairs, grabbed my guitar, checked myself in the mirror and reapplied lipgloss and ran back downstairs.
“See ya.” I mumbled as I slammed the front door shut. As I stepped outside my phone vibrated.

‘And you are where exactly??…’ 
I was already at the bus stop and I thought she would’ve been here first seen as It’s closer to her house but she’s not here.
“Uh uhmmm!” I heard her clear her throat causing me to turn around. She just stood there smiling at me.
“Heey!” What else could I say?
“Hi” she replied still smiling.
“So what’s that for?” I said as I nodded towards the guitar.
“You’ll see!” She sounded excited so I guess I should be too.
We started walking down the street.
“Hey.. school’s that way. Why are we going this way?” I asked as I watched the bus, stop at the bus stop.
“Stop worrying and just go with it” she nagged as she took by the arm and dragged me to our secret destination.

I didn’t really know where I was going but all I knew is that I wanted to go somewhere secluded and private.