Chapter 1-3

17/01/2012 00:06

Chapter 1

This is my first ever fanfic and if it’s not very good I apologise. Just though i’d give it a try. Let me know what you think of it? :)

 

For fuck sake pull yourself together Melanie. I felt the tears start to well up as I stormed out of Jasper’s apartment. Why the fuck does he do this to me? Walking in to him fucking her like that! UGHH I can’t get the image out of my head. Being outside I decide to walk home instead of calling a cab. I need a distraction from everything. The streets of LA are the perfect place to do that, it’s so beautiful. But it’s nothing like my home town of Hawaii. I missed home so much, I missed my insane mother. We lost contact 3 years ago after I moved to LA. She told me it wasn’t a good idea but I didn’t listen. Now I’m broke, unemployed and in love with an absolute dickhead.

I was so into my thoughts that I didn’t notice the car coming towards me. It was too late and I could see the headlights getting closer. Why the fuck wasn’t I moving? Getting run over is not a good way to die Mel. My mind thought otherwise and I just closed my eyes and waited for death to claim me…

But I didn’t feel any pain. Something ran into me from my left side and before I knew what was happening I was hitting the ground real hard. I sat up to see what knocked me out the way of the car but the head rush I got was insane and I needed to lie back down. I didn’t even know that I had passed out until I heard someone shouting. Were they calling my name?

“What the fuck Melanie!?”

I recognized that voice. But it was impossible to tell for sure, my head still stung like a bitch. I tried to open my eyes but there were black dots dancing in front of my eyes. I closed them again and tried to focus. “Oh shit” the stranger said.

I lied down for a few more minutes and the stranger sat there in silence while they waited for me to come around.

“Melanie?” The voice was gentler this time and I’m sure I recognize it from somewhere.

“I’m fine” I mutter sitting upright.

This time I open my eyes slowly and the black dots dissolve when I opened my eyes slowly.

There was a figure to my left and they had the look of relief in their eyes.

“We’re you trying to kill yourself?!” Muttered the stranger.

With that I turned around to face them.

At once I knew why I recognized that voice. Of course, how could I forget it. All of the memories from the last 5 years come flooding back to me and I smile at the stranger.

“Bruno?”

 
Chapter 2

“Yeah it’s me Mel.” Bruno said, smiling back at me. Just looking into his eyes made my heart melt.

“I thought you were in LA, Mr big shot!” I replied playfully punching his arm.

“Shhh. I’m keeping a low profile.” He winked at me and I laughed.

“Bruno, the streets empty you idiot. Just me and you.”

“Yeah, just like the good old days.”

“Mhmm” I said watching the traffic drive by.

We sat in silence for a while just looking at our surroundings. LA really was beautiful.

“We’re you trying to get yourself killed Mel?” Bruno asked after a few minutes.

“I don’t know. I saw the car coming and it was as if gravity was pulling me to the ground. Why did you knock me out the way Bru?”

“Gravity was doing a pretty shit job so I thought I’d oh you know, save your life.”

“What are you doing on the street anyway? Shouldn’t you be living it up, being famous and all?”

He looked off into the distance for a while and his reply was hesitant, “I’ve had a rough day. I’d rather not talk about it.”

“Sure, sure. You know i’m always-”

My cell interrupted our conversation. I took it out of my pocket and saw who was calling.

“Oh fuck” I muttered to myself.

“What’s up?” Bruno asked me.

“It’s Jasper.” I replied.

“You’re still with that prick?”

“Yeah. BIG mistake.” I said laughing to myself.

“Want me to answer?” Bruno asked, holding out his hand for my phone.

“And what exactly are you going to say to him?”

“Just wait and see.” He said winking at me and with that I put my cell in his hand.

I seen him flip it open with a huge grin on his face.

“Yo.”

I heard muffled shouting on the other end but I couldn’t understand it.

“Well she don’t wanna talk to you ass hole. Stop fucking around with her and sort yourself out. If you saw how you were hurting her maybe you’d think twice before treating her like shit.”

The voice on the other end got louder.

“Fuck you. She deserves so much better than you Jasper. You low life.” Bruno seemed to be getting really wound up now.

“Oh shut the fuck up. Mel doesn’t want you. How many times you cheated on her? 2? 3? Or more? Get a life you loser. Melanie’s moving on with hers.”

With that he slammed my cell shut and threw it onto my knee.

“What did he say to you Bru?” I asked as soon as Bruno seemed to relax a little.

“Just being a jerk. Come on, lets get you a drink.

 

Chapter 3

“Fine” I said standing up. “Whoa head rush” I exclaimed and fell back towards the ground. I felt Brunos arm under me before I could hit the floor.

“Thanks Bruno” I said taking his free hand and standing up straight.

“So how about that drink?” Bruno asked.

“Lets go”

***

We arrived at Pulse a quiet club around the corner from my apartment. Bruno suggested this place because he thought that he would not get recognized.

“What can I get you guys?” a waiter asked when we neared the bar.

I walked away to get a seat whilst Bruno ordered the drinks, after all he knew my drink.

I thought back to the first time I met Bruno…

***

5 years ago

“Melanie! Get your ass down here! The Hernandez’ will be round any minute now!” My dad shouted from the bottom of the stairs.

“Im coming for fuck sake dad.” I muttered under my breath, I knew better than to swear in front of my father.

I put on my mascara and quickly ran down the stairs the same time as the doorbell rang.

“I’ll get it!” I shouted walking to get the door.

I opened it and the most handsome guy I ever seen was leaning against the door frame.

“Hi, the rest of my family are just getting stuff outta the car. You must be Melanie?” The guy said.

It took me a while to get my words together. I blinked and finally spoke,

“Uhh… um yeah.” He laughed at me and held out his hand. I stared at it like I’d never seen a hand before. “Melanie? You’re meant to shake someones hand when they offer it.” He made me jump and he laughed at me again.

“Oh right…” I took his hand and he shook my hand gently. “I’m Bruno, nice to finally meet you. My folks have told me so much about you.”

“Hi Bruno.”

I just stood there staring at him. What was wrong with me?

My Mom came up behind me and whispered in my ear, “Told you so”

I vaguely remembered her telling me he was a looker, that is an understatement.

“Come in Bruno dear. Melanie show him to the living room.” My mom said as she seen that I was at a loss of words.

“Thanks Mrs Franklin. May I say you have a beautiful daughter!” He looked at me and winked when he said it.

I felt my cheeks flood with color and I immediately turned and headed for the living room.

I heard my mom say “Why thank you Bruno.” I turned back around and he was following me shaking his head and laughing softly.

***

I laughed softly and shook my head at the memory, so much had happened between us since then.

At this point Bruno had rejoined me and asked me what I was laughing at.“Oh just the day we met.” He laughed with me and took a sip of his drink.

Many drinks later Bruno was wasted. I don’t think that I’d ever seen him so drunk before.

Our conversation over the night was just about the past and how we remembered it being so much fun and how we missed one another.

As Bruno was talking to a friend on the phone I finished my shot of Tequila and stood up. Wow I didn’t realize how drunk I was!

I stood in front Bruno and held out my hand to him. He put the phone down on his friend and led me over to the dancefloor. He started dancing with his hands around my waist, and his head in my neck just like he used to.

I was too drunk to realize when he started to feel my ass but I didn’t care I just wanted to be with him right now. He put his hand in the small of my back and pulled me closer. It was more like we were one being than two we were that close.

All of a sudden his finger came under my chin and he tilted my head up to face him. I just looked up into his eyes and forgot everything that happened in the day. Troubles, everything just gone. He looked from my lips to my eyes, and I did the same. Before I knew it his lips were on mine and the room around us was spinning…