Chapter 5

23/04/2011 16:30

I walked home after work and it started raining. Yea yeah. Why am I walking? Well, I do own a car but a few months back I just had an accident and I stayed in the hospital for weeks. Now I’m kind of phobia about the whole driving idea. Granny forbids me to drive anyway. My car is still at home, sitting quietly in the garage. I put on my coat and began to run. Suddenly, a car stopped next to me.

‘Cat?

It was Phil.

‘Hey you’

‘Come on in’

I got into the car and there were a couple of guys that I didn’t know at the backseats.

‘This is Eric and Pred’

‘Hi’ I said to them. ‘So, where’s Bruno?’ I asked Phil.

‘So,this is her?’ Eric said looking at Phil.

‘Cat, Eric is Bruno’s brother’.

‘Ohhh.....’ I was blushing.

‘Man, look how red u’ve turned.Anyway,Bruno’s already at the studio.Me and the guys have to pick some stuff at my house before we leave.You know we’re on Ellen tonight,right?’

‘Yeah,he came earlier and told me’.

There were giggles and ‘oooo’ at the backseats.

‘Shut up,guys’ Phil said to them.

We stopped in front of my house and I got out.

‘Thanks,Phil’

‘No prob,girl.If you need any help,just let me know.Besides,my house is not that far so you can drop by anytime’.

‘Okay’.I looked at Eric and Phred. ‘Nice meeting u guys’.

‘You too’ they said at once.

‘Anyway Cat,tell your granny I said ‘hi’ and sorry about yesterday’s lunch invitation.Hope I’ll get to meet her soon’

‘Yeah.Everybody wants to meet granny,alright’.

Before I headed to the door, I heard Eric’s voice saying ‘Don’t forget to catch us on channel 6!’

I walked into the house and smelt brownies. Ahhhh...I love brownies.

‘You’re home early.It’s raining outside’.

‘Yeah.Phil sent me home’.

She looked at me,frowning.‘Who’s Phil?’

I rolled my eyes. ‘A friend of Bruno’.Munching the brownies

‘Oh speaking of Bruno,he came by this morning.He told me about him performing with his band on a live TV show tonight’.

‘I know.He did mention that to me’.

‘You met him?’

Granny,not now.Too many questions.....

‘You know gran,i’m exhausted.Maybe I’ll take a short nap then after that we can  talk,okay?’

Before I went up to my room,I remembered something.

‘Did Edward came by today?’

‘He did.This morning.But I thought u wouldn’t want to know about that.I told him not to go and make a scene at your workplace’.

‘Right.I don’t want to know about it either.Thanks,granny’.

I walked into my room and quickly grabbed my towel and went into the bathroom to take my shower.After I rinsed up,I just laid on my bed with my wet hair.I can’t stop thinking about Bruno.But every time I wanted to start thinking about him,Edward’s face just pops up. I still have to make a decision. But what decision? We’ve broken up. But was that the right thing for me to do or I just wanted to get rid of Edward just to make a room for him? What if he didn’t feel the same way? Besides,he was with that girl who I haven’t seen yet. But,he didn’t mention to me about having a girlfriend or what. Suddenly, I fell asleep............

A few moments later,I opened my eyes. A figure with two big brown eyes was staring down at me.

‘Edward?’

‘Hey babe’.

I was sitting in his arms while his fingers were twirling my hair.

 ‘What are u doing here?’

‘I came to see you. I thought u might wanna change your mind about the break up thing’.

‘Edward..............

I wanted to cry but I hold my tears. I wanted to get up but my energy just went zero.

‘Cat,I just want you to know that I love you and I know I’ve done a lot of bad things in the past but I never mean to hurt you. I love you so much and now I’m back,can’t we just start it over?’

‘Edward,we can’t do this. I can’t do this........’ I covered my face with a pillow.

He lifts the pillow up and put his lips onto mine. Everything just turned blank. He was gripping my body real tight that I almost couldn’t breathe. I don’t know what to think anymore. I miss spending times with Edward. I miss talking to him for hours and fell asleep in his lovable arms. I miss those days when we used to just sit at home and do nothing. It was not complicated. Maybe my destiny is with this guy.

‘Cat, I’m sorry about what had happened. I admit all my faults and....

‘No, Ed. It wasn’t your fault. I’m the one who shouldn’t have mention about us breaking up.

‘You broke up with me coz of my own silly act’.

‘No, Ed. It was my fault’.

He looked at me and laughed. ‘If we keep on putting the blames on ourselves, this matter won’t end, Cat’.

For one moment, he’s back to the old him.

‘Okay okay. Let me speak first. I just want you to know that I......that I........

‘Cat?’ Suddenly my body was shaking. I opened my eyes.

‘Granny? What are u doing here?’

‘Well, I called u to come down for dinner but u didn’t answer back so I got upstairs to check on what’s happening. You ok?

‘I’m good, gran. Thanks for keepin’ me alive. I just had a dream’.

I looked at the clock. It’s 8 o’clock.

‘Granny, mind if I skip dinner?’ I got up and went to my closet.

‘Where are u going?’

‘I’m thinking about going to Edward’s’

‘For what? I thought you were seriously mad at him’.

‘I did but I need to settle this matter once and for all. I can’t stay mad at him. And maybe......just maybe........

She knew what I was about to say. ‘Are u sure, Katy? What about Bruno?’

‘Well, nothing will ever happen to Bruno. By next week he’ll probably forget all about me. I can’t keep on hoping for something that will never happen’.

‘Okay then. If that’s your decision. I’ll be downstairs if u need me’.

After granny left the room, I took my clothes and went into the bathroom to change. After I close the door and lock it, I stare into the mirror. Suddenly, I started crying. I remembered the time when Bruno and I kissed for the first time in the car. It was magical. It was something that I never felt before. But, what if he’s not the guy for me? I know I have to see Edward. I can’t avoid him. It’s now or never.

After I put on my t-shirts and zip my pants, I grabbed my bag and went downstairs. Granny was already sitting on the couch in front of the TV with a bowl of soup.

‘Gran,the show is an hour away’.

‘I know,but I’m just so excited’.

Oh dear!I live with a 16 year old grandma.

‘Btw,Cat. Take those foods with you. I’ve already pack it so that u can eat them with Edward. I’m not going to let you skip dinner’.

I grabbed the package and went outside. It was a cold night. Thank god there was a cab passed by so I got in.

We passed Phil’s house and it was dark and empty. I thought about Bruno. Am I really sure about doing this? I can’t just make an assumption about that girl. I should have asked him first.

The driver turned on the radio and surprisely, Bruno’s song was on.

But darling I’d still catch a grenade for ya, throw my head on the blade for ya, I’d jump in front of a train for ya, you know I’ll do anything for ya,ohhh ohhhh, I would  go through all this pain, take a bullet straight through my brain, guess I would die for you baby, but you won’t do the same’

Would Edward catch a grenade for me?

We got to Edward’s and I saw his car under the front porch. Good. He’s home. I paid the driver and walked towards the house. I was so nervous as I reached the door. When I wanted to knock on his door, I saw something and quickly froze. I know those shoes. I’ve seen it before. I went to the window and what I saw was something that I’ve never expected before. My body was burning as it reached a 100 degree. How could he? How could them?????!

I went to the door and gave a hard knock . I continued knocking till I heard his voice saying ‘Guess pizza’s here’. He opened the door and just stunned when he saw me.

‘I’m no pizza guy’. I barged into the house.

‘Cat? What....what are u doing here?’

‘What am I doing here? What the hell is she doing here? I pointed to the girl.

‘Cat..........’ She came to me.

‘Don’t touch me. Better question, what is she doing here in lingerie? Huh? Care to explain?’

I looked at Lisa.

‘Cat.....I thought....I thought......

Edward looked at me. ‘Well, she thought we’ve broken up so.....

‘So she can just come here and making out with you behind my back?’

‘Noo.......not that Cat...Just, I broke up with Adam this morning and I was so pissed and needed a friend to talk.....

‘Yeah, u should have called me. Not come in here and make stuff with him’ I can’t bared to stare at her and her undies.

Edward holds my hand. ‘I thought u were mad at me and it’s over between us’.

I screamed at his face ‘Yeah. Hell yeah it was over but then I gave a long hard thought and I came here to tell u that I’m sorry and maybe we can start it over but nooooooooooooo! We fucking can’t!!!!’

‘Cat, Edward loves you so much and he was a bit depressed about you breaking up with him’.

I laughed. ‘Oh yeah, both of u were lonely and just depressed so it’d be good if u guys making out just to release all the intensity that’s going on,huh? Did u guys thought about how I’ll feel about this? Do u guys think I’m not lonely?’

‘Look, we thought u’ve already move on with Bruno’

‘Because of u guys I put Bruno aside. Because of you,Ed!’

‘Cat...........’ He grabbed my hand.

‘’Let me go,Ed! I don’t want to talk to you or see your face ever again! EVER!!!!!!’

I ran to the door. I can’t face them right now. I started crying.

‘Don’t follow me, Ed! Just continue on doing what u guys were doing’.

Cat, don’t do this. I’m sorry’. Lisa gave me her ‘sorry’ face.

‘Sorry? Yeah right. Now you’re sorry but before u were doing it, did u guys thought about me? I can’t bare seeing you two right. It’s over. Now I definitely WILL move on from both of your lives and I don’t want to see your faces ever again!!!’

I stormed out and started to run. I ran as hard as I can and fell down. It was too much for me. Just too much. I don’t feel like going home. I just wanted to die right now. Arghh...I shouldn’t have come to his house in the first place. Why am I so stupid? Thinking about getting back together with him? Bad move. Suddenly,a hand touches my shoulder. I turned.

‘Karen?’

It was Phil’s fiancée.

‘Cat? What are u doing here? Come on up. Let me take u home.

I started crying. ‘No. I don’t want to go home’.

She looked at me concerned. ‘I’ll take u to my house. Come on’.

We got into her car.

‘So, you’re not with them?’

‘No’ Then she laughed. ‘Hanging out with them can be boring sometimes. I just got back from my bestfriend’s house. Where were u? and why are u crying? Come on, tell me’.

I just stared at the window as we passed the night lights.